We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Steigenberger Airport Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$114
$102
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$184
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
MEININGER Hotel Frankfurt/Main Messe(Frankfurt)(Great Value!)
$67
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Jumeirah Frankfurt(Frankfurt)
$285
$177
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Welcome Hotel Frankfurt(Frankfurt)(Great Value!)
$88
$82
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$118
$114
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$145
$130
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Villa Kennedy(Frankfurt)
$368
$308
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$152
$135
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
MEININGER Hotel Frankfurt/Main Airport(Frankfurt)(Great Value!)
$85
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (3,768)
Filter reviews
3,768 results
Traveler rating
1,505
1,397
534
200
132
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,505
1,397
534
200
132
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsexecutive towerfree shuttleshuttle serviceruns every minutesfamily roomnext morninglobby barexcellent hotellong flightbetween flightsbusiness hotelbusiness tripshort staydowntown frankfurtconvenient locationairlinegermany
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,477 - 1,482 of 3,768 reviews
Reviewed October 3, 2013

We have stayed at this hotel 4 times now, so we keep coming back on our way to and from Europe out of Frankfurt. It is pretty, has a nice bar, a couple, actually 3 restaurants, (one traditional German smorgasbord), a nice breakfast with Everything possible. It has feather pillows, (a pet peeve of mine), and down quilts, the nicest bedding on our trip. The updated rooms are very nice. They have a convenient shuttle, which is very regular and operates every 15 minutes. Many airline staff stay here, I think because of the convenience. It is usually priced well, although the last time we stayed (last month) they apparently were full, because the price was almost double what we usually pay. They have an American style bar with American style drinks. You can get a Martini, for instance, without it being half Vermouth.

The only reason I don't give this hotel 5 stars is that once you are in the hotel, they "have" you and stick it to you. There is nothing close by as their usually is in a city. For instance, this was the only hotel during our 2 week, 5 hotel trip, that charged for wi-fi. We went to the bar, and paid about $10 for a One Ounce martini!! Plus, the mini bar, which you have to get a key to operate, (a separate trip downstairs to get), was devoid of any "minis" (driving you to the bar for a $10 drink) -- it only contained water and two beers. On our last stay, the smorgasbord restaurant was closed due to a private party. We were looking forward to it, and were hungry. We mistakenly, as it turns out, went to their nicer of the two available restaurants. The service was so bad that we almost left. Our dinner took two hours to complete. It was not bad, but it was tainted by having to wait, and it was not worth the $130 we ended up dropping on it. Of course, although the server apologized over and over, promising food soon, nothing was "comped". The delay was probably due to the private party in the smorgasbord room, but they should have been aware of that result of closing that restaurant.

They can afford to be well priced (usually) because, if you need to eat or drink, you Pay. And they know you need to eat at least. On our trip to Europe, we ate at the bar, and split a club sandwich, which was very good, and not unreasonably priced. But add two drinks each, and it became $50 (ish) for a half of a sandwich. EEK.

Breakfast was about $25 each, too.That is because we chose to have breakfast the night before. If you choose in the morning, they add about 7 euros each. We were used to breakfasts being part of the hotel fee, but not here. It is a large hotel, and the breakfast had something for everyone, not necessarily great food, however. My only other pet peeve is the ubiquitous use of fake plants. The bar is full of these towers of flowers that do not grow in nature.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alcstuart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
airporthotelfra, Executive Office at Steigenberger Airport Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2013

Dear alcstuart;
We thank you that you have evaluated our hotel on Trip Advisor and for the time you spent on a detailed review.
Furthermore we would like to express also our gratitude for your loyalty towards our hotel and that you keep returning to us.
We are glad to know in overall you do enjoy your visits. Unfortunately we have not been able to keep you satisfied in every point.
First off we would like to mention the Internet will be free of charge beginning from January 2014. Since it is still usual to charge the internet use in the surrounding area and in five star hotels this free offered service should be very welcome to our guests.
In fact, the hotel is located only a few minutes from the airport. Our guests have the possibility to go for a walk in the forest which is just right by crossing the street. On the 9th floor of the hotel there is a pool and a fitness center plus steam bath and massage service for activity or to take a rest.
The airport in Frankfurt is worthy to be visited, too. You can go for an airport round trip which is very interesting. By bus you will be toured to the runaways and watch amongst others the A380 arriving and landing. Furthermore the third largest airport offers a lot of opportunities for shopping.
The city is at a distance of 20 minutes. Taxis are available 24 hours in front of the hotel and bring you quickly directly to the city center. The center can be also reached easily by train (tickets available at our front desk) The train is stopping directly in the center after 5 stops within a short time.
It is a pity you had a bad experience in our fine dining restaurant. We regret you had to wait very long for your dinner. Your concern has been addressed to the restaurant management to discuss how to avoid such occurrences again. The food in the “Faces” is high quality. Our cooks are working with lots of passion in creating extraordinary meals to afford an exceptional experience to our guest. Nevertheless this is no reason for a waiting period of two hours.
Please allow us to mention that our hotel is a five star category hotel. Our prices (e.g. food) are common, also compared to our competitors.
We are looking forward to welcome you again and hope to prove our usual service to you.
Kind regards
Francesca Sambito & Steigenberger Airport Hotel Frankfurt team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2013 via mobile

It's a good hotel strategically close to Frankfurt airport and a free shuttle to and from the airport. Checkin was quick and efficient. However you need to pay for Internet and I hate when hotels do that when holiday inn provides it for free.... The hallway were my room was smelled of smoke (hard to blame the hotel) and some kind of human even dropped a cigarette but on the carpet. It was picked up before 630am. AC was loud but breakfast was very good.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dog_loverMiami_Fl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
airporthotelfra, Executive Office at Steigenberger Airport Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2013

Dear dog_loverMiami_Fl;
Thanks for your review referring to your stay at our hotel.
Overall you liked your visit.
We regret the bad smell on the hallway. Our hotel has 10 floors. Due to a persistent demand we still offer smoking rooms, but only on the 4th floor. We have asked our executive housekeeper already to find a solution to reduce the smell.
Pity we do not have more information about the room you stayed in. Otherwise we would have sent our technician to repair the malfunction. The air conditioners are being replaced from time to time, so that the faulty one should be removed too.
We are happy you enjoyed our breakfast buffet.
In the end we would like to share good news with you: beginning from next year the Internet will not be charged anymore in our hotel.
We are looking forward to welcome you again and hope your next stay will be even better than your last.
With best regards
Francesca Sambito & Steigenberger Airport Hotel Frankfurt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2013

upon check in I was told my room was reserved but not paid for yet, so I dug up the document that said it was paid for. I wasn't given the minibar key, which I figured I must pay for, as this is a nickle and dime hotel, extra charge for internet $5. for 10 minutes. I was told "breakfast is included and served in the restaurant". When I went for breakfast a nasty older lady said it was not included and will cost 27 Euros, she told me to go to the lobby where o.j. and croissants are free, so I went, got them and was charged 9 Euros. I protested to no avail. The desk clerk insisted I must have misunderstood at check in, the girl probably said "breakfast is excluded". hmmmm, easy to misunderstand excluded and included in a foreign land, is that deliberate? Good beds, but that is all. No lotion, no extras, just liquid soap in the shower. However, the shuttle is included in the price.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelinggirly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
airporthotelfra, Executive Office at Steigenberger Airport Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2013

Dear Travelinggirly;
Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback on TripAdvisor.
We are sorry for the unpleasant visit at our hotel.
Due to lack of information we could not investigate about the conditions and why there have been so many misunderstandings. At least we would like to assure you that we have forwarded your review to our front office manager. He will train his staff again very detailed about our rates and other information which are given to our guests.
We are glad to announce that the internet will be free of charge beginning from January 2014.
It would be our pleasure to welcome you again whenever your travel plans should lead you back to Frankfurt.
With best regards
Francesca Sambito & Steigenberger Airport Hotel Frankfurt Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2013

Stayed at this hotel on a connection back to the States. Accidentally booked the wrong date on Expedia and the reservationist told me that if I had booked directly with the hotel they could have credited it to the day I was supposed to arrive.

I did get a good rate at the last minute and was impressed at how frequent the buses ran to the airport and back. The problem was FINDING the buses. Not easy at this airport.

The room was tiny but had everything you could need and I especially like the window which opened at the top to let the air in. I hate waterfall showers but this one had a hand held as well with lots of good water pressure. No bath, unfortunately.

The bing bang bonus of this hotel was the breakfast. Yes, it was exhorbitantly expensive but, oh was it amazing. All kinds of fresh cold cuts, salmon, cheeses, wurst, hot foods, healthy foods, and amazing coffee and teas. I will stay here again just for this.

Visited the pool as I wanted a swim but it was too cold. Even the germans commented on it!

Check in desk in lobby was extremely friendly.

Room Tip: None really overlook the runways but the hotel is located in a forest like area and totally soundprood.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank newtosouthamerica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
airporthotelfra, Executive Office at Steigenberger Airport Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2013

Dear newtosouthamerica;
Thank you very much for your detailed feedback on TripAdvisor.
It is our pleasure to see your stay turned out to be a good one.
The shuttle busses are running every 15 minutes from and to both terminals (individual, except at night = every 20 minutes one bus for both). The shuttle stops at Terminal 1, arrival level, area A1 and C7. In Terminal 2 you will be picked up in area E.
Our hotel offers four room categories at the moment. The standard room is equipped functional and is the only category (besides the presidential suite) that offers the bath tub. These rooms are being renovated since they are older ones. Our Executive Tower has bigger rooms - up to 45 square metres - with larger beds and desks plus your own wellness bathroom including rain shower. The building offers the highest noise protection so you will not be bothered by the Airport business.
We are happy you enjoyed the breakfast. It contains rich and high-quality selection of hot and cold dishes, fish dishes, 18 different teas, coffees and much more features, which the Steigenberger Airport Hotel certainly differs from other hotels. You can reserve one day before and receive a "early bird" discount. Besides, you can also have a smaller and lower priced a la carte - breakfast in our lobby-bistro-bar.
Your review has been taken as a reason for reminding the pool manager to keep the guide value regarding the water temperature. We want our guests to feel comfortable.
Whenever your way should lead you back to Frankfurt it would be nice to have you here again.
Looking forward seeing you again,
Francesca Sambito & Steigenberger Airport Hotel Frankfurt Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

This is, so far, the most comfortable, best-appointed, and best value-for-money hotel I've stayed at while transiting at Frankfurt Airport. The redesigned and renovated rooms are cheerful, comfortable and functional; the beds and linens are excellent. It is also across the street from a mini-forest that makes for a nice chance to enjoy nature in the middle of long trips where one is stuck in airports. Big charges for WiFi are very last century, but that is my only complaint.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ddandvb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
airporthotelfra, Executive Office at Steigenberger Airport Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2013

Dear ddandvb;
We are glad to receive your positive feedback and that you had a pleasant stay at our hotel.
Thank you for the compliments referring to our new Superior rooms. After finishing the renovation, all our standard rooms will be available as Superior. They are appointed with a flatscreen TV and an own Nespresso coffee machine amongst others.
The forest right in front of the hotel is in fact a very nice opportunity to go for a walk. If you wish you can also rent a bicycle from the hotel. Alternatively our 9th floor has a fitness centre with state-to-the-art equipment. Sauna, steam bath and a pool are available too, besides of the view over the airport.
Unfortunately we did not receive the highest score from you. But we are happy to inform you that the Internet will be free of charge, beginning from January 2014.
It would be our pleasure to welcome you again and we do hope to fulfil all your requirements then.
Kind regards
Francesca Sambito & Steigenberger Airport Hotel Frankfurt Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews