We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great entry point into Europe”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Steigenberger Airport Hotel Frankfurt
Ranked #27 of 270 Hotels in Frankfurt
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed April 27, 2012

I often choose this hotel as a first stop coming into Europe. It's in stumbling distance from the airport, has all the necessary amenities and is not over-priced. Good price/quality hotel. Parking is off-site (2 minute walk) but rather expensive at almost 25 EUR/day. As always in Europe, internet (high speed) is quite pricey.

At first I feared the proximity to the airport as the hotel is located on the tail end of final approach of one of the FRA runways, but the hotel is very well insulated. Plus, FRA does not have night flights (I believe Cologne is one of the few airports still allowed to fly at night in Germany).

Either way, pleasant experience. Nothing out of the ordinary but certainly nothing to complain about.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RCGenk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,631)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,670 - 1,676 of 3,632 reviews

Reviewed April 24, 2012

I spent one night in the hotel, the room is very clean & comfortable, even the hotel was so close to the highway but I didnt hear a thing, had a comfortable quite night sleep, had dinner in the hotel restaurant & it was great, the food selection satisfied my taste, also had breakfast which was above expectation, the thing that I really didnt like was the charge for using the internet service, I paid enough to get free access to internet.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Waleed W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2012

I had to wait 25 minutes in the queue to check in, after my long journey! There was a big tour group in front that took a very long time to check in. To make matters worse, the hotel only had 3 employees at the reception to check customers in and they were slow. If the hotel is expecting a big group check in, they should put enough employees to speed up the process.

Otherwise, the hotel is just OK. The only good thing is that there are 3 different options for dining within the hotel.

Room Tip: if there is a big group trying to check in at the same time as you, tough luck!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oruvan n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2012

We were put into the Steigenberger hotel by United after we missed our fight connection. The original room allocated to us under the United comp was pretty spartan and not too nice (but clean and functional). We asked for an upgrade and for $50 US got taken into the nicer rooms - which were excellent. Good staff, friendly atmosphere - great hotel if you stay right...

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeff H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2012

I really enjoyed my stay at the Steigenberger Airport Hotel. It was pleasant, clean, and although my (upgraded, I suppose) room in the executive tower was a bit too modern for my taste, I found the bed exceedingly comfortable and the heated floors in the bathroom luxurious. In fact, it would have gotten a four or a five, if I had not noticed after leaving that the check-out agent had charged my credit card in dollars instead of Euros without asking me for a choice.

Let me be clear: this is not allowed. It's against their contract with the credit card networks, and even if it weren't it's deceptive, because I ended up paying a good 3% more than I would have with my 0%-forex-fee credit card. Yes, I was negligent for not double-checking, but that does not excuse their behavior. So I will not be returning unless it is significantly cheaper and/or more comfortable than other options.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tcktravelguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2012

Steigenberger seems to be trading on their name here for the convenient location to the airport. It feels as though this hotel is cutting corners and penny pinching where it can to eek out a profit. This manifests itself in numerous ways from outrageous wifi and bottled water prices to ridiculously skimpy toiletries.

PROS: convenient location, friendly service, great breakfast buffet (expensive but very good), executive tower is nicer than rest of hotel

CONS: tiny rooms, furniture showing wear and tear without any repair, towels are as abrasive as sandpaper, limited toiletry items (one bottle for shampoo and body wash!), short on staff at front desk (expect a line), tiny beds, 20 year old televisions, restaurant very mediocre

Room Tip: Stay in the executive tower or don't bother at all
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nextmike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2012

On our recent trip we stayed at this hotel twice--going and coming--because it was so convenient as well as being a full service hotel. The shuttle service was dependable. The rooms in the newer section are stylishly decorated, spotlessly clean, and the size was good for two people. We enjoyed the large bar area and having a choice of restaurants.

We were not happy with the temperature of the room on our second stay. This is the type of hotel that does not have a thermostat, but a warmer and cooler dial that changes the temperature only by a few degrees. The windows do no open so one can't control the temperature that way. On our first stay at the coolest setting, we were quite comfortable. On our second stay, even at the coolest setting, we were too warm sleeping with the duvet. We did not discuss options for dealing with this with management as our stay was so short, but before we'd book this hotel again, I'd call them to do so.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ontheroad4now
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Frankfurt hotels
0.8 mi away
Hilton Frankfurt Airport Hotel
0.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Frankfurt Airport
0.9 mi away
Sheraton Frankfurt Airport Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
MEININGER Hotel Frankfurt/Main Airport
4.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Frankfurt
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Frankfurt Airport
Holiday Inn Frankfurt Airport
#44 of 270 in Frankfurt
200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Steigenberger Airport Hotel Frankfurt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Steigenberger Airport Hotel Frankfurt

Address: Unterschweinstiege 16, 60549 Frankfurt, Hesse, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Hesse > Frankfurt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Frankfurt
#6 Green Hotel in Frankfurt
#16 Romantic Hotel in Frankfurt
#21 Luxury Hotel in Frankfurt
#31 Business Hotel in Frankfurt
Price Range: $91 - $276 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Steigenberger Airport Hotel Frankfurt 4.5*
Number of rooms: 570
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Steigenberger Airport Hotel Frankfurt! The conference and business hotel with 570 rooms and 40 conference rooms at the Frankfurt Airport is the first choice address when it comes to a stay near Frankfurt`s international hub. Only four minutes from Frankfurt Airport and reachable every 20 minutes with the free 24 hours Express-Airport-Shuttle from Terminal 1 and 2 (2 busses), an oasis full of friendliness, professionalism and cosiness with a beautiful view into nature is awaiting you. Here, recreation and relaxation have top priority: before or after a meeting, in one of the 40 conference rooms with 2000 square metres, in our four restaurants, on one of our 3 summer terraces, in the pool or at our modern gym with a panoramic view at our OpenSky Wellness & Fitness area. WiFi with a bandwidth of up to 1Mbit/s as well as one bottle of water upon arrival in the room (0,5l) is free for guests our hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Steigenberger Airport Hotel Frankfurt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Steigenberger Airport Frankfurt
Hotel Steigenberger Airport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing