We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice surprise!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Steigenberger Airport Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Steigenberger Airport Hotel
Ranked #25 of 267 Hotels in Frankfurt
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Wailua, Hawaii
Level Contributor
236 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Nice surprise!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2011

Upscale hotel two minutes from the airport. Very friendly staff. Even the suites are fairly priced.

Room Tip: treat yourself to a room in the Executive Tower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GlobalPete2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,869 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,101
    1,101
    410
    154
    103
See reviews for
454
552
328
1,366
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Level Contributor
29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2011

We stayed twice at this hotel; once on the way east (from Chicago) and again on the return west (to Chicago). At about USD 170 per night, the hotel is a pricey stopover, but much less than the USD 300 that the Sheraton was asking. The hotel is about 5 minutes by bus from the airport; the free shuttle buses stop at areas "A" and "C" of Terminal 1 once every 15 minutes. The lobby is nice and check-in was fairly prompt, but that depends upon how many people are on the bus with you; it is a favorite of airline crews for stopovers.

The room was very nice; a wonderful waterfall showerhead in a round shower (although several of the LCD lights in ours were burned out); a coffemake and minibar; a very comfy king bed with plush pillows and a comforter; blackout curtains; and you can barely hear the noise from the airport so sleeping is easy. I was a bit surprised by the threadbare towels; I expect plush towels from a 5-star hotel. And internet access is expensive, about 5 Euros per hour.

The restaurants are nice but pricey. You can find some cheaper but tasty alternatives on the top floor of the long-distance train station across from Terminal 1; you also can find a grocery store there where you can buy food and beverages (including chilled wine and champaign, as well as beer and hard liquor) at very reasonable prices. Get your breakfast here and take it back to your room. You can take the shuttle back once you get checked into the hotel and dropped your bags if you have lots of time.

The trains are also very convenient as the train station is across the street from Terminal 1.

All in all, it is a very close and safe option if you need a hotel for an early morning flight out of FRA or a day room upon arrival.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebel-Yell-Chicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Serock, Poland
2 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2011

I was cheated at this hotel, I paid € 42 for breakfast, the hotel because I counted the price per room for 2 persons, I do not know why because I had a 1 bed room and I was alone. Interestingly, only one I ate breakfast and paid for two.
I wrote to them, they made an adjustment to the invoice but their employee wrote me that they will not give me money. I do not recommend this hotel to anyone. Additionally to the room my friend got access another man, they are such a mess there, they gave the same room to two persons. The rooms are very small and lockable fridge ;(

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank koznies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi
Level Contributor
71 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2011

Its a excellent Hotel close to the airport, hotel has frequent airport shuttle buses running at 15 min periodicity. The hotel has a 24 hrs coffee shop that serves breakfast and dinner also. The Genman resturant is traditional and has many delicacies to offer. The room is fuctional and spacious. Coffee tea and mini bar all is available . The is small and not LCD. Toilet is clean and fuctional.
The connectivity to Frankfurt (main) Hbf is via the airport metro station. However, last train for airport from the main station leaves at 1145 and there are not much options to come back to the hotel. Hring taxi is expensive.
Breakfast spread is good and Dinner offered is not very sumptous.

Room Tip: Rooms of Higher floors with a view of the Highway
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank manishjnewdelhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bremen, Germany
Level Contributor
49 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2011

Small but nice room, lights in the bathroom frighten you because you look even more tired that you actually feel. However: you're normally here for a quick sleep and early rise, so don't bother.
Good service, regular shuttle to/from the terminals. The rates are really good. Breakfast was included, unfurtunately my flight was too early. I was offered a take-away breakfast instead - highly appreciated!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Missulrik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston MA
Level Contributor
161 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2011

This hotel is right at the Frankfurt airport, and it is not like other airport hotels I've seen. It's large and quite attractive, and buzzing with activity. It has several places to eat and drink (all fairly expensive) and a really great international feel to it. My room was very comfortable and modern, with a good bathroom.

What I liked best was the fitness area. It's a huge spa, with a large indoor pool, and a reasonable workout room. It was almost empty when I used it in the late afternoon of my arrival, but arriving at 6am the next morning to work out I found about 4 or 5 people waiting for the doors to open, so you need to go early to get on the machine you want.

I'm always annoyed by high wifi prices at hotels, since I know it costs them very little to provide it. This hotel has a variety of rates to fit what you need. Plus they gave me a free voucher for one hour of internet usage, which is perfect if you just want to check email, because you can check, log off, log back on after dinner, log on again later, etc. and as long as total time is less than 60 minutes you're fine.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WBird66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MALTA
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2011

The hotel is nice and have all needs check in was less then one minute.I Stayed for one night as I was in transit to Miami and the room was perfectly clean , coffee and tea in room and a wonderful pool .The hotel have its own airport transfer bus every 20 min.24hrs,other hotel like Park inn by Radisson want to pay for the return to airport and its more expensive then the Steigenberger.I Definitely recomand this hotel for sure.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anubis071
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Frankfurt hotels
0.2 mi away
MEININGER Hotel Frankfurt/Main Airport
0.8 mi away
Hilton Frankfurt Airport Hotel
0.9 mi away
Sheraton Frankfurt Airport Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Frankfurt Airport
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Frankfurt Airport
Holiday Inn Frankfurt Airport
#47 of 267 in Frankfurt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
0.3 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Frankfurt Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Steigenberger Airport Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Steigenberger Airport Hotel

Property: Steigenberger Airport Hotel
Address: Unterschweinstiege 16, 60549 Frankfurt, Hesse, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Hesse > Frankfurt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Frankfurt
#5 Green Hotel in Frankfurt
#15 Family Hotel in Frankfurt
#17 Romantic Hotel in Frankfurt
#19 Luxury Hotel in Frankfurt
#32 Business Hotel in Frankfurt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Steigenberger Airport Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 570
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Steigenberger Airport Hotel Frankfurt! The conference and business hotel with 570 rooms and 40 conference rooms at the Frankfurt Airport is the first choice address when it comes to business events and offers everything to make meetings, conferences, banquets, congresses or events a success. Only four minutes from Frankfurt Airport and reachable every 20 minutes with the free 24 hours Express-Airport-Shuttle, an oasis full of friendliness, professionalism and cosiness with a beautiful view into nature is awaiting you. Here, recreation and relaxation have top priority: before or after the conference, in one of the 40 conference rooms with a total of 2000 square metres on level-access flooring, in our four restaurants, on the summer terraces, in the pool with a panoramic view or at the catering. WiFi with a bandwidth of up to 256 KB/s is free for guests in all hotels of the Steigenberger Hotels AG. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Steigenberger AG, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Steigenberger Airport Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Steigenberger Airport Frankfurt
Hotel Steigenberger Airport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing