We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Take it easy, it was a 5 stars in the 80's!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Steigenberger Frankfurter Hof
Ranked #20 of 269 Hotels in Frankfurt
GreenLeadersGold level
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Take it easy, it was a 5 stars in the 80's!”
Reviewed February 2, 2014

I would say I liked the hotel, but it is certainly not what you are thinking about, when you see the beautiful yard at those pictures. If you are going to stay at Steigenberger Frankfurter Hof, remember you will be at a fancy old fashioned hotel that USED TO BE a five stars hotel in the 80's, but there is nothing to do with a five stars hotel nowadays. Breakfast is amazing for any nationality, they have a very good service, but Internet is not for free in a supposed five stars hotel and it is very very expensive!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aurea V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armin S, General Manager at Steigenberger Frankfurter Hof, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Dear Aurea V,

thank you very much for taking the time and for giving us such detailed feedback. We do regret that you could not fully enjoy your stay. Our guest´s satisfaction is of utmost importance for us. Please be assured that we understand your evaluation as an opportunity to maintain our very high standards. We are glad to read that you did enjoy our breakfast - it gets excellent feedback from many guests. Please allow me to refer to our free WiFi which we offer since January 1st this year. Our concierge will be delighted to give you an introduction during your next stay. As well, we would like to inform you that by now all our rooms are renovated and satisfy the highest standards.
We hope to be able to convince you of the improvements during a possible next stay at our hotel.

Best Regards,

Armin Schröcker. General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,835 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,053
    466
    199
    71
    46
See reviews for
251
586
121
683
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Shenyang, China
Level Contributor
78 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2014

Its location gives you much convenience. Walking distance to Romer, Financial area, MyZeil, even Sachsenhausen, and very close to Goethe House. A public parking building is right next door.
Hotel itself is very elegant and high-end. Price is high certainly. We lived there for one night by using rewards from Hotel.com. Everything is fine, equipment, furniture, service. We didn't try food and facilities. We thought it was no meaning to stay in hotel for our only one night stay in Frankfurt. We treated there as plainly a place for sleep. We indeed had a very nice sleep.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BukeW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armin S, General Manager at Steigenberger Frankfurter Hof, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Dear BukeW,

thank you very much for giving us such good feedback. With our offers we would like to emphasize that we value a good price-performance ratio. Such is geared to comparable houses in the region.

We are looking forward to seeing you again soon.

Best Regards,
Armin Schröcker. General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2014

A beautiful hotel located within the financial district. It is centrally located, 5 minutes to the Christmas Market and shopping area. The Kinder Museum is only 5 minutes walk from the hotel. Access to U-bahn station is in front of the hotel. There is also a public parking across the road – very handy if you have a rental car.
We stayed in a Superior Room (1 queen bed and single bed). With 3 large suitcases, the room was not cramped at all. The bathroom size is standard. There are several restaurants at the hotel. The breakfast buffet has a wide variety of selections. There is also a well equipped gym which was very handy.
The staff are helpful and very friendly, nothing is a big deal. When we needed assistance to print our tickets, it was already in sealed envelope ready to be sent to our room within 10 minutes.
We love the hotel so much that after exploring the Bavaria for 3 nights, we changed our itinerary so we can stay for one more night.
When we are back in Frankfurt, we will definitely stay there again. Highly recommend it!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Vivian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armin S, General Manager at Steigenberger Frankfurter Hof, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Dear Viv9198,

thank you very much for taking the time to give us such cordial and detailed feedback. Please be assured that your compliments will be passed on to our personnel in the respective departments. Please be informed that we provide a public parking spot in our garage as well. Our doormen will be glad to park your car for you.

We are very much looking forward to seeing you again soon.

Best Regards,
Armin Schröcker. General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul
Level Contributor
49 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2014 via mobile

Sturdy architecture for this fine sandy stone hotel. Equally traditional interior decoration. Good rooms. Poor selection of non German tv. Decent expensive buffet, but if you are not really hungry have a croissant opposite. Staff as you would expect in a hotel like this.

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank twothieves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armin S, Geschäftsführer at Steigenberger Frankfurter Hof, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Dear twothieves,

thank you very much for taking the time and writing such welcoming feedback. We do regret that you could not fully enjoy your stay. We are glad to pass on your compliments regarding our staff. Please be informed that we gladly provide more than seven different languages on our TVs. As well, our concierge will be delighted to present to you our vast movie selection that we provide as an alternative to the TV program.

We are looking forward to seeing you again soon.

Best Regards,
Armin Schröcker. General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Level Contributor
148 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2014 via mobile

Stayed with family in December, all in all fantastic hotel. Great location for most sights to see and markets.
Rooms were spacious and well decorated. Hotel bar a great place to relax, drinks not cheap but the ambience is great.
Didn't have breakfast so can't comment on that, but staff were polite and helpful. Paid for wifi which would be better if complimentary but reduced rate for second room.
We had a wonderful stay and would highly recommend.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank hixy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armin S, Geschäftsführer at Steigenberger Frankfurter Hof, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Dear hixy,

thank you very much for taking the time to give us such cordially feedback. We are glad to pass on your compliments regarding our staff. Please allow me to refer to our free WiFi which we offer since January 1st this year. Our concierge will be delighted to give you an introduction during your next stay. We are looking forward to seeing you again soon.

Best Regards,

Armin Schröcker. General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Russia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2014

This is an excellent 5 star hotel. Very grand and luxurious marble foyer area with an eclectic mix of modern pieces of art/lamps etc. The rooms also mix traditional and contemporary.
The rooms are nicely appointed but wifi charges are by device which makes it a little expensive if you have multiple mobile devices. The hotel is centrally located and the outdoor restaurant is very nice.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 2958801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armin S, Geschäftsführer at Steigenberger Frankfurter Hof, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Dear 2958801,

thank you very much for taking the time and writing such welcoming feedback. We are glad to read that you had a pleasant stay. Please allow me to refer to our free WiFi which we offer since January 1st this year. Our concierge will be delighted to give you an introduction during your next stay. We are looking forward to seeing you again soon.

Best Regards,

Armin Schröcker. General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rye Brook, New York
Level Contributor
47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2014 via mobile

I have had the pleasure of staying at this hotel a few times and have enjoyed the hours that I have spent at the hotel. The rooms are nicely appointed but wifi charges are by device which makes it a little expensive if you have multiple mobile devices. The hotel is centrally located and the outdoor restaurant is very nice.

Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank RB_Trotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armin S, Geschäftsführer at Steigenberger Frankfurter Hof, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Dear RB_Trotter,

thank you very much for giving us such excellent feedback. Our guest´s satisfaction is of utmost importance for us. Please allow me to refer to our free WiFi which we offer since January 1st this year. Our concierge will be delighted to give you an introduction during your next stay. We are looking forward to seeing you again soon.

Best Regards,

Armin Schröcker. General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Frankfurt hotels
Sachsenhausen-Nord
Villa Kennedy
Villa Kennedy
#2 of 269 in Frankfurt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,298 reviews
Innenstadt
Jumeirah Frankfurt
Jumeirah Frankfurt
#3 of 269 in Frankfurt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,190 reviews
Roomers
#14 of 269 in Frankfurt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 869 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Innenstadt
Grandhotel Hessischer Hof
Grandhotel Hessischer Hof
#4 of 269 in Frankfurt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Steigenberger Frankfurter Hof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Steigenberger Frankfurter Hof

Property: Steigenberger Frankfurter Hof
Address: Am Kaiserplatz 1 - 7, 60311 Frankfurt, Hesse, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Hesse > Frankfurt > Altstadt , Innenstadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Frankfurt
#3 Spa Hotel in Frankfurt
#3 Romantic Hotel in Frankfurt
#6 Family Hotel in Frankfurt
#10 Business Hotel in Frankfurt
#16 Luxury Hotel in Frankfurt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Steigenberger Frankfurter Hof 5*
Number of rooms: 303
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Established in 1876, the Steigenberger Frankfurter Hof is located in the heart of the city in middle of the historic, financial district, near the cathedral where the emperor's coronation once took place. Our hotel attracts global travellers who are as unique as our 303 luxurious rooms. Choose from traditional or modern decor; the extravagant and timeless elegance of the interior fulfils even the most sophisticated desires of our guests. In the morning we welcome you to one of the best breakfasts in the city, with exquisite delicacies served in our "Hofgarten" restaurant. The "Autorenbar" invites you to join us for a royal afternoon tea, before it becomes an evening hotspot in the Main-metropolis serving a choice of select spirits. Spoil your senses by choosing to dine at our Michelin starred restaurant Francais or our iconic restaurant OSCAR*S. Experience the largest SPA in Frankfurt where effortless luxury, creativity, and the art of well-being are combined. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Steigenberger Frankfurter Hof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Steigenberger Frankfurter Hof Frankfurt
Steigenberger Frankfurter Hof Hotel Frankfurt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing