We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“terrible service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Steigenberger Frankfurter Hof
Ranked #19 of 271 Hotels in Frankfurt
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed June 30, 2013

Stayed for one night. This was my first stay in this hotel and will be also my last!

The room was nice, the building as well. Check-in was relatively smooth. The attitude of the staff was very disappointing and not worthy of a 5 star hotel. The staff does not even say hello and smiles when you run into them.

I arrived at 10pm and needed to wake up at 6am.

When I got into the room there was a welcome card and some half-eaten fruits/biscuits left as well as a room key with check-out date the same as mine. I called reception and asked whether I received the right room - reception didn't seem to care and eventually said they will send someone around to double check. Nobody came for at least 20 minutes and when someone finally came, the guy was rude and asked what my 'problem' was. When I explained it he seemed to pretend this is normal and I should ignore the welcome card etc. When I questioned what type of service this was, he called the manager. The manager came after another 20 minutes and was as rude.

I also wanted a quick bite but there was no room service menu. I called reception and room service and it took them 45 mins (!!!) to bring me one. My food came another 35 mins later.

All in all very disappointing service. My recommendation is to go with the Hilton or the Eurotheum Inn - both have great service!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank adnan s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armin S, General Manager at Steigenberger Frankfurter Hof, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2013

Dear Adnan S,
Thank you for your comments following your recent stay with us. We have read your review with much dismay and we are dreadfully sorry that we did not live up to your expectations. I apologize for the inappropriate behavior of our employees and we have discussed your experience in great detail with our team concerned in order to improve our services.
We hope to welcoming you back soon and I look forward to meeting you in person when you come next to Frankfurt.
Kind regards
Armin Schröcker
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,942)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

996 - 1,002 of 1,942 reviews

Reviewed June 30, 2013

Overall wonderful experience, great staff, helpful and polite. Excellent location, very comfy bed ands lovely room. The only issue we had was we called for a bellman in the morning to help with our bags, and they never showed. The exit to a taxi required going down stairs with luggage, so we had to call for the bellman outside for help. He, however, was apologetic and very kind.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Davia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moritz_Klein, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Steigenberger Frankfurter Hof, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2015

Dear Davia S,

Thank you for your very kind review and praise which is much appreciated. At the same time please accept my apologies for the lack of service experienced with your luggage as this does not reflect the service we normally provide.

We all here look forward to welcoming you back soon.

With kind regards

Sabrina Würfel
E-Commerce Manager
Steigenberger Frankfurter Hof

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

This is a great place. Quick checkin, quick check out. stayed on 5th floor. the aircon was working and silent. It was very sunny and hot outside during my stay but even in the morning the big curtains kept the room completely dark. Fantastic bed, mattress, duvet and pillows. 5stars.

But there is room for improvement:
the "complementary" water (sparkling and still) comes with a price tag of 5eur each.
In addition there is no free wlan internet in the room. Access comes with a surcharge as well.
If you watch on demand movies there is another 20eur. No single movie option.

Good place, old building in good shape, great location - I would stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank blAjOe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moritz_Klein, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Steigenberger Frankfurter Hof, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2015

Dear blAjOe,

Thank you for your posting on this site. Your feedback is much appreciated and I am happy to let you know that by now WIFI is complimentary for all our guests. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Best regards,

Sabrina Würfel
E-Commerce Manager
Steigenberger Frankfurter Hof

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

Stayed for 4 nights and was somewhat disappointed with the hotel. A (dangerous?) faulty radiator control in the room (wires exposed) was not fixed, even after telling 3 staff members about it; some curtain hooks were missing so the curtain drooped; room turndown service only took place one evening; night room service might as well not have existed (offered a choice of two soups, nothing else!). Not 5 star customer care...
Good points: impressive building in a super location; very comfortable bed; good breakfast selection with pleasant staff.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sheena099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moritz_Klein, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Steigenberger Frankfurter Hof, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2015

Dear Sheena099,

Though we are sorry to hear that you had problems during your stay, we like to thank you for your feedback. We surely failed this time in providing the service we are known for and for that I apologize.

We hope to be able to convince you of the improvements during a possible next stay at our hotel.

Best regards

Sabrina Würfel
E-Commerce Manager
Steigenberger Frankfurter Hof

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2013

we were there one night with my family .The perfect location between business and old part of town . The shadow of history is everywhere there. Not bad Oscar restaurant with street view. The Hotel is a member of Fine Hotels , so for Amex card holders it is good choice.

Room Tip: the high floor rooms have small balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alexander49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moritz_Klein, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Steigenberger Frankfurter Hof, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2015

Dear alexander49,

Thank you for posting your review on this site. Your feedback is much appreciated and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

With kind regards

Sabrina Würfel
E-Commerce Manager
Steigenberger Frankfurter Hof

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2013

Stayed here with my family approximately a month ago (21-23 May 2013) and I have to say I have excellent stay.
First, this hotel is a beauty… I love everything about it.. the classic elegant design yet cozy that make you feel special… Staffs were friendly, with efficient check in and check out.
the room was large for us three, very clean, with all great amenities… if there is something you need and you do not found it in room, you can just ask for it, and they will delivered it to your room :)
I stayed in deluxe room with promotion of stay 3 night and save 30%, which I like very much…
If you are worried about the view of your window, I suggest to contact the hotel upon your arrival, speak up your concern and they will help you fulfil your wish :)
The location was just perfect… I can not be more satisfied with that… You have several nice restaurant and cafe (i.e. Starbucks) just when you walked out the door! (I LOVE the sushi restaurant across the street!)
If I had chance to visit Frankfurt again, I will definitely stay in this hotel again… definitely!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Utamie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moritz_Klein, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Steigenberger Frankfurter Hof, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2015

Dear Utamie,

Thank you for your very kind review. The whole team and I are very happy to know that you fully enjoyed your stay at Steigenberger Frankfurter Hof and we all hope that you will be returning soon.

Until then I remain with kind regards

Sabrina Würfel
E-Commerce Manager
Steigenberger Frankfurter Hof

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

I stayed here again a couple of weeks ago. I was upgraded to a huge room with great amenities. The bath / shower were amazing.

Breakfast offers every food group imaginable and the cappuccino was excellent.

Nice stay and will come back soon.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
2  Thank Madcal9000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moritz_Klein, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Steigenberger Frankfurter Hof, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2015

Dear Madcal9000,

Thank you for your kind feedback. We are very happy to read that you enjoyed your stay and liked our newly renovated rooms.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

With kind regards

Sabrina Würfel
E-Commerce Manager
Steigenberger Frankfurter Hof

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Frankfurt hotels
Innenstadt
Jumeirah Frankfurt
Jumeirah Frankfurt
#5 of 271 in Frankfurt
1,277 reviews
Sachsenhausen-Nord
Villa Kennedy
Villa Kennedy
#2 of 271 in Frankfurt
1,388 reviews
Innenstadt
Grandhotel Hessischer Hof
Grandhotel Hessischer Hof
#3 of 271 in Frankfurt
625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Roomers
#13 of 271 in Frankfurt
930 reviews
Innenstadt
NH Collection Frankfurt City
NH Collection Frankfurt City
#10 of 271 in Frankfurt
793 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Steigenberger Frankfurter Hof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Steigenberger Frankfurter Hof

Address: Am Kaiserplatz, 60311 Frankfurt, Hesse, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Hesse > Frankfurt > Altstadt , Innenstadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Frankfurt
#3 Romantic Hotel in Frankfurt
#3 Spa Hotel in Frankfurt
#6 Family Hotel in Frankfurt
#10 Business Hotel in Frankfurt
#15 Luxury Hotel in Frankfurt
Price Range: $192 - $572 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Steigenberger Frankfurter Hof 5*
Number of rooms: 303
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Established in 1876, the Steigenberger Frankfurter Hof is located in the heart of the city in middle of the historic, financial district, near the cathedral where the emperor's coronation once took place. Our hotel attracts global travellers who are as unique as our 303 luxurious rooms. Choose from traditional or modern decor; the extravagant and timeless elegance of the interior fulfils even the most sophisticated desires of our guests. In the morning we welcome you to one of the best breakfasts in the city, with exquisite delicacies served in our "Hofgarten" restaurant. The "Autorenbar" invites you to join us for a royal afternoon tea, before it becomes an evening hotspot in the Main-metropolis serving a choice of select spirits. Spoil your senses by choosing to dine at our Michelin starred restaurant Francais or our iconic restaurant OSCAR*S. Experience the largest SPA in Frankfurt where effortless luxury, creativity, and the art of well-being are combined. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Steigenberger Frankfurter Hof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Steigenberger Frankfurter Hof Frankfurt
Steigenberger Frankfurter Hof Hotel Frankfurt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing