We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A grande hotel !” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Steigenberger Frankfurter Hof

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Steigenberger Frankfurter Hof
Ranked #19 of 267 Hotels in Frankfurt
GreenLeadersGold level
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A grande hotel !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2013 via mobile

Having spent a week in Frankfurt recently, I was extremely glad to have chosen this hotel as my home-away-from-home.

Exemplary service, meticulous attention to detail and helpful, friendly staff make this a top notch establishment.

Breakfast was always fantastic and fresh salmon, chef-prepared omelets with heavenly cappuccinos made for a great start.

The attic bar with adjoining library served as a great spot for a whiskey & cigar.

I recommend this hotel and will certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Avi2310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArminSchroecker, General Manager at Steigenberger Frankfurter Hof, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for having taken your valuable time to write your kind comments following you recent stay with us. We are happy to hear such positive feedback. We certainly enjoyed looking after you and we do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back very soon again.
Kind regards
Armin Schröcker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,788 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,029
    452
    195
    69
    43
See reviews for
246
572
119
663
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

They don't make Hotels such as this any more.

It is a fine example of exquisite grandeur of an era gone by,
and makes each guest feel so special. Everything spells
class.

The unhurried pace of splendid hospitality can only be experienced.
Fine dining, luxurious rooms, tasteful decor and great location -- all these
go to make the Steigenberger Frankfurter Hof a unique experience.

Room Tip: Don't opt for this if you don't seek the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CSSRMumbai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArminSchroecker, General Manager at Steigenberger Frankfurter Hof, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your kind feedback following you recent stay with us at the Frankfurter Hof. We are happy to hear that you like our hotel and that everything was to your entire satisfaction. Hoping to have the pleasure of welcoming you back very soon again we remain
with best regards
Armin Schröcker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

When one steps into the Steigenberger in Frankfurt, especially into the hallways/room and the great pub-style restaurant, one feels like s/he is being transported back to the days when people 'dressed for dinner' and movie stars stayed there while touring 'on the continent'. You know, back before Frankfurt was more commonly called "Bankfurt" and the city wasn't all-business. (Or, I imagine that's what those days felt like...I'm only 37 so I can't be sure...)

While taking my father on a trip around our ancestral country, I opted to end by staying at the Frankfurter Hof since it has great reviews and looked decadent, but had a pretty good weekend rate. (Like DC, Frankfurt's hotels cost a fortune during the week, but go 'on sale' most weekends.) Indeed, the place is steeping in old-school luxury and my dad just loved it. We got a regular room but it was on a corner so we had a few of two streets and, I suspect, a slightly larger room. The bathroom had a great tub/shower combo and plenty of space as well. Our room rate came with breakfast included and the breakfast buffet is just fantastic in its array of offerings and quality of the food. (Though I will say that, despite the quality, it's still mostly eggs and meat and cheese and bread and the like, so 30-35 euros is quite a stiff price!)

We ate dinner all three nights in the pub-style restaurant that has an opening to the street as well (Dad's a creature of habit and likes good quality food, but not a lot of "fluff"...) All the dishes we tried were really excellent.

My only complaint is that, given the price we paid and the fact that providing internet is almost free these days, I found it really, really not-cool that we had to pay for internet access in the room, and a hefty price at that. It's just price-gouging, and left a bad taste in our mouths, no matter how good the food was.

Overall, if you have the means, the Steigenberger in Frankfurt is a lovely old place and worth the stay. But haggle for free 'net if you agree with me that in this day and age, charging extra for internet at a luxury hotel is just crass.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank lak157
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArminSchroecker, General Manager at Steigenberger Frankfurter Hof, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your constructive feedback following you recent stay at the Frankfurter Hof. We are pleased to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We have also taken note of your comments regarding the internet charges. We certainly enjoyed looking after you and we do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back very soon again.
Kind regards
Armin Schröcker
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Frankfurt hotels
Sachsenhausen-Nord
Villa Kennedy
Villa Kennedy
#2 of 267 in Frankfurt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,269 reviews
Innenstadt
Jumeirah Frankfurt
Jumeirah Frankfurt
#4 of 267 in Frankfurt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,162 reviews
Roomers
#10 of 267 in Frankfurt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 854 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Innenstadt
Grandhotel Hessischer Hof
Grandhotel Hessischer Hof
#3 of 267 in Frankfurt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Steigenberger Frankfurter Hof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Steigenberger Frankfurter Hof

Property: Steigenberger Frankfurter Hof
Address: Am Kaiserplatz 1 - 7, 60311 Frankfurt, Hesse, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Hesse > Frankfurt > Altstadt , Innenstadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Frankfurt
#3 Romantic Hotel in Frankfurt
#3 Green Hotel in Frankfurt
#6 Family Hotel in Frankfurt
#10 Business Hotel in Frankfurt
#15 Luxury Hotel in Frankfurt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Steigenberger Frankfurter Hof 5*
Number of rooms: 303
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Established in 1876, the Steigenberger Frankfurter Hof is located in the heart of the city in middle of the historic, financial district, near the cathedral where the emperor's coronation once took place. Our hotel attracts global travellers who are as unique as our 303 luxurious rooms. Choose from traditional or modern decor; the extravagant and timeless elegance of the interior fulfils even the most sophisticated desires of our guests. In the morning we welcome you to one of the best breakfasts in the city, with exquisite delicacies served in our "Hofgarten" restaurant. The "Autorenbar" invites you to join us for a royal afternoon tea, before it becomes an evening hotspot in the Main-metropolis serving a choice of select spirits. Spoil your senses by choosing to dine at our Michelin starred restaurant Francais or our iconic restaurant OSCAR*S. Experience the largest SPA in Frankfurt where effortless luxury, creativity, and the art of well-being are combined. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Steigenberger Frankfurter Hof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Steigenberger Frankfurter Hof Frankfurt
Steigenberger Frankfurter Hof Hotel Frankfurt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing