We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grossly Overprice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Sheraton Frankfurt Airport Hotel & Conference Center
Ranked #39 of 269 Hotels in Frankfurt
Carmichael, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Grossly Overprice”
Reviewed October 18, 2007

The only thing good about this one is the location in respect to the airport. It could not be better. But that is about all. The hotel is grossly overpriced; we paid Euro 266 and this is not in my league. There was nothing special about the room. But to be fair the service is excellent. No breakfast is provided and apparently they wanted Euro 29 each for a continental breakfast. We picked up a danish and a sandwich at the airport and ate it in our room along with coffee that they did provide. We were in Room 5023 on the 5th floor. We had dinner at the restaurant and the food was mediocar. I should mention that Deutsche Bahn has a bahnhof at the airport. Stay somewhere else and take the train in. The Germans have some of the best train service in the world and very dependable. The only reason we stayed out here is we did not want to get stressed out the day we were to fly home.

  • Liked — Location in respect to the airport
  • Disliked — The price
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank N6JM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,788 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,637
    1,225
    572
    216
    138
See reviews for
380
604
461
2,111
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (450)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
90 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 234 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2007

I stayed here on a friday night as i had a connection early saturday morning. first of all, there are virtually no signs at all in the airport to show you how to get to the hotel (there is a lot of construction at the airport at the moment so the combination means a lot of wasted time actually trying to get to the hotel). when i finally arrived at the front desk, about 11pm, there were 3 staff all free. i went to a chap and said i'd like to check in - response "oh, i am in the middle of doing something". he continued shuffling papers for another couple of minutes and then checked me in. sent me off to my room after a painfully long check in. walked into the room and the bathroom was disgusting (room 1509) --- mould around the bath, panel falling away from under the sink, toilet not clean. it was so late, i just wanted a drink , a snack and bed. went to the mini bar to find it completely empty - not even water (this is a 4 start hotel apparently!). called up to be told "not all our rooms have filled minibars, you should have asked when you checked in"!! called room service to see if i could get a sandwich --- only had pizza and salad as i'd missed the cut-off for the full menu by 10mins......"you can go downstairs and order a cheeseburger if you want" was the helpful response. ordered some mineral water "we'll try to deliver within 30mins". bed had one broken leg so was lopsided. room cost euro240 for the night. have stayed in many airport hotels but never experienced anything as foul as this place. take the 10min drive into the city and stay in one of the main hotels there if you need to stay in frankfurt overnight

  • Liked — leaving it
  • Disliked — everything
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gascony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2007

This Sheraton is pretty average overall. LOTS of rules about EVERYTHING, a pool, sauna area that closes at 10PM when this is an Airport hotel and such relaxing services would be so nice just arriving from a long flight after 10PM.

The rooms and amenities are average, and perhaps a little below average for the price this hotel commands. The bars downstairs looked like the place to be, and if you have time to kill before a flight, this would be a very good hang out.

Don't expect anything extra at this hotel, you'll get exactly what you reserve regardless of any Starwood status you might have.

  • Liked — Airport location, very convenient.
  • Disliked — Just nothing special, and service that's very indifferent.
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank autobiztravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2007

My first stay at this hotel and loved it! Very quite hotel. I checked in at around 20:00 and there were no queues at the reception. Done in 1 minute.

I had booked ajunior suite - separate bedroom and living room. One full bathroom and one additional toilet in the living room. I received complimantery supper and champagne as a part of the deal and it was great.

As other reviewers said, the Airport is huge and can easily be a nightmare. The Hotel is connectecd to Terminal 1 and the shortest way from Arrivals to the Hotel is to take the escalator in the Arrivals C area (only C area escalator has the sign saying "Hotel - Sheraton". Therefore, if you and up in areas A or B, simply walk through the blocks to reach Area C.

Buffet breakfats at the Lounge was also good.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nicomedian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
64 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2007

This was so quiet and peaceful, I forgot I was at the airport. Very convenient if you have a late-night arrival or an early-morning departure; it's on the airport premises. Very clean. Skip the expensive hotel breakfast and grab something at the airport.

  • Stayed September 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Ikura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
136 reviews
112 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 605 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2007

I did a one night stay at the Frankfurt Airport Sheraton during a night between flights (I flew in from Barcelona in the evening, out to the USA in the early morning).

As best as I could tell, my SPG Gold card did not score any upgraded anything (room, club level access, etc.), but as far as I could tell, my room (on a "Starwood Preferred Guest" floor) was extremely comfortable.

The bed had five pillows. The air conditioning fan was controllable via a dial on the wall (it was nice to sleep with a little bit of noise from the air conditioning vent; I heard no plane noise outside whatsoever, even though we are just a walkway across from the main terminal building).

In the bathroom I found a couple bars of soap, shampoo, conditioner, mouthwash, shower gel, cotton buds, a shaving kit, a shoe polish sponge, a robe and slippers. Oh yeah, handtowels (i.e. washcloths, to Americans :-) too.

The minibar fridge has a sensor on it. We threw a couple plastic bottles of water & cola into it and at checkout time, they thought I had drank a number of sodas. Ooops! No problem in the end though, the front desk lady removed the charge.

The business desk has both 220 volt adapter ports and two 110 volt (American style) electric ports. WiFi access to the Internet costs 8 Euros for an hour, 18 Euros for 24 hours.

My wife used the fitness center there and reported that she found pretty much every piece of equipment she needed to use, but the room was very hot (ironic, since the hallway full of conference rooms leading up to the gym was very air conditioned and cold).

For people like me who leave on early morning flights (mine was at 7 a.m.), there is an early morning breakfast served in the lobby from 3 a.m. First time I've ever seen a hotel do that and it's very thoughtful! The "early morning" breakfast consisted of juice, coffee, pastries, breads, apples, cheeses (i.e. stuff that required very little, if any, preparation).

Like other reviewers have noted, there were bottles left outside many doors in the hallway, including our door (not sure who put them there? housekeeping?). We ordered room service (a Ceasar salad and a fruit & cheese plate ended up adding about 30 Euros to the bill) and put our bottles on top of the room service table, which we wheeled back outside after we finished. According to the server, room service comes by every hour or so to pick up the tables and sure enough, when we left in the morning the tray was gone.

Overall, this is indeed a most convenient and comfortable hotel. The price we ended up paying (225 euros for the room) was really steep. You'll be okay if you're on a business expense account, but if the euro exchange rate hurts your wallet (like it does mine), I would have chosen to stay somewhere else if my flight wasn't leaving as early as it did.

  • Liked — Hello Airport! you're right there
  • Disliked — expen$ive everything
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank MichaelInSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
410 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 660 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2007

The other reviews say it perfectly. This is a convenient and grossly overpriced hotel for those who need to spend time at the airport but don't want to leave the terminal area. And that's about it.

There is no signposting at all and the check-in procedure was interminable, even at 10:15 p.m. We paid $440 for a king size room with a small rollaway bed added for our young daughter. When I booked I'd been told we'd have to settle for a smoking room because nothing else was available but we when arrived they'd put us in a non-smkong room.

The hotel offers little. The hair dryer did not work. There was no iron or ironing board. The sheets were very scratchy.

The hotel has no express check out system "because we need to see your credit card again". What?! How long would it take to check out at just gone 5 a.m.?, I asked. "Not long," was the answer. Nonsense. When I got downstairs at 5:10 a.m. there was no one at reception so I had to resort to hollering "Hallo". They do provide a buffet breakfast starting at 3:15 a.m., which was something at least.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — The price
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Faience44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Frankfurt
0.1 mi away
Hilton Frankfurt Airport Hotel
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Frankfurt Airport
0.9 mi away
Steigenberger Airport Hotel
Steigenberger Airport Hotel
#25 of 269 in Frankfurt
3,138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
MEININGER Hotel Frankfurt/Main Airport
1.2 mi away
NH Frankfurt Airport
NH Frankfurt Airport
#1 of 8 in Kelsterbach
1,387 reviews
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Frankfurt Airport
Holiday Inn Frankfurt Airport
#49 of 269 in Frankfurt
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Frankfurt Airport Hotel & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Frankfurt Airport Hotel & Conference Center

Property: Sheraton Frankfurt Airport Hotel & Conference Center
Address: Hugo-Eckener-Ring 15 | Rhein Main Airport, 60549 Frankfurt, Hesse, Germany
Location: Germany > Hesse > Frankfurt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Frankfurt
#24 Business Hotel in Frankfurt
#28 Luxury Hotel in Frankfurt
#44 Romantic Hotel in Frankfurt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sheraton Frankfurt Airport Hotel & Conference Center 5*
Number of rooms: 1008
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern, upscale hotel at the top location of Frankfurt International Airport This well-established first class hotel has a perfect location: right at Frankfurt International Airport with connection to the freeways A3 and A5, long-distance and regional railway stations as well as suburban train station. The hotel in Frankfurt offers 1008 comfortable rooms and suites, the exclusive Sheraton Club Lounge, two restaurants, one cafe, two bars, two fitness centers and business center. Meetings, conferences, conventions or galas find the ideal framework and the best possible service at the Sheraton Frankfurt Airport Hotel & Conference Center. 60 Banquet and meeting rooms are available for meetings of all types and sizes. Events from two to 1200 persons are organized with style and innovation to turn every occasion into a special event. The event center SkyLoft impresses with its refined concept of space on two floors, with avant-garde interior design and innovative conference technology. It has never been easier to meet with colleagues, friends and family. The restaurants Flavors and Taverne provide lavish comfort. Specialties from around the world but also regional delicacies are offered on the menus. At the bars Lemons & Limes or Davidoff Lounge, guests can let the evening fade away in a relaxed atmosphere. And in the cafe The Glass House, one can enjoy snacks and drinks during the day while watching the hustle and bustle of the lively lobby. Here is the central meeting point of the hotel - a place of global encounters. Sports buffs will feel at home at the Sheraton Fitness gym. In this modern fitness area (400 m²), equipped with the latest cardio equipment, training is fun and adds variety to the everyday life. Sauna, steam bath, massage facilities and a hairdresser top off the hotel's wellness facilities. Parking available for a fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TravelClick, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sheraton Frankfurt Airport Hotel & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Frankfurt Airport Hotel Frankfurt
Sheraton Frankfurt Airport Hotel And Conference Center
Sheraton Frankfurt Hotel
Frankfurt Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing