We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Westin Grand Frankfurt

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Westin Grand Frankfurt
Ranked #29 of 267 Hotels in Frankfurt
Certificate of Excellence
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

Lovely hotel and standard Westin style. A few things a little dated. I stay in a fair amount of 5* hotels and this did nothing to blow me away. A little dated in places (bathrooms/lifts). A fine experience but better hotels in Frankfurt.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Byrneand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heiko B, General Manager at The Westin Grand Frankfurt, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Dear Byrneand,

Let me thank you for having taken a moment to summarize your Westin impression and for sharing it with us and the Tripadvisor community!

We are thankful for your feedback!

We love being your host!

Greetings to Johannesburg

Best regards,
Heiko Buchta
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,305 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    633
    430
    166
    49
    27
See reviews for
132
349
150
573
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Campbell, California
Level Contributor
47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

Breakfast is added 16 euros - not included in room rate. Location is good - about 15-25 minutes by cab to the airport (about 30 euros). Located close to dining and shopping areas. The rooms are clean and big for Europe and the staff is friendly and helpful. They provided a 110Volt US type adapter against a deposit - which was nice .

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank campbell95008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heiko B, Geschäftsführer at The Westin Grand Frankfurt, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Dear Campbell95008,

Thank you for your kind summary and motivating compliments.
We do appreciate them a lot and hope to welcome you back soon at the Westin Grand Frankfurt!

All the best,
Heiko Buchta
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
174 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

First my disclaimers: room rates were based on points and my experience has the SPG gold attached to it so it might be a bit skewed in our favor. I loved this hotel and its price LOL.

This was our start and end point on our 10 day tour of Germany. The hotel itself is very clean; the rooms on the 5th floor facing the "garden" area are spacious enough and comfortable. The staff gets a 98% of 100 since we did run into a couple of valet/concierge who couldn't be more bothered by our questions, but every hotel has 1 or 2 of these folks.

The location is FANTASTIC. You are steps away from an SBahn (Konstablewache) and right on Ziel St for walking, dining and shopping. You can get to a Starbucks in under 10 minutes and a daily open market with all kinds of great food and pastries. I mention this because WIFI is still free at the Starbucks and some other coffee shops near the hotel. If you can find the Starbucks you find the open market street. And there are many, many choices to dine just a few more steps from there. The Opera and Arts districts are about a 15/20 min walk and filled with dining options.

We were in the old town area in 15 minutes and were able to take a bus tour and walking tour from there. One of our best meals was behind the church in old town. I can't remember the name, but find the "cathedral" in old town and go behind it. Its a beer pub/restaurant attached to a hotel. YUM!!!

We came back to this hotel on our way back to the US and nothing had change. Quiet, clean and comfortable. I would certainly stay here again. And thank you to the staff for responding to all of our e mails and giving us such great info. We hope to see you again sometime soon.

Room Tip: Sign up for an SPG credit card that awards you point and gives you gold status. This will help with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank yumyumguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heiko B, Geschäftsführer at The Westin Grand Frankfurt, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Dear Yumyumguy,

Your feedback could not have been any more inspiring and we would like to thank you for having taken a moment of your time!

We are very pleased that you choose Frankfurt and our hotel as a start and end point for your Germany tour. A big thank you for your fantastic compliments which will certainly motivate and encourage the entire staff.
It is our highest aim to make our guest’s life easier while staying at the Westin Grand Frankfurt and we try to be our best in creating the perfect Westin feeling, which is supposed to be personal, instinctive and of course renewing.

We hope to welcome you soon again, giving us the opportunity to show you more of Frankfurt and to provide you with insider tips on the city.

Best greetings to Dallas.

Heiko Buchta
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
75 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2012

If you stay at a Westin you know what to expect. Great service, beautiful interiors, comfortable bed, great shower and clean (if uninspired) rooms. The Westin is no different, but where it really excels is Location. We were in town for the Christmas Market and couldn't have found a closer hotel. Walk out of the Westin, turn right, make your next right at the pedestrian street and then just follow your nose to to gingerbread, mulled wine, and tons of other treats on offer. After 2 years in India this place was heaven! The only issue is that breakfast is really expensive.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heiko B, Geschäftsführer at The Westin Grand Frankfurt, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
´
Dear NickH,

A big thank you for your compliments and your honests words!

We hope that we will welcome soon again in Frankfurt – this year’s Christmas Market is coming up! We will certainly find the right arrangement for you and your family.

Looking forward to your next visit!

With best regards,
Heiko Buchta
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
191 reviews
190 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012

Overall this is a very good hotel. The staff are friendly and helpful, the public areas, bar and restaurant good and the rooms are good size and well appointed. The shower is excellent. Breakfast is very good, but also very expensive as is the hotel overall. There is a good Chinese restaurant attached to the hotel, but although the food is good it is not very authentic. This is a good place to stay, but nothing really exciting about it.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MyReview186361
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heiko B, Geschäftsführer at The Westin Grand Frankfurt, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Dear MyReview186361,

Thank you for choosing the Westin Grand Frankfurt for your recent stay in Frankfurt and for taking the time to share your feedback.

It is very nice to read your compliments about the service and the facilities of our hotel, We continuously focus on improving our performance and keep it at the highest possible level and therefore, we take your comments very seriously.

I do hope that we get the opportunity to welcome you back in a not to distant future.

With best regards,
Heiko Buchta
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
85 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

This property is what you'd expect from a Westin – not a remarkable design, but good location and service. The rooms are relatively spacious and clean, although the bathrooms were a little more spartan than you might expect (combo tub/shower with the European-style partial pane of glass – rather than a full enclosure). Now that I think of it, I'm not sure I got the Gold upgrade when I checked in. Maybe that would have made a difference.

The price of the wi-fi can really add up (€16 for a "standard" connection, €24 for high-speed when I was there). For my 6-day stay, it totalled €96. Paying extra for internet never fails to irritate me. At least you can have more than one device on the same connection. My next stop was the Sofitel in Luxembourg where the wi-fi AND mini-bar are complimentary. What a difference. Maybe I'm going to have to re-think my Starwood loyalty.

The breakfast bar and executive lounge we both well appointed. Surrounding the hotel there's a large shopping area, with many restaurants. Colleagues said the nearby Thai and Japanese restaurants were wonderful.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heiko B, Geschäftsführer at The Westin Grand Frankfurt, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Dear DavidS,

Thank you for leaving your impressions on the Tripadvisor website and for taking the effort to give us feedback about your recent stay at The Westin Grand Frankfurt. Your comments are very valuable to us, because they help us to monitor and improve our standards.

Our hotel is indeed a very convenient location – and we do our best to comfort travelers as much as possible during their stay. Your kind words are a great motivation for our staff.

Regarding the internet, free wi-fi connections are included in our Westin Executive Club. We will certainly find the right arrangement for your next stay with us.

Best greetings to SFO.
Heiko Buchta
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
64 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012

The desk staff could not have been more helpful, time and time again. I stayed here for five days and needed help on many occasions. Each time the staff was eager to assist me and went out of their way to make sure I was happy.

The location is excellent, right in the middle of everything and a ten minute commute to Messe (where most conventions are held.) There are great restaurants close by as well.

I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LA-Business-Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heiko B, Geschäftsführer at The Westin Grand Frankfurt, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Dear LA Business Traveller,

What a nice summary of your stay at the Westin Grand Frankfurt and here is our big thank you for sharing your high recommendation for us with Tripadvisor.

It makes us quite happy that you are pleased with our services, and that you appreciated so much our assistance.

I hope you will soon make another trip to Frankfurt. We look forward to seeing you!”.

Many greetings to Los Angeles
Heiko Buchta
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Frankfurt hotels
Altstadt
Steigenberger Frankfurter Hof
Innenstadt
Jumeirah Frankfurt
Jumeirah Frankfurt
#4 of 267 in Frankfurt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Innenstadt
NH Collection Frankfurt City
NH Collection Frankfurt City
#6 of 267 in Frankfurt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 596 reviews
Innenstadt
Grandhotel Hessischer Hof
Grandhotel Hessischer Hof
#3 of 267 in Frankfurt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 477 reviews
InterContinental Frankfurt
#35 of 267 in Frankfurt
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Grand Frankfurt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Grand Frankfurt

Property: The Westin Grand Frankfurt
Address: Konrad-Adenauer-Str. 7, 60313 Frankfurt, Hesse, Germany
Location: Germany > Hesse > Frankfurt > Innenstadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Frankfurt
#9 Business Hotel in Frankfurt
#16 Family Hotel in Frankfurt
#18 Romantic Hotel in Frankfurt
#23 Luxury Hotel in Frankfurt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Grand Frankfurt 5*
Number of rooms: 371
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The five-star nonsmoking hotel The Westin Grand Frankfurt was carefully and elaborately renovated in 2007. It is blessed with an ideal location, just steps to the well-known Zeil shopping street and the exclusive Goethestrasse boulevard, within close proximity to all attractions in the city. The 371 newly designed rooms and suites are decorated in warm shades and tones and equipped with modern, comfy furniture and a flat screen television. The Heavenly Bed(R), a Westin innovation with special mattress, guarantees a good night's sleep. All rooms and suites have high speed internet, three telephones with integrated answering machines, as well as individually controlled air-conditioning. Furthermore, all rooms are equipped with an iron and ironing board, a safe and a Nespresso coffee machine. Access to the internet free of charge in lobby, restaurant and bar. Our 4 restaurants and bars offer new and familiar delights for your palate. You can choose between regional and traditional Japanese cuisine, a drink or a snack. The world is your oyster. The conference level offers 12 rooms, equipped with the latest conference technology, in various sizes: Events for up to 1,000 guests can be handled with ease; for festive banquets up to 320 guests can be accommodated. The new pool and fitness area is the ideal place to relax. Apart from a sauna, bio sauna and a swimming pool, we also offer you beneficial massages and personalised beauty treatments. Parking available for a fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Westin Grand Frankfurt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Grand Frankfurt Hotel Frankfurt
Westin Grand Frankfurt
Westin Frankfurt
Frankfurt Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing