We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Convenient location, convenient rate” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Westin Grand Frankfurt

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Westin Grand Frankfurt
Ranked #22 of 274 Hotels in Frankfurt
Certificate of Excellence
milan, italy
Level Contributor
167 reviews
167 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
“Convenient location, convenient rate”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2011

Central location, quiet room (but those on the second floor facing the courtyard overlook the top of the lobby), good king size beds, courteous staff. The room, however, had a strong cigarette smell, even if it was sold as non-smoking. Nice touch the vintage cars in the entrance. If you get a reasonable rate, an excellent choice.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lucaerrante
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,259 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    615
    418
    159
    44
    23
See reviews for
130
343
149
541
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
70 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2011

It's centrally located, comfortable and has outstanding service. The rooms are very quiet (even the ones towards the street) with very good beds - as expected in most big American-Chain hotels. The breakfast is really good and the personnel throughout the hotel is extremely attentive and helpful. I would especially like to compliment the mustachioed bartender who was on the spot with great service every night! Salute sir!
If I really had to offer a point of criticism it would be that the general design of the hotel is a bit boring - (though they do spruce it up with some cool antique cars in the lobby!). The pink/purple lighting in the lobby-lounge at night is a bit of a strange choice. But this is a detail.
I've stayed at the Westin Grand many times and plan to in the future. Good work Westin!

Room Tip: No advantage to staying on an upper floor with regards to views so you may as well stay on a lower f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SSAASSHHAA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vanessa_Witsch, Leiter Gästebetreuung at The Westin Grand Frankfurt, responded to this review, November 28, 2011
Google Translation
Sehr geehrter Gast,

wir möchten uns herzlich dafür bedanken, dass Sie sich die Zeit genommen haben Ihre Eindrücke mit uns und anderen Reisenden zu teilen.

Das Team der neu designten Bar namens "Grand Seven" hat sich wirklich sehr über Ihr persönliches Lob gefreut und Ihre Verbesserungsvorschläge bedenken wir gerne.

Wir wünschen Ihnen und Ihrer Familie eine besinnliche Weihnachtszeit und vielleicht besuchen Sie uns ja bald wieder.

Beste Grüße

Vanessa Witsch
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey Shore
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2011

Spending two nights in Frankfurt on a pleasure trip. Used Priceline to bid on a 5 star hotel while we were at the airport before we got on the plane. I’m a retired prison guard and work part time for an airline now so I get to fly very cheaply and thus go on numerous short trips planed at the last minute when I know there are seats on the plane for employees. Priceline accepted my bid and I found we would be staying at the Westin Grand Frankfurt. I went on line and checked the hotels web site as well as the more recent Trip Advisor reviews. On the hotel web site I saw that they offered an executive club room that was 70 euros more a night than there standard room. I called the hotel and spoke to a very nice and very knowledge front desk clerk. I identified myself as a Priceline guest who would be arriving around noon and asked if for a fee we could upgrade to have executive club access. He said that can be done and the cost was what I expected, 70 Euro per night. I also told him we would be taking the train into Frankfurt and he told me exactly how to do it and where to get off. The hotel was a block or so away from the train stop. The hotel web site also showed a very nice indoor swimming pool and spa/sauna/gym area that was available to all hotel guests. Between this and the very helpful front desk clerk I already had good feeling about this hotel. The recent Trip Advisor reviews were mixed. Reviews complaining about lack of lighting, missing bulbs, missing dresser draws and leaky showers. I read this and just though that this is Westin branded Starwoods hotel and it had to be nice.
We arrived at the hotel around noon after an easy train trip from the airport that took less than 30 minutes. The front desk clerk was ready to check us in. I asked about upgrading to a room that gives us executive club access. She checked the computer and told me exactly what I was expecting, that it would be an additional 70 Euro per night and that she would be very happy to arrange that for us if we wanted. We accepted, and within a few more minutes were in our room on the 3rd floor (the hotel has six floors) near the elevator. From reading Trip Advisor reviews many folks complain about being near the elevator, saying it noisy. We like being by the elevator, as it just seen a waste of time to have to transverse long hotel corridors to get to and from your room. In this hotel there was no elevator noise. There was a bank of five large elevators (unlike some even 5 star European hotels which have to few and to small elevators by American standards). This was a big advantage to us in that the executive club room was on the first floor and the pool was on the sixth floor (in Europe, the lobby level is floor zero).

The room was fully worthy of a 5 star hotel. A decent size, very aesthetically pleasing, and nicely lit. There was a safe, a small refrigerator that served also as the mini bar (which we did not use), and a K-cup style coffee maker which was stocked with four K-cups (which we did use). There was a large flat screen TV. A comfortable chair and a good work station. The TV sat on a dresser which had doors that opened up onto a few rows of shelves (I actually think this is what another reviewer meant when they mentioned the dresser was missing its draws which clearly isn’t the case). The built in closet area had additional shelves and adequate space to hang clothes. The bathroom was entirely stone, with a tub/shower that had two shower heads as well as a separate hand held shower hose. Adequate amenities and towels, including two robs and two pairs of sleepers. All in all a very nice room for us to spend a few days in on holiday. There was a card to place on the bed if you wanted fresh sheets. We did so and came back the next day to a bed freshly made with clean sheets, the bathroom restocked, and the coffee K-cups replenished.

When we’re able to upgrade to a hotel’s Club Level at a reasonable price we always do so. This is especially beneficially to us in Europe as that food and drinks are more pricy than in the US. The Westin Grand Frankfurt Executive Club room was one of the nicest we’ve been in. A very functionally set up and very tastefully done. It offered a wonderful breakfast consisting of scrambled eggs with cheese, bacon, sausage, and other breakfast meats, the usual European breakfast cold cut assortment, fruit, juices, breads, and a selection of a few Danish. The Club had a wonderful coffee machine that offered numerous types of coffee. Coffee, soda, water, beer, and wine were available all day. In the evening the Club room offered a small salad bar, hot soup, and small assortment of appetizers that you could easily make a light supper out of. The Clerk assigned to the room was friendly, knowledgeable, and willing to help you out answering questions about both the hotel and Frankfurt (as was the front desk staff).

The pool/spa/gym area was very nicely done. The pool was entirely tiled and the surrounding area was entirely stone. Around the pool were chair for lounging. My partner and I both lap swim for exercise and the pool was amenable to that purpose. The spa area had two different type saunas, and plenty of showers as well as a cold dip pool (which isn’t for me). All in all a fine area to relax in each day after sightseeing.

On the last morning I was able to have breakfast in the Club as well as check out there. I was still able to return to our room, gather our belonging, and then return to the airport on the train which was simple and fast. All in all this is a great hotel.

Room Tip: It's a big hotel, I think being close to the elevator is best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chiefcopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vanessa_Witsch, Leiter Gästebetreuung at The Westin Grand Frankfurt, responded to this review, November 12, 2011
Dear chiedcopp,

WOW! What a postitive and detailled summary! It was such an delight reading through your stay and everything you experienced at the Westin Grand Frankfurt and in Frankfurt itself!

I am a hundert percent postive your words will help many many travellers on Tripadvisor to make their decision. Every single member of the team thanks you a lot for providing so much information and for such a good feedback!

Dear chiefcopp, it would be an honor to meeting you personally on your next visit and to share some thoughts and meantime I wish you a wonderful wintertime and remain,

with warm regards

Vanessa Witsch
Guest Service Manager
vanessa.witsch@westin.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
58 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2011

The Westin has the best location. The only problem in had is that the noise from the traffic on Konrad Adenauer Str. was too loud in the room. Other than that, it is a really nice hotel right in the middle of the Aldstadt and 'Zell' major shopping area. I will definitely go back.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Obieone911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vanessa_Witsch, Leiter Gästebetreuung at The Westin Grand Frankfurt, responded to this review, November 11, 2011
Dear Obieone91,

We would like to thank you for your feedback provided on Tripadvisor, which will be very useful for many travellers and we are delighted to read you had such a good time with us and in Frankfurt!

On your next visit to Frankfurt I will make sure to book in a room to the courtyard and please feel free to contact me directly at any time!

Wishing you a wonderful time I send you warm regards from almost winterly Frankfurt

Vanessa Witsch
Guest Service Manager
vanessa.witsch@westin.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2011

Lucky to stay here for a conference on a couple of occasions, it is a really nice hotel, classic cars dotted around the foyer, staff are excellent and always helpful. The level of service is attentive and friendly. It's not cheap to drink or eat here but if you can afford it then i don't think you will be dissapointed,

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rossiliverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vanessa_Witsch, Leiter Gästebetreuung at The Westin Grand Frankfurt, responded to this review, November 12, 2011
Dear rossilive,

Thank you very much for your positive and constructive feedback shared on Tripadvisor! Maybe on your next visit to Frankfurt you have the possibility to add one or two days of leisure time to enjoy the great shopping areas, the beautiful landscape down at the river or to simply take a breath at our emotion spa on the 6th floor!

We are already looking forward to welcoming you back soon and if there is anything I can arrange beforehand please feel free to contact me directly!

All the best,

Vanessa Witsch
Guest Service Manager
vanessa.witsch@westin.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
116 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2011

Stayed for two nights at this hotel from a priceline win. Very nicely located a couple of minutes walk from Konstablerwache station, and also lots of shops in the surrounding area, including a large Rewe supermarket at the MyZeil shopping centre. Also easily walk to Romer and the river.

The room is nice and spacious, although I do not like that internet is an expensive add on. However, there are a few computers in the lobby which can be used for free, although the internet connection seems rather temperamental, and never fast.

Pretty much what you expect from this category of hotel, no more, no less.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pojaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vanessa_Witsch, Leiter Gästebetreuung at The Westin Grand Frankfurt, responded to this review, November 12, 2011
Dear pojaya,

the entire team of the Westin Grand Frankfurt is sending you many thanks to Sydney for having taken a moment of your time to share your impressions and some sightseeing & shopping insiders!

I fully agree with you - the location of the hotel could not be any better, since all main attractions are just around the corner and with walking distance - there is a lot to see and to discover!

If your travel schedule brings you back to Frankfurt, then we would like to be our personal best to organise a memorable stay at the Westin Grand Frankfurt and I remain at your disposal,

with warm regards

Vanessa Witsch
Guest Service Manager
vanessa.witsch@westin.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
61 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2011

Upon arrival Frankfurt airport I took the train for 3.90 euro. Train stop to hotel less than 100 meters. Upon check in the front desk staff very helpful. I made this reservation though American Express Fine hotels and was presented my 85 euro voucher upon check in.
The location is excellent you are within walking distance to many great shops, opera house and restaurants.
Room was clean, king bed, room location was in the back of hotel therefore it was very quiet.
Bar service in the lobby was good and bartenders friendly and courteous. Front desk helped me with dinner reservation and there recommendation was excellent.
Breakfast was very good, great selection and omelets prepared for you, service very good.
Overall a fine hotel and excellent location.

Room Tip: Great value when you can book though AmexFHR
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bgtny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vanessa_Witsch, Leiter Gästebetreuung at The Westin Grand Frankfurt, responded to this review, November 12, 2011
Dear guest,

We enjoyed reading your positive feedback about your visit to the Westin Grand Frankfurt and thank you for sharing it with us and the Tripadvisor community!

Booking through American Express Express Finest Hotels & Resorts is indeed very comfortable way and the packages and rates they offer are fantastic.

It would be wonderful to welcoming you back soon in Frankfurt and we would be delighted to giving you some more recommensations about restaurants, markets and much more and meantime we send you warm regards to the city that never sleeps!

All the best

Vanessa Witsch
Guest Service Manager
vanessa.witsch@westin.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Frankfurt hotels
Altstadt
Steigenberger Frankfurter Hof
Innenstadt
Jumeirah Frankfurt
Jumeirah Frankfurt
#4 of 274 in Frankfurt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,077 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Innenstadt
NH Collection Frankfurt City
NH Collection Frankfurt City
#5 of 274 in Frankfurt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 468 reviews
Innenstadt
Grandhotel Hessischer Hof
Grandhotel Hessischer Hof
#2 of 274 in Frankfurt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 398 reviews
Innenstadt
Fleming's Hotel Deluxe Frankfurt-City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Grand Frankfurt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Grand Frankfurt

Property: The Westin Grand Frankfurt
Address: Konrad-Adenauer-Str. 7, 60313 Frankfurt, Hesse, Germany
Location: Germany > Hesse > Frankfurt > Innenstadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Frankfurt
#9 Business Hotel in Frankfurt
#16 Family Hotel in Frankfurt
#18 Luxury Hotel in Frankfurt
#18 Romantic Hotel in Frankfurt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Grand Frankfurt 5*
Number of rooms: 371
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The five-star nonsmoking hotel The Westin Grand Frankfurt was carefully and elaborately renovated in 2007. It is blessed with an ideal location, just steps to the well-known Zeil shopping street and the exclusive Goethestrasse boulevard, within close proximity to all attractions in the city. The 371 newly designed rooms and suites are decorated in warm shades and tones and equipped with modern, comfy furniture and a flat screen television. The Heavenly Bed(R), a Westin innovation with special mattress, guarantees a good night's sleep. All rooms and suites have high speed internet, three telephones with integrated answering machines, as well as individually controlled air-conditioning. Furthermore, all rooms are equipped with an iron and ironing board, a safe and a Nespresso coffee machine. Access to the internet free of charge in lobby, restaurant and bar. Our 4 restaurants and bars offer new and familiar delights for your palate. You can choose between regional and traditional Japanese cuisine, a drink or a snack. The world is your oyster. The conference level offers 12 rooms, equipped with the latest conference technology, in various sizes: Events for up to 1,000 guests can be handled with ease; for festive banquets up to 320 guests can be accommodated. The new pool and fitness area is the ideal place to relax. Apart from a sauna, bio sauna and a swimming pool, we also offer you beneficial massages and personalised beauty treatments. Parking available for a fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Amex, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your The Westin Grand Frankfurt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Grand Frankfurt Hotel Frankfurt
Westin Grand Frankfurt
Westin Frankfurt
Frankfurt Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing