We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, clean, costly internet, beware of rooms facing the noisy tram”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Mercure Hotel & Residenz Frankfurt Messe
Ranked #73 of 270 Hotels in Frankfurt
Reviewed September 29, 2012

Its a good clean and convenient hotel
walking distance to the messe ground
Internet isnt free
Good rich breakfast
Dinner was good but not great
my room was facing the main street, couldnt sleep with open window due to Tram noise - pick better room than me

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EyalS925
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (677)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

174 - 180 of 677 reviews

Reviewed September 18, 2012

I spent 6 days in this hotel and I can't find any reason to be charged Euro 290 (US$ 362) per night except for the principle of scarcity. This is because there was a large exhibition at the Frankfurt Fair (aptly rendered as "Messe" in German) and rooms were scarce.
This hotel comprises three buildings with only one reception and restaurant but operates a canteen for breakfast in one of the other two buildings. Unless you are not lodged in the main building, then you have to go downstairs and cross the street for any need. This becomes really enticing in the chilly, rainy winter. There is no room service.
For this exorbitant rate what did I get? A tiny room facing the street where noisy streetcars start running before 5am until around midnight. No Internet, not even an electric kettle (had to go myself to get some hot water for a tea).
The bathroom is proportionate with the room: small. For some strange reason, the shower is attached to a corner of the walls. To have a shampoo you have to bend backwards (or forwards, depending on your preference). The bathtub has skewed walls which means you have an additional difficulty. Otherwise you have to hold the shower on your hand. No big deal: I have seen worse. But you are paying almost 300 Euro per night.
The access to the hotel (always except the main building) is by use of the room card. Remember to never, never keep the card near you mobile phone otherwise the card get demagnetized. No big problem: but you are paying a lot and have an unreliable card.
Internet is the worst. At 9 Euro per 24 hours you are linked at a very slow network and the line drops continuously. As I needed Internet every day, my rate climbed to 299 Euro per night. Don't even think to call the help desk: you pay 14 Euro cents per minute and you are up to listen some stupid music for a while before someone answers you in perfect German. I hung up.
My credit card was charge the whole amount on my third day of stay. It was not a deposit. I consulted Visa and they said that was a charge. Never happend to me to be charged before check out. In this case 3 days before.
Breakfast is ok, just ok for the outrageous charge.
This hotel appropriate rate is 100 Euro per night. Any higher look somewhere else.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
Thank Guggo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2012

I stayed there for 2 nights in August 2012 ;
I reserved a standard room but I got a better
room named "privilage room" located on the last
floor of this hotel.
the room was very good and comfortable. no complaints.
it also had balcony and espresso machine.
good and nice attitude of the staff.
all was good, but there is one small Disadvantages,
which is the access by the public transport: there is
a very close station of the Tram, line 16 and 17, but
there is no access to U-bahn or S-bahn. the intervals
of the tram lines in the evning is not so good, but still
it work until midnight so you can travel late, you just
need patience to wait.
probably also the standards rooms have balcony as well.
this is one of the hotels that I will be happy to return next time.

Room Tip: the privilage room on the last floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bird_on_vacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2012 via mobile

I travel a lot, and I can see that most hotels have recognized that free wifi is the way to go. Still some hotels do charge for it in high fees. It's cheaper to get a sim card with Internet access in Germany than a one day charge for wifi in a hotel. Any how the hotel is a basic business hotel, clean and quiet the period I stayed there. And for 59 euros a night that was reasonable.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Khaled7691
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2012

Good hotel. But No free internet connection in room en very bad free internet connection in special room in lobby.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fidelio_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

I stayed here for one night. got a great rate, easy to get to from the train station. Wifi signal was strong in the lobby, be sure to ask for either a card, or some rates include it (if you ask sometimes they'll include a card, or internet at n/c) rooms are standard european size (which is to say smallish) but very clean, very quiet and very comfortable.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chasles22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Spent about 10 days here on a trip. The area is noisy and the staff is not really helpful (the cleaning staff was great but the night clerk was a total jerk). The beds are ridiculously small for anyone taller than 6'00 and they give you 1 small pillow and a pitiful excuse for a blanket. Think airplane small. they also don't seem to understand when you ask for another pillow. Breakfast was good though, but the main problem was service. We had an early flight and the safe in a friends room wouldn't open when they tried to get it open @ 10:00. The night desk clerk was rude and reluctant to help, he said she should have mentioned this earlier!! And she would have to wait until 8:00 for someone to help. She eventually convinced him of the necessity ie the flight boarded @ 7am. I would have never expceted this treatment. But thats just one bad apple.

Room Tip: Short people only!!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bardechh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Frankfurt hotels
Bockenheim
Novotel Frankfurt City
Novotel Frankfurt City
#52 of 270 in Frankfurt
918 reviews
Innenstadt
Mercure Hotel Frankfurt City Messe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
H4 Hotel Frankfurt-Messe
#90 of 270 in Frankfurt
569 reviews
Innenstadt
TRYP by Wyndham Frankfurt
TRYP by Wyndham Frankfurt
#59 of 270 in Frankfurt
628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Hotel & Residenz Frankfurt Messe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Hotel & Residenz Frankfurt Messe

Address: Voltastr. 29, 60486 Frankfurt, Hesse, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Hesse > Frankfurt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#47 Luxury Hotel in Frankfurt
Price Range: $59 - $168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Hotel & Residenz Frankfurt Messe 4*
Number of rooms: 424
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfect for business travelers and trade-fair visitors: The Mercure Hotel & Residenz Frankfurt Messe is close to Frankfurt's exhibition center, the festival hall and the congress center. All 336 rooms and 88 apartments have air con and free WIFI. Guests enjoy free use of the wellness area. Our CCH-certified hotel has 6 conference rooms suitable for events of up to 100 people. It is 9.3 miles to the airport and approx. 1.2 miles to the main train station and highway. Our hotel also has a garage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, ACCOR, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mercure Hotel & Residenz Frankfurt Messe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Hotel And Residenz Frankfurt Messe
Mercure Hotel Residenz Frankfurt Messe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing