We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old but trying to make up for it”
Review of Hotel Monopol

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Monopol
Ranked #55 of 269 Hotels in Frankfurt
Lugo, Spain
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Old but trying to make up for it”
Reviewed July 27, 2012

The hotel is very old, which must be the reason why the shower is so bad- and that is really annoying because you look forward to a nice and refreshing shower after a tiring day of sightseeing. As for the furniture or the carpets being old, well, we didn´t think of it as something negative, maybe becauseI am not that young either...
Some things surprised us positively: a choice of drinks for free in the room fridge (soft drinks and beer); coffee, juice, cake and fruit available (free as well) anytime during the day; a wide choice of free newspapers and magazines (both in the room and in the main hall); free wifi (not frequent in good hotels in Germany) ... they really try to make up for the old building.
If you travel by car, they have parking spaces in a garage they share with a nearby hotel (very close).
If you have a sweet tooth and you like baklava, go to Merkez Döner Haus in Münchener Strasse (a five-minute walk from the hotel): the food is OK but the baklava is just excellent .

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rosaperezparapar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

571 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    273
    107
    36
    23
See reviews for
109
120
94
159
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
ATHENS
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2012

I stayed at Monopol hotel in Frankfurt for 2 nights on june 2012. The hotel is located opposite the central railway station. So when someone comes by plane he can arrive at the hotel by taking the train from the airport . The room i stayed was spacious and the bathroom too. It was clean and quite . The breakfast was quite good and the reception staff very polite. They offer coffee and cakes all day long for free at a stand opposite the reception. The tram and bus station are outside the hotel . The price per night is low for a double bedded room and for a low price you can use it for half day. I think that Monopol hotel is good enough if someone stays for 1-2 nights .

Room Tip: rooms at the rear are quite
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ADRAS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2012

Although the location is right next to the station, it is definitely not a four star hotel. Despite the fact that we have chose a non-smoking room, the room turned out to be full of cigarette smell that comes with an awful view. We did requested a room change, but it takes them 2 hours to confirm the change and we are forced to stay in the room in which no change in the room appearance including rubbish bin is allowed.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lam L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turku, Finland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2012

There's no way around the fact that this hotel is desperately in need for a renovation. The room is not very spacious, but no too small either if compared for instance to London hotels.

Last visit: I saw a cockroach once in the bathroom. Carpet glue stench in the corridor (they've doing at least some renovation). And the bead wasn't very good. Well I don't know what did I expect for the price. This is a very cheap hotel.

- Old and shabby
+ Minibar is free and it's refilled every day
+ Great location near main train station
+ Helpful and friendly staff
+ Very good breakfast

Room Tip: Ask room facing away from the street. You will trade the view to quieter sleeping conditions (althou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Johannes H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2012

Hotel location is great right next to central station and Bus station to airport,Very old carpet and bad stains ,terrible dump smell comes,toilet been broken which is very bad for hygienic ,Quality of breakfast was very good.Overall Full Hotel needed Renovation.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rana7890
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2012

We were in Frankfurt solely because Qantas flew into this city from where we would start our 5 country rail travel through Europe.
The location was excellent as we caught the airport train from Frankfurt airport into the city and the hotel was located right outside the doors of the main train station.
Despite the proximity of the hotel to the station, noise wasn’t an issue for us even though our room faced the street and station.
It is an old hotel with an old world charm. Reception staff was friendly and helpful and our triple room (99 Euro) had ample space for the 3 of us and our luggage. The room we had was very clean, linen crisp, bathroom in good order with excellent supply of hot water and no leaks anywhere. Mini bar was free.
From the hotel, we were able to walk to most of the sights worth seeing in Frankfurt – Romerplatz, Danube……
The best part of this hotel was the included full breakfast. The selection available was impressive from miso soup to the freshest croissant to eggs cooked to order and excellent coffee. A brilliant start to the day and our whole journey.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank j0999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelyabinsk, Russia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2012

When you pay for Central location under 50 Euros - please dont expect luxury.
- supurb location: about 30 seconds from the Southern exit of the Frankfurt Main Train Station so no need for taxi if you carry a bit of luggage - just cross the road and you are there
- heaps of shops around
- bus station is right there as well

- I did not pre-book but just walked in around 10 am
- cost me 45 Euros for a single room
- very charming and friendly Reception guy - smile & you might as well get a good rate ;)
- early check-in after 10am at no charge - CONVENIENT!

- Room: spacious enough for two or more with a single bed and a couch
- it got table and a mini-bar with the GOOD GERMAN BEER x2, orange juice x2, and some water - all included into the room rate - BRILLIANT! just what you need at 10am
- clean bathroom with a bath tub
- no view but you dont really need it anyway
- the Hotel is not new (incl. rooms) but its good enough to serve those who would like to stay central & cheap - its not rusty, no insects so I find it decent

- Housekeeping guy (a big Indian man) walked in without knocking. Gave me a bit of a fright)) But i take everything with a bit of humor so not an issue

- Free internet at the computer behind the lobby - The Reception Charming man even brought me a coffee with biscuits while i was at the computer - might be the flirt but I took it as the Level of Hospitality =)

- Breakfast was good. Enough choice for everyone but vegetarians) that'd be me.

Would come back!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lu_Marsovna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Frankfurt hotels
Hotel Excelsior
#59 of 269 in Frankfurt
1,498 reviews
Innenstadt
Hotel Europa Life
Hotel Europa Life
#33 of 269 in Frankfurt
250 reviews
Innenstadt
Hotel Concorde
Hotel Concorde
#8 of 269 in Frankfurt
774 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Innenstadt
Manhattan Hotel
Manhattan Hotel
#16 of 269 in Frankfurt
682 reviews
Townhouse Hotel
#28 of 269 in Frankfurt
272 reviews
Hotel Hamburger Hof
#13 of 269 in Frankfurt
718 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Monopol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monopol

Property: Hotel Monopol
Address: Mannheimer Str. 11-13 | Frankfurt am Main, 60329 Frankfurt, Hesse, Germany
Location: Germany > Hesse > Frankfurt > Innenstadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#25 Family Hotel in Frankfurt
#37 Romantic Hotel in Frankfurt
#38 Luxury Hotel in Frankfurt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Monopol 4*
Number of rooms: 95
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Monopol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Frankfurt Monopol Hotel
Monopol Hotel Frankfurt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing