We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The good located hotel”
Review of Am Zoo Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Am Zoo Hotel
Ranked #219 of 269 Hotels in Frankfurt
Reviewed October 30, 2011

Good *** hotel . The good located hotel not far from the heart of old town (Romer) and Zeil. Distance from Zeil is 10 minutes walk, distance from ZOO is 2 minutes walk, distance from U-Bahn station ZOO is 1 minutes walk, distance from Romer is 15 minutes walk. All distances are even with a pram. A soundproofing of rooms is a good.
A room is needing airing immediately after arrival.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sergey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (121)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

43 - 49 of 121 reviews

Reviewed July 21, 2011

We stayed here immediately upon flying into Frankfort from the US West Coast prior to embarking on a vacation in Germany. It was just the right spot for us. Knowing that hotel rooms in Europe are small, I was very happy to find a hotel that could accommodate 2 adults and 2 nine year olds, ie a Queen bed and 2 single beds in one room--this was a great find.

This hotel was situated about 15 minute taxi ride from the airport, perfectly located next to the tree-lined area of the Frankfurt Zoo, in a residential area, with some small family-owned restaurants supported by locals. More adventurous types could have taken the tube/metro from the airport. The excitement of downtown was an easy (flat), well marked 5-10 minute safe walk. Just far enough out to be quiet for sleeping, yet very accessible to the city. Lovely breakfast available in the morning. Great experience and affordable--for Europe.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SuzieeQQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2011

This hotel is within walking distance of the city (10 minutes), or the U-Bahn gets you there in about 5 minutes. It's pretty much the same as the Admiral which is close, a budget hotel near the Zoo. Rooms are small, and our bathroom looked old, but the water was hot 24/7 and they have satellite tv and decent beds. The pillows looked old too. For breakfast, you can get ham, eggs and sausages in addition to the usual fare of jam, cheese and rolls. Wifi is quite costly, you have to pay per hour, or use your T-Mobile wifi roaming if you have an account.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mooney76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2009

Second stay at this pleasant hotel situated in very charming part of city. Hotel well-run, bright and clean. Staff excellent. Close to all amenities. Recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AirgeadEurope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2007

We had no idea what the hotel would be like as we booked it last minute. We got there and it was better than expected. I loved our 5 night stay, the room was clean, big light and airy. As it was busy at breakfast time make sure you get it early. I couldn’t fault it in any way. The staff were very friendly and helpful, from the reception to the maids.

Across the road from Am Zoo is an excellent bar called Berliner Kindl. Good entertainment.

It was situated not far from the attractions in Berlin.

well recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank rockape14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2006

Passing through, went over to see if the reservation I had made from back in the U.S. (through Orbitz) was honored and the receptionist could not find the reservation. Luckily, there were rooms available and II was placed in one at a cheaper rate than the reservation. It was a no frills room, was traveling by myself so it did not matter but what I really enjoyed was the neighborhood.
It was about 10 mins from Frankfurt center and it was a nice area, train next to hotel which could get you anywhere including the airport and walking distance to a mall which I visited and really enjoyed. Besides the nice experience, add that when I departed I left behind some personal items and souvenirs. I contacted the hotel once back in the US and they mailed everything to me. I would stay there again should I visit Frankfurt again.

  • Stayed: June 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FranciscoR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2003

I stayed here during the fair period, so the rate was more expensive than usual, but still far cheaper than most other hotels. It's clean, comfortable, friendly staff, and in a quiet area. The breakfast was pretty good, and it was convenient being right next to the underground.

  • Stayed: September 2003, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank arttest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Frankfurt hotels
Arena am Zoo
#148 of 269 in Frankfurt
8 reviews
Alexander am Zoo
#56 of 269 in Frankfurt
290 reviews
Innenstadt
Admiral Hotel
Admiral Hotel
#234 of 269 in Frankfurt
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Innenstadt
Hotel Zeil
Hotel Zeil
#149 of 269 in Frankfurt
142 reviews
Innenstadt
Hotel Concorde
Hotel Concorde
#8 of 269 in Frankfurt
813 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Am Zoo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Am Zoo Hotel

Address: Alfred-Brehm-Platz 6, 60316 Frankfurt, Hesse, Germany
Location: Germany > Hesse > Frankfurt > Innenstadt , Ostend - Osthafen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #219 of 269 Hotels in Frankfurt
Price Range: $72 - $320 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Am Zoo Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Am Zoo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing