We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“CLOSE TO TRAIN STATION, AVOID WALKING THROUGH TAUNUS STR” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Favored Hotel Domicil

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Favored Hotel Domicil
Ranked #104 of 267 Hotels in Frankfurt
Brescia
Level Contributor
139 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“CLOSE TO TRAIN STATION, AVOID WALKING THROUGH TAUNUS STR”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2012

Very convenient position, close to the train station . Single room had No air condition . In a hot summer it is not very pleasant.
Single room was small but clean. I did not take breakfast since leaving at 6. . Breakfast starts at 6:30

The real inconvinient is that it is very very close to a very badly frequented street with a not nice Casino and small places full of drugadicts and drunk people. To avoid that inconvinience you should never walk on taunus strase but arrive by Karlstrasse. Drugadicts are in the nearby streets. It is better to avoid arriving late.

Room Tip: If you ask for a single room,it is better that specify you need air conditioned if travelling in su...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ceciliacastelli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    86
    54
    18
    6
See reviews for
13
46
46
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
36 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2012

I stayed here with a friend in January 2012 visiting friends in Frankfurt and it was a grand cheap hotel in a good central location and only a 3 minute walk to Hauptbanhof! The décor was dated but you'd get over that for the price! It was good as a base to put your head down at night but it wouldn't be a place where you'd necessarily spend lots of time!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Katie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2012

I arrive to the hotel and the front desk personal was very pleasent, room was clean, my only complain is the a had a room by the street and is very noise during the night, freakfast buffet for my standars is ok since im a hispanic and my breakfast type is different ( im in europa i guess is a litle bit different for my taste) i will come back again but this time i make sure i get a room away from the street

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jose L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2012

If you are wanting to stay in a Best Western - choose the Best Western Scala, NOT Domicil! Although the Domicil is right near the Hauptbanhof, you only have to turn left out of the hotel and go one block and you are in the 'red light' district. Not pretty! I am personally well travelled and I did not feel safe walking through this area.

The hotel itself had small rooms, the bathroom was not clean, tiles had alot of grime and the water pressure was unbearable. You could barely wash the soap off your body!

The only benefits that I got from the hotel was the free wifi and the free breakfast. Other than that, after seeing friends rooms at the Best Western Scala my recommendation is stay there instead!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank musicman287
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Frankfurt hotels

Southampton
Level Contributor
147 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2012

I stayed here during the Ambiente show due to it being the only hotel i could find with any availability and would not stay here again. There is only one word to describe the room and that is "brown". Brown Walls, carpets, curtains etc, you get the picture. The bathroom was clean but in desperate need of updating. The decor of the bedroom looks like the 70's and the mattress must have been made in the 70's. I travel a lot with work and have never in my life experienced a mattress like it, it didn't seem to have springs but was stuffed with what felt and sounded like straw, hence I didn't get much sleep and couldn't wait to leave. The lift is another hotel facility from the 70's.
I visited the show twice and my first night was in the intercontinental, a world away from this hotel, 5 star, modern, clean facilities etc. The shocking thing is the intercontinental was cheaper!!! For next years show I will book the intercontinental now to ensure I don't end up here again paying their extortionate 5 star rate for a 2 star hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mh2111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Foster City, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2012

My review is not the hotel itself, having never been there but the review is on their customer service/relation. We made a reservation for our company President for a trip to Frankfurt on the 10th but had to cancel our reservation due to difficulty and uncertainty in getting the German visa. Because of the difference in time zone, our office admin missed the required 7 days cancellation on the 3rd and instead tried to cancel on the 4th. She was told that even though it was only a day late, we will still be charged for the first night of $185 Euros. Needless to say, our office admin is very upset. The hotel could easily cancel without a penalty to allow for a genuine mistake on her part since it's not often she deals with global time zones. In the US, it's not uncommon that reservations can be cancelled up to the night before arrival. She made an honest mistake and I would have hope Ms. Bauernfeind would have been more understanding of this.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ultimatemom76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
43 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2011

Needed to stay for a night at Frankfurt and found this hotel to fit our rather tight budget. Room was simple and small (but not to the extent of being cramped). But the bonus was the free wifi in the room which was actually quite fast, contrary to other reviewers commenting about the slow internet. We parked our car close by, rates were 3 EUR from 7pm to 7am which was reasonable, so absolutely no complaints. For the price we paid, this is a very decent hotel stay.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Justin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Frankfurt hotels
The Corner Hotel
#55 of 267 in Frankfurt
4.0 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
25hours Hotel by Levi's
#20 of 267 in Frankfurt
4.0 of 5 bubbles 632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Innenstadt
Favored Hotel Plaza
Favored Hotel Plaza
#71 of 267 in Frankfurt
4.0 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
Bahnhofsviertel
Ambassador Frankfurt Hotel
Ambassador Frankfurt Hotel
#96 of 267 in Frankfurt
3.5 of 5 bubbles 699 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Favored Hotel Domicil? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Favored Hotel Domicil

Property: Favored Hotel Domicil
Address: Karlstrasse 14, 60329 Frankfurt, Hesse, Germany (Formerly BEST WESTERN Hotel Domicil)
Location: Germany > Hesse > Frankfurt > Bahnhofsviertel , Innenstadt
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #104 of 267 Hotels in Frankfurt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Favored Hotel Domicil 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotel.de, Agoda, HRS, HotelsClick, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your Favored Hotel Domicil reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Domicil
Best Western Frankfurt
Frankfurt Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing