We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Impressed, is as advertised”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
H4 Hotel Frankfurt-Messe
Ranked #73 of 268 Hotels in Frankfurt
Germany/USA
Level Contributor
70 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Impressed, is as advertised”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2011

Clean and efficient property.

Some reviews say internet is not free but it is.

Pool not in service--we did not know that prior, but they did offer to use one 5 mins away for free if we wanted to.

On street parking was free and plentiful.

Room Tip: not all rooms have shampoo AND soap liquid
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oiseleap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

534 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    242
    131
    39
    13
See reviews for
61
108
45
247
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hamburg
Level Contributor
52 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2010

the hotel is located close to the exhibition and the airport - in the immediate vicinity (walking distance) there's nothing in terms of restaurants, shops etc.
You can normally find parking on the street in front for free, the outside parking in the back is charged with 10 Euro/night. They have restaurant & bar.

The elevators are painfully slow and with the hotel having 13 stories, the stairs are not really an alternative. At one occasion I waited 4 min 30 sec for the elevator to arrive.

My room had a small "lobby" of sorts with a wardrobe and the doors to the bathroom and the actual room. The actual room was very big with a king size bed and a sitting area with couch, table, lounge chairs as well as a writing desk and TV. The bed was nice and seemed pretty new but both the couch and the carpet had numerous burn holes (note: the hotel has been a non-smoking hotel for years). Especially disquieting: I put one of the lamps aside and saw that the carpet beneath it was completely scorched. I can only hope that they had replaced the defective lamp and it wasn't the same one. My room also had a rather large balcony from where you could see the pool (and vice versa!).

The heating / aircondition is centrally controlled and it is not possible to completely switch off the heating if you feel hot. The TV in the room had extremely bad signal.

The bathroom has a distinct 1970s feel to it because the toilet and shower tub are in beige. Everything worked well though.

You get 2 complimentary bottles of sparkling water in the room; there are minibars but they are empty: you can get snacks and drinks from the "maxi bar" / kiosk at reception. Basically a very good idea because you have a much larger selection but there is still the elevator issue so the roundtrip will take you about 10 minutes. If you do stay here, buy your food and drink right after check-in.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MarkHamburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Frankfurt hotels

Ghent
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2010

-We had requested a non smoking king size bedded room, they guaranteed us that room.

-What we got was a smoking two queen size bedded room.
-The receptionist was extremely unfriendly and not really open to questions how to reach the city center and where to eat out in the evening.
-The rooms are old and there is a very small shower. In the morning we didn't had warm water due a maintenance problem, thats okay to us but no compensation was given.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank djazzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunnyvale, CA
Level Contributor
419 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 239 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2010

I last stayed at the Courtyard about 2 years ago and thought at that time that this was a pretty good value. I just stayed here last week and was unpleasantly surprised by the number of changes -- obvious cost-cutting moves.

1) no longer offering a free shuttle: you have to take a 25 euro taxi ride to get to the hotel from the FRA airport

2) no longer offering free internet in rooms: I can't recall if this place had free internet like they offer in most Courtyards in the US, but this place now wants to sock you with an room internet charge

3) no longer offering free coffee/tea in the lobby

However, that being said, I found the staff to be friendly and efficient, the rooms to be top notch Marriott quality, and the stay to be quiet and generally good. The rate I got was exceptionally low for most hotels in the Frankfurt area so even with these unpleasant changes, for the right rate, I'd still consider it.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ECL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairbanks, Alaska
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2010

This hotel is in the middle of a residential area. We could not figure out why it was built there? There are no restaurants nearby, nothing to do. It does have a nice view of the downtown, very far away. About a 25 euro taxi fare from the airport and from the train station.
The hotel really needs refurbishing! I can't believe that Marriott lets it remain like this. The carpet was worn and dirty, the furniture was very beat up, beds felt broken down.
The restaurant was OK, but the furniture didn't match, the glasses on the table didn't even match. But I did have a good burger and beer.
The service in the restaurant and at the hotel was excellent.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ziggy1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Level Contributor
61 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2010

Courtyard Frankfurt Messe is close to fair in Frankfurt as well as close to the highways. However the location is a bit handicaped as without a private car or taxi, you can not do much.

Car parking is on the street free of charge, hotels own area-chargable- is also open withour security. There is no security concern around the are.

The hotel personal is quite friendly and welcoming but beside enterence area of the hotel. It is quite old and needs urgent renovation. elevators a bit slow than usual and in rush hours in the morning a bit annoying.

Swimming pool is useless as it is only 130cm deep and roughly 500 to 500cm similar to GYM quite a few options and not a nice environment.

Room size is acceptable, though the beds are softer than usuall. room also gives old feeling.

For at around 100€ range you can easily find a better value hotel such I did earlier.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pegasustr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
India
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2010

I been traveling to Poland couple of times from India and usually during my return trip I halt in Frankfurt for the night for a good rest before boarding the long flight back to India.

The hotel is close to the airport and i found it convenient. Last year the hotel had provided a airport drop facility but the service has since been withdrawn. However its easy to get a cab in the morning.

You have a choice of rooms here for a price. I did not spend much as i stayed for one night every trip. The bed occupied most of the room but there was still some room for a table and sofa. I did stay in a larger room in my last trip which has 2 separate beds goods for a small family. Some rooms offer a good view of the city. The heating in the hotel was pretty good during winter. The room has an AC that's useful, as Frankfurt was hot last summer. Fro entertainment you have pay and watch movies. Else, you could always go into the city. Bed was comfortable with big size pillows. The toilet was small but functional. The wardrobe is big enough for a small family.

The lobby has a small shop with some eatables, water and toiletries. The hotel has a bar and restaurant. The menu does not offer much but the food is really good. Breakfast is a pretty good spread and is vegetarian friendly.

Hotel provides other recreations facilities which i didn't get to use. Maybe next time i am on a leisure trip...Overall a comfortable stay.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KRAMAN63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Frankfurt hotels
Bahnhofsviertel
Ramada Frankfurt City Centre and Financial District
Niederrad
Sheraton Frankfurt Congress Hotel
DORMERO Hotel Frankfurt
#60 of 268 in Frankfurt
4.0 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sachsenhausen-Süd
Leonardo Royal Hotel Frankfurt
Bristol Hotel Frankfurt
#44 of 268 in Frankfurt
4.0 of 5 bubbles 755 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to H4 Hotel Frankfurt-Messe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about H4 Hotel Frankfurt-Messe

Property: H4 Hotel Frankfurt-Messe
Address: Oeserstr. 180, 65933 Frankfurt, Hesse, Germany (Formerly Ramada Frankfurt Messe)
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Hesse > Frankfurt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#46 Luxury Hotel in Frankfurt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — H4 Hotel Frankfurt-Messe 4*
Number of rooms: 236
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is in a peaceful location in the middle of a wooded area. Due to the convenient location and direct motorway connection, the airport, the Frankfurt city centre, as well as the nearby cities of Niederrad and Eschborn are within easy reach.The Frankfurt Exhibition Centre is at a distance of only 2 km. The railway station is only 6 km away, and the next bus stop is at a mere 200-metre distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, Hotel.de, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your H4 Hotel Frankfurt-Messe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Frankfurt Messe
Frankfurt Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing