We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, modern hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Hamburger Hof
Ranked #7 of 269 Hotels in Frankfurt
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 2, 2013

The hotel is handily located right next to the train station which makes it the ideal location for visiting all the main tourist spots in the city. We had a room overlooking the station (and the police station) which meant it was a little noisy at night, especially if the sirens started going off, but not unbearable.

The rooms are clean and modern with good storage space, staff were very helpful, breakfast was decent, and in general it was great value for money.

Only negative points are no free wifi (although there is a computer in reception), and we felt like there was a lot of noise coming from other rooms. This is partly due to the tiled floors meaning everything felt very loud (chairs scraping across the floor, suitcases being wheeled etc), and is partly because we had a room with an adjoining door and whenever people next door did anything it felt like they were right there in the room with us.

Overall though I enjoyed my stay at the hotel and would stay again if I was visiting the city.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lynney85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (783)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

330 - 336 of 783 reviews

Reviewed October 1, 2013

This is a review of two halves. I stayed at the Hamburger Hof when I arrived in Germany and it was excellent in every way (except that for a hotel on six floors a single lift was inadequate specially at breakfast time). I had a large and well appointed room with a safe that was free. I assume there was wifi but that doesn't affect me. The reception staff were charming and very helpful. Breakfast was a splendid buffet with very good service. My only criticism - the hot dishes weren't hot except, perhaps, if you were a very early riser. But the choice of cold dishes more than made up for it. It's location close to the train station was perfect for me as I used Frankfurt as my base for making excursions to nearby places by train. One of these journeys lasted several days and when I returned to the Hamburger Hof at the end of my holiday I was given the kind of room a solo traveller dreads. It was well appointed but very small and it was more expensive than the double room for single occupation I was given when I first arrived. This was due to the opening of a major trade fair which affects the availability and price of accommodation in the city.

Room Tip: Frankfurt is famous for Trade Fairs. If you aren't actually attending one of these then avoid pe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Malbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2013

This hotel was clean, and freshly decorated. The service was extremely helpful, even packed breakfasts for us since we were leaving before the free breakfast was served. While general area is very spotty - some streets nice, some really not - I would stay there again for great access to the train station. Easy train shuttle to and from airport is quick and inexpensive. Our bathrooms were surprisingly large for a European hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013

We reachxpress [Switzerland] we were in no mood to go to Geneva/ Interlaken etc. and spent d 2 days in n around Frankfurt. The auto show was on and a lady in the DB information counter asked us to go to their affiliated Inter City Hotel that was next to the main station [the exit gate towards 22 no. platform]. We asked for a double room and in 150 euros they said they can accomodate but when we went to d 'room' we realised it's like a small single bed kept under a staircase sort of sloping structure and not a proper room!! Immediately I went down and expressed our inability to stay in that claustrophobic space. After a strong protest, they 'unlocked' the credit card and we checked in to this hotel which is next-door. Sandra the english-speaking receptionist here was so good and she showed us the nice room [120 euros] & also guided us where all to go etc. Free 24 hrs. access to wi-fi in the lobby & english newspaper AND a hearty breakfast next morning! Very good experience. Room rates are down in the week-ends. Location is excellent. Staff are helpful.

Room Tip: we were in the roadside room but with AC on and the soundproof windows no noise filtered in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sangeetamidnapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013

The location is perfect only a few hundred meters from the central train station and so also close to the S-bahn that takes you to the Airport. Also only a few blocks from the Frankfurt Messe, you can walk there in 15-20 minutes.
There is a bright clean lobby with a few seats. Our room was a junior suite. The design modern, bright and chique. It was quiet we Heard no noise from traffic or neighbours. It had a living room area with chair, sofa and television separate from the bedroom. A coffee making machine where you also can make tea. Air conditioning worked well. A safety deposit box in the room free of charge. Another television in bedroom. They had many channels but only a couple in english. Bathroom had a bathtub with a shower and was extremely clean, almost looked new. Breakfast was a buffet with a very good variety of things. Scrambled eggs, hot sausages bacon. Bread in different forms with cheese ham and other things. Yoghurt muesli and fruit sallad. Coffee is served at the table and was quickly and often refilled to our delight. The staff overall very friendly and helpful. It was an extraordinary stay for a smaller hotel of this size. One can really feel that there is a good atmosphere here. The only big drawback and the reason for the 4 grading is the wifi. Its available but not for free. This I think is not what one expects from a modern hotel like this. However I do really recommend this hotel if you want to visit Frankfurt and arrive by air or train. Its also fully possible to walk the 20 minutes to city center shopping or if you like take the S-bahn or U-bahn that stops at central station.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Swedish_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013

The rooms are small by American standards, but they are a real value. If you are looking for an affordable place to stay in the city center this is a great option. The rooms are clean and contemporary, the bathroom was very clean and new. walking distance to many attractions in the city center.

Room Tip: ask for a room on the back of the hotel if you want a quiet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NYCguyUES
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

I have stayed here a few times before and love the location, just next to Bahnhof. It´s ideally located to nearly everything, the fair halls, concert arenas etc.
Small rooms, but clean and modern.
Service is very good and friendly. Breakfast was okay too.
They apparantly have free wi-fi but I was unable to connect to it.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jostein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Frankfurt hotels
Innenstadt
Hotel Concorde
Hotel Concorde
#13 of 269 in Frankfurt
815 reviews
Innenstadt
Manhattan Hotel
Manhattan Hotel
#17 of 269 in Frankfurt
785 reviews
Innenstadt
Capri by Fraser Frankfurt
Capri by Fraser Frankfurt
#4 of 269 in Frankfurt
386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Innenstadt
NH Frankfurt Messe
NH Frankfurt Messe
#9 of 269 in Frankfurt
759 reviews
Altstadt
Steigenberger Frankfurter Hof
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Hamburger Hof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hamburger Hof

Address: Poststr. 10-12, 60329 Frankfurt, Hesse, Germany
Location: Germany > Hesse > Frankfurt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Frankfurt
#10 Romantic Hotel in Frankfurt
#16 Business Hotel in Frankfurt
#24 Best Value Hotel in Frankfurt
Price Range: $108 - $352 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Hamburger Hof 3.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Hamburger Hof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hamburger Hof Frankfurt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing