We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very convenient hotel in a safe neighbourhood”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Miramar Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Miramar Hotel
Ranked #70 of 268 Hotels in Frankfurt
Dublin
Level Contributor
128 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Very convenient hotel in a safe neighbourhood”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2011

The rooms in this hotel are really very small, but are quite well designed, and everything is in good working order. It's a good place for the solo traveller as previous reviewers have noted. The neighbourhood is great and it is very convenient for the train to the airport - get out at Hauptwache station and ask directions to Berliner Strasse. It could not be better situated for the Christmas markets, just one minute away by foot. Very clean hotel and staff are very friendly.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DublinFlyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    123
    49
    12
    4
See reviews for
31
84
27
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
55 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2011

first off, this place smelled. quite strongly. but really, how is this place four stars? maybe the location is great (well, it is) but I don't think a thing has been done to this hotel since the day it was built back in the 60's. the first impression is set in the lobby which is small and dated. they've hung some new lighting above the counter, but it pretty much stops there. even the convoluted door key card seems dated (it resembles a computer punch card from the 50's, and operates about as smoothly). the room was about the same - the furniture and bedding both looked quite dated. on the good side, the bathroom was clean, and the breakfast was quite nice with a good selection of food that was fresh and good quality. I don't like to be down on a place, but when some expectation is set (like four stars) and it so clearly misses the mark, it needs to be noted.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Supermensch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto, Portugal
Level Contributor
96 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2011

Althought not a luxury hotel it's value for money. Excelent location right in the center of Frankfurt.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank msmtrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2011

Stayed two nights, Great location handy to train stop (Hauptwache) from airport. Close to Zeil Shopping Street. Clean rooms and pleasant staff. Breakfast included.

Room Tip: Can be noisy facing main road, but draw curtains and seemed to be fine. Train from airport comes to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ivy075
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2011

I also experienced the same problem in that the room smellt really bad and was facing the main road so it wasn't really an option to keep the window open overnight. I expected more from the breakfast which although had variety, wasn't anything special.

On the plus side the staff were friendly and the location was good.

Overall I wouldn't rush back to this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StrachanScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2011

Stayed here for 2 nights - as soon as we got in we complained, the carpet stank of bad sweaty cheesey feet, very unpleasant. The receptionist knew what we were going to say before we said it, they have had this complaint many times before. They shampoo-ed the carpet, but it was no better, no change of room was not offered. It's a real shame, this is a nice enough hotel, excellent location, breakfast OK (lots of choice if a little cheap), room comfortable... except for the stench. We will be going to Frankfurt frequently over the next few years, and would love to stay here again but we're not going to play Room-odour Russian Roulette - we'll go elsewhere.

Room Tip: Don't stay in room 418 - it stinks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TnN2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valparaiso, Indiana
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2011

I was in Frankfurt for one night on my way to Budapest. The location can't be beat. it's a few short steps from many lovely streets and shops. The room was very small...but very clean. Bed was very comfortable. Bathroom was so clean. AND the staff was very friendly and called my cab for me to the airport the next day. As a solo lady traveling, I felt very safe in this neighborhood and hotel.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ImaTurtlelover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Frankfurt hotels
Altstadt
Hotel Neue Kraeme
Hotel Neue Kraeme
#119 of 268 in Frankfurt
4.0 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
Altstadt
Das Spenerhaus
Das Spenerhaus
#88 of 268 in Frankfurt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
Innenstadt
Hotel Zentrum
Hotel Zentrum
#152 of 268 in Frankfurt
3.5 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Innenstadt
Favored Hotel Scala
Favored Hotel Scala
#105 of 268 in Frankfurt
3.5 of 5 bubbles 304 reviews
Altstadt
Hotel am Dom
Hotel am Dom
#184 of 268 in Frankfurt
3.5 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
Innenstadt
NH Collection Frankfurt City
NH Collection Frankfurt City
#6 of 268 in Frankfurt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Miramar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Miramar Hotel

Property: Miramar Hotel
Address: Berliner Strasse 31, 60311 Frankfurt, Hesse, Germany
Location: Germany > Hesse > Frankfurt > Altstadt , Innenstadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 268 Hotels in Frankfurt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Miramar Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Miramar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Miramar Hotel Frankfurt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing