We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Alexander am Zoo
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Admiral Hotel(Frankfurt)
View Hotel
  • Free Internet
Am Zoo Hotel(Frankfurt)
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Hotel Jaguar(Frankfurt)
View Hotel
Arena am Zoo(Frankfurt)
View Hotel
INNSIDE by Melia Frankfurt Ostend(Frankfurt)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness center
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness center
Hotel Zeil(Frankfurt)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (298)
Filter reviews
298 results
Traveler rating
103
150
35
8
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
103
150
35
8
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsberger strassefrankfurt zooquiet areahotel is locatedbreakfast room isfrankfurt cardyogurtclose to public transporttwo blockstea and coffee making facilitiesbreakfast was includedthe wi fifine hotelnice breakfastwould highly recommend this hotelrooms are bigbed was comfortable
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
90 - 95 of 298 reviews
Reviewed July 22, 2013

The hotel is located about 2 km east of the city center on a quiet side street, but the metro station is just 200 m away. The room and bathroom were clean and spacious enough, and the breakfast buffet was good.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kontrolletti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

As a four star property,this never gets going.as a three star ,its very good.
Breakfast excellent but really a buffet with some average hot eggs and the like.cold breakfast good.
Rooms ok but tv poor ,no pay tv and very little if you are not German .beds need to be replaced as to sleep on two singles pushed together is really not on any longer .
Location is ok as zoo nearby,and is only a few kms from central frankfurt.
No bar or any niceties available .

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JohannesburgALAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2013 via mobile

Stayed in room for 2 in May. Room large and comfy with minibar and iron on request.
Breakfast vast and tasty and staff friendly enough. No bar or dinner options .
Metro station a few minutes away and great restaurants within 10 min or so walk
Hotel out of main city but not an issue and very good supermarket just round corner.
Terrible wifi on the 4th floor. Told it was just us but this not the case I have since learned. Wifi is cheap but a major issue if you really need it as we did.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Aussiesisters2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013

We stayed at this hotel on a visit to Frankfurt late May/ early June. The hotel is well placed, in a quiet side street, with easy access to tram and underground ... although it's just a steady 15- 20 minutes walk to the river Maine, shops, cathedral and Roma. The rooms are attractive, spacious (for a small hotel) and have comfortable beds. Bed linen, towels, curtains etc are of good quality as is the decor. Breakfast is good, though a touch expensive at 14 euro pp, with a selection of cereals, croissants, jams, fruit, yogurt, cold meats, cheeses etc. The coffee machine grinds fresh beans to make several blends of black or milky coffee ... or you can be served coffee at the table. There are no evening meal facilities but there are numerous restaurants within easy walking distance ... Italian, Indian, Chinese, Turkish etc, etc. TV reception is OK and there are English, French, Spanish channels as well as German.

However, we found several annoying niggles during our 6 night stay which could easily be put right. The WiFi leaves a lot to be desired. Poor or no signal even on the first floor interrupts even basic surfing, accessing emails etc. It costs 5 euro per night but is free if you have booked through the hotel's own website. But beware!! Shop around for a deal through agencies first. 10 to 20% discount on the basic room rate is often to be found if you're prepared to shop around.

The room has tea/ coffee making facilities which is OK if you like unsweetened black coffee. Only one teabag and sufficient whitener and sugar for one cup is provided per day, and even just a thin plastic stirrer instead of a teaspoon. In a 4 star hotel this just has to be tight-fisted budgeting by management. Annoying also was the mini sized kettle which had no on/off switch. To stop it boiling away you have to unplug, which surely is a safety issue.

There is no bar. Either visit a cafe or pay the exorbitant mini-bar prices.

Also, in the bathroom, just a hairdryer. Bulk soap dispensers for handbasin and shower are annoying in this standard of hotel and smacks of cost-cutting. No shoe-shine, comb, or other 4 star extras are supplied.

Would we return? Yes. Staff are ultra polite at all hours. Always, without exception, 'Guten Tag', 'Hallo' and smile makes a stay extra special. But next time we'll take our own teabags, sugar and powdered milk.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank grumpyg49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ffm341, General Manager at Hotel Alexander am Zoo, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2013

Dear grumpyg49,

thank you very much for your vivid report and compliments about your stay at the Alexander am Zoo, we are grateful to hear about things we can do better.
Additional guest items, as listed on the bathroom door, are always available at reception. Regarding the kettle it seems we have to check them since they normally do auto shut-off as a security feature. And there will be no need to bring teabags or sugar along - those supplies have already been restocked :-)
Thank you again for this detailed report and we do look forward to welcome you again at the Alexander am Zoo.

Best regards
Michelle Jandel-Mouqué, Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2013

My friend and I stayed here for two nights before and after our motorcycle trip in the Alps last summer. The hotel is located in a quiet residential area which is not too far from restaurants and public transportation. The rooms are fairly big, the twin cots are comfortable to sleep on and the service is pretty good. It's a shame we couldn't spend more time here. I, personally, loved the breakfast spread here and wouldn't think twice to stay here again or recommend to fellow travelers looking for a mid-range accommodation in Frankfurt.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank the-motographer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews