We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good choice for a stopover”
Review of Hotel Excelsior

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Excelsior
Ranked #51 of 269 Hotels in Frankfurt
Level Contributor
384 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 332 helpful votes
“Good choice for a stopover”
Reviewed October 20, 2013

The Excelsior is right next to Frankfurt Hbf, so is convenient if you have to stay overnight between trains on your way through Germany. Come out of the station on the south side (turn right coming off the platforms), cross the road and you're there. For a short stay I thought it was absolutely fine, and excellent value for money.

My room wasn't very luxurious, but was comfortable and clean. Free minibar, including water, cola and beer, and the wifi worked well. The breakfast (included in the room rate) was surprisingly good, a huge selection and a nice big dining room so no problem getting a table.

The only drawback is that the area round the Hauptbahnhof is not the nicest part of the city, and can feel a bit seedy in the evening - there are quite a lot of people sleeping rough. Plenty of fast-food outlets but couldn't find anywhere for a proper sit-down dinner. So I took the S-bahn two stops along to Hauptwache in the city centre, and there are plenty of good places to eat there. Or (as I found the next day) you could go to the old town square near the Dom for an even better choice.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dohfar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,462 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    298
    718
    311
    90
    45
See reviews for
272
382
252
316
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2013

Just across the street from the main train station. Decided to stay there again at the end of our trip as it was so easy to get to the airport because of the location. Lots of shopping and good restaurants nearby and within walking distance to the old city. Room was clean and spacious but the shower stall was quite small. We had problem with the WI-Fi during our first stay and was fine during the second visit. Good breakfast and free mini bar. Free coffee, cakes and fruit in the lobby during the day.friendly staff.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Calgarytripper11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 15, 2013

1. Convenient location - a zebra-crossing distance only from the right gate of the train station.
2. Clean room - A double non-smoking room was booked, it's absolutely clean and spacious, looks like nearly decorated, but unfortunately, it looks old-fashioned.
3. Free drinks in the room - All drinks in the room fridge are FREE of charge. Drinks include bottle of water, orange juice and beers. And they are refillable after a day.
4. Amazing breakfast - The breakfast is really excellent with the price. Large variety of food and very good services. Food includes smoked salmon, different kinds of hams, German sausages, soup noodles, rice with vegetable sauce, miso soup, large variety of breads, cornflakes, yogurts and teabags. The breakfast was really too stunned.
5. Snack bar in the lobby - There is a snack bar in the lobby all times which provides FREE cakes, teabags, water and fruits.
6. Luggage room - Luggage room in the lower floor with lock door in which the hotel does not take any responsibility of the luggage.
Overall, this hotel is excellent and be strongly recommended!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Countryan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bremen, Germany
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013

I am astonished by the good reviews the Excelsior constantly gets. I stayed there in Summer 2013 and it was one of the worst stays at a Frankfurt hotel. I stayed on an average Frankfurt summer day in a single room without a/c and the room was so hot I had to spend the whole evening outside to find myself sleeping for two hours in the end. Opening the window did not help and I refrained from doing so even more when I noticed all the bugs on the outer wall next to the window (By the way, I also came across bugs when using the staircase instead of the lift). I heard they have some rooms with a/c as well, but apparently this costs extra although I paid a relatively high price compared to other hotels in the area. Of which another, the Topas in Ludwigstrasse, simply provided a fan while the Bristol, also around Central Station, provided water for free.
They even managed to heat up the breakfast room to approx. 40°C in the morning. Although the variety is larger than the usual white roll - white cheese - thin coffee - formula, the overall quality is rather poor. The same goes for the free coffee and cake in the entrance hall, which is the cheapest readymade discount supermarket stuff. The message is clear: the hotel does not want to spend any extra Euro or extra work to make their guests feel comfortable. Compared to e.g. American standards, this is a sad joke.
And non-smokers beware: I had to change the room twice because the rooms smelled too much. People at Excelsior smoke in non-smoking rooms and the hotel does not care.

Room Tip: Take the Bristol on the other side of the station, or the Colour Hotel on Baseler Str. Save the mone...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alexander M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2013

location, location, location very central, across the road from the main train station.easy walking distance to main attractions
Very good breakfast,served from 5am till 11am lots of choice.
Tea, coffee ,water, cake served in the lobby throughout the day. wifi very good in room.bus available to and from Frankfurt hahn airport 2mins walk from the hotel.
Free mini bar in room which was re-stocked every day.
Great value for money.
Would definately return

Room Tip: The room was adequate for two people, beds were comfortable,we had a small balcony.We were at the fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
37 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2013

Just a three-minute walk from the train or the Haubahnhof. Friendly and efficient reception staff - check-in within three minutes and check-out, 30 seconds. Old building with dated decoration but facilities wise you could find all you need and in working condition. Good wifi in room and a big business centre with six desktops, printer and lan cables for connection of notebooks. Almost everything is included in the price - sumptuous breakfast between 0500 and 1100 hrs; fruits cakes, tea and coffee between 1100 and 1900 hrs; and everything in the mini-bar. I would have rated it excellent had the worn out bed in my single room been replaced. I ended up sleeping on the floor on my third night as the centre of the bed was simply too soft to hold my moderate weight of 68 kg.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DonnyHongKong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

right next to the Frankfurt main training station. Although the facilities are bit old but good quality for the money.
you cpuld easily walk to tourist attractions in short time.
the free minibar in the room and afternoon snack in the lobby are a plus

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank wingtfau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Frankfurt hotels
Innenstadt
Hotel Monopol
Hotel Monopol
#54 of 269 in Frankfurt
4.0 of 5 bubbles 556 reviews
Innenstadt
Hotel Concorde
Hotel Concorde
#11 of 269 in Frankfurt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 758 reviews
Innenstadt
Hotel Europa Life
Hotel Europa Life
#27 of 269 in Frankfurt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Innenstadt
Manhattan Hotel
Manhattan Hotel
#15 of 269 in Frankfurt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 659 reviews
Innenstadt
Ibis Frankfurt Centrum
Ibis Frankfurt Centrum
#42 of 269 in Frankfurt
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,828 reviews
Hotel Hamburger Hof
#17 of 269 in Frankfurt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Excelsior? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Excelsior

Property: Hotel Excelsior
Address: Mannheimer Str. 7 - 9, 60329 Frankfurt, Hesse, Germany
Location: Germany > Hesse > Frankfurt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Frankfurt
#28 Family Hotel in Frankfurt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Excelsior 3*
Number of rooms: 195
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Excelsior reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Excelsior Hotel Frankfurt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing