We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The art of Noise”
Review of Hotel Excelsior

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Excelsior
Ranked #68 of 270 Hotels in Frankfurt
Reviewed April 28, 2013

My advice: take a room at the back if you wish to stay sane. ordered in advance emphasising the fact that I wish a very quite room. Upon arrival I was give a second floor room facing the street where a tram goes by every 20 seconds. That what I call QUITE.

Lucky for me the staff was great. I asked for my room to be changed to a double at a better location and was given a twin (2 beds...) at the back. Very quite... The room was nothing special to grim looking but the single bed was comfy - and to be honest I slept well. The promised free minibar was just cheap beer, some water and a Pepsi. Do not fantasize on that Champagne just yet.
Breakfast was OK and very limited although the coffee machine worked out well. I don't think I'll recommend it to my friends but you can try for yourself :-)

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back if you want to actually sleep at night... Unless you love tram passing by...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Miguel&Tulio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,562)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

407 - 413 of 1,562 reviews

Reviewed April 24, 2013

After a very tiring journey from INDIA to MOSCOW to FRANKFURT. we had a smooth check in hotel.
Room decor was quite old but adjustable. bed was comfortable.
mini bar was excellent.staff was courteous specially one of the F$B staff from pakistan was very helpful and polite. we were surprised and very happy to see parantha and samosa in the breakfast which is a traditional indian dish,which we missed in the rest of our tour, the other european dishes were also great.
location was excellent close to the station and market.
the lift wasn't up to the mark.
we will surely like to visit again.
best wishes
AVINESH.

Room Tip: take rooms on 1st floor due to lift issue.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AVEENESH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2013

Nice hotel very close to the station. Decor a little old but clean and tidy. Good sized room and great mattresses and pillows. Wonderful full breakfast included. Free minibar which is nice ( beer, juice, soft drinks, water). Our bar fridge wasn't working but staff attended to the problem straight away. Not recommended for people with knee problems as the bath is very high to step in and out of for a shower. Also if you are a large person fitting in the bathroom may be an issue.

Only criticism was that they wanted 40€ for early check in. Crazy considering the room itself wasn't a lot more than that. We were told checking was 11am. Next day someone was told it was 12.

Room Tip: Get a room at the back. Front rooms a bit noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank catalyst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2013

Had a great night at the Excelsior. Staff was great. We asked for our room to be changed to a twin and with a window view. We were accommodaed immediately. Breakfast was incredible for a european continental breakfast. They had meat, cheese, cereal, stuffed bakes, several juices and coffees, various fruits, etc. Enough to fill anyone up. Hotel is right across the train station which is perfect. Taxis are right outside the door. The room was comfortable but we had problems with the outside door coming off. The bathtub is a little high and got a little slippery. Fridge had water, juice and beer available at no cost. Elevator was small and slow, but wider then most in Italy. The light snow was a plus being from South Texas. Would stay again for comfort, train station and breakfast. * Good value

Room Tip: Rooms by the train station have a good view. It was not noisy at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ezsfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2013

We stay here overnight and it is in a great location for the train station. We arrived very early after a 28 hour flight our room wasn't ready as we expected . They told us it would be ready in 2 hours. So we wondered around and went back the man at the desk told us it would still be another few hours. Then luckily for us a female staff member came in and she up graded us to a suite. We were very grateful for this as we were in need of a shower. The room was nice the breakfast good. Great for a quick stop over.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tarasmithNewcastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

We are currently staying at this hotel and find the rooms to be comfortable and warm. The bathrooms have had a tidy up and are on the small side,but still pratical.
The beds are very good and the rooms come with free mini bar and free wifi,a must for me.I would ask for a rear room on booking as the road noise in the front rooms can be a bit loud.The breakfast is included in our price and is very good and plenty to choose from,also tea and coffee available all day.
The walk from the main station is mear 60metres. All in all a very tidy hotel to stay in

Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Ian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2013

I say 2 stars and rounded up for WIFI and food. First of all: LOCATION. If yo are tired and coming off a train or needed a rest stop before flying out of Frankfurt this is your place! Cheap internet rates if you book in advance.

BE WARNED: the rooms are old and dingy. There were several large stains on the carpet. My floor also reeked of cigarette smoke although it was a non smoking hotel. I asked the front desk to spray something in the hallway but they didn't care. I assume they get the smoke complaints a lot. I almost feel like it is an unsaid OK to smoke in the rooms since my floor (7th) absolutely reeked of smoke.

PLUSES: free tea, coffee, water, loaf cakes in lobby all day. FREE WIFI that works. Large buffet breakfast. Location! Free mini bar with beer!

CONS: Slow, old elevator. It is also very narrow in case you have large luggage. Overpowering smoke smell. Flat pillows. Indifferent staff. Ask you for passport info upon check in.

The pluses may outweight the cons depending on what you need!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank la310la
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Frankfurt hotels
Innenstadt
Hotel Monopol
Hotel Monopol
#54 of 270 in Frankfurt
602 reviews
Innenstadt
Hotel Europa Life
Hotel Europa Life
#31 of 270 in Frankfurt
287 reviews
Innenstadt
Ibis Frankfurt Centrum
Ibis Frankfurt Centrum
#47 of 270 in Frankfurt
1,934 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bristol Hotel Frankfurt
#56 of 270 in Frankfurt
809 reviews
Innenstadt
Novum Hotel Continental Frankfurt
Innenstadt
Hotel Concorde
Hotel Concorde
#8 of 270 in Frankfurt
806 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Excelsior? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Excelsior

Address: Mannheimer Str. 7 - 9, 60329 Frankfurt, Hesse, Germany
Location: Germany > Hesse > Frankfurt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#21 Best Value Hotel in Frankfurt
Price Range: $66 - $289 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Excelsior 3*
Number of rooms: 195
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Excelsior reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Excelsior Hotel Frankfurt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing