We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location!”
Review of Hotel Excelsior

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Excelsior
Ranked #59 of 269 Hotels in Frankfurt
Dublin, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent location!”
Reviewed March 2, 2013

We stayed here for a weekend while visiting the Christmas market in November. The location is excellent - right beside the main train station and within walking distance of the main shopping areas ansd the Christmas market. Also across the road from a great Irish Bar! The breakfast is really good and there is plenty of variety - something to suit everyone. The rooms are not luxurious but have everything you need and are very comfortable. The staff were very friendly and helpful. I left a set of keys in the drawer in my room and they were so kind as to post them after I had left and didn't charge me. Overall we were very happy and would definitely recommend this hotel for a weekend stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MAGDublin2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,498 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    301
    732
    321
    97
    47
See reviews for
282
391
256
325
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
West Vancouver, BC
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2013

If you are expecting The Ritz, this is not the place for you. If you are looking for a moderately priced, convenient hotel with excellent facilities, this is the only place to be. Usually we just fly through Frankfurt but this time we decided to take a stop over. The location of this hotel is excellent as it is directly opposite the main train station and is only a 15 min walk into the city centre. We arrived early after a long flight from Bangalore and the staff went out of their way to have a room ready for us immediately. Yes, it is true the rooms are small and so are the bathrooms, but so what - how much space do you need? The hotel offers an excellent buffet breakfast, free wifi, a free mini bar and coffee, tea and cake are available in the lobby all day. We will definitely be recommending this hotel to our family and friends. We are a couple of friends in our late 60's and mid 70's and have travelled a lot, so know our hotels. This was a hit with us.

Room Tip: We asked for a quiet room, which we got. Noise was never a problem. As I have a mild handicap we req...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HitTheRoadJack44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013 via mobile

Located few steps from the main railway station, large varieties of restaurants located near the hotel, the shopping areas 10-15 minutes walking from the hotel, the breakfast buffet is excellent also there's 24 hours refreshments (coffee, tea, bakeries & soft drinks) in the main lobby. The Rooms are spacious but little bit old and the bathroom needs some renovation.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mushreq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013

The Excelsior is very conveniently situated right opposite the train station. It is a reasonable walk to the old town but there are buses and trams right outside. Our room was small with little space on either side of the bed although the bathroom was a good size. It was quiet and comfortable and the mini-bar was free. The hotel is a little worn but the service was good and breakfast was very generous. The hotel seems to be making an effort to provide value by also offering a free ironing service. In all it was reasonable value and we would probably stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank twotuns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Best, Noord-Brabant, Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2013

It is a transfer short stay hotel. Lots of transfer travelers from the Far East. Staff is friendly. Breakfast buffet is good. Clean rooms, out dated decoration. Only one elevator, the other was out of order all 3 days I was there. So long rows and a full elevator! People taken showers (running water) woke me up every morning at 04h00. That made it a noisy hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Corien D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malta
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2013 via mobile

This is a very good hotel... But be warned.. Its a three star hotel, unlike the five star excelsior we're used to! All drinks in the room minibar are free, so that's a huge asset! Furthermore, its extremely central! Breakfast was superb and staff are really friendly. Rooms are extremely clean. Will definitely return to his hotel if I go back to Frankfurt!

Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob07095
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barletta, Italy
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2013

I liked everything about this hotel! Excellent location: near to the station and the city center. Well connected with the airport. Wi-fi works everywhere in the hotel. Mini bar is completely free! Breakfast is good and varied. There's a free buffet with fruits, pastries, tea and coffee all day!There's also a car park and the rooms are spacious and clean. Definitely to recommend!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank souldark6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Frankfurt hotels
Innenstadt
Hotel Monopol
Hotel Monopol
#56 of 269 in Frankfurt
571 reviews
Innenstadt
Hotel Europa Life
Hotel Europa Life
#33 of 269 in Frankfurt
250 reviews
Innenstadt
Manhattan Hotel
Manhattan Hotel
#16 of 269 in Frankfurt
682 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Innenstadt
Ibis Frankfurt Centrum
Ibis Frankfurt Centrum
#47 of 269 in Frankfurt
1,861 reviews
Innenstadt
Hotel Concorde
Hotel Concorde
#9 of 269 in Frankfurt
774 reviews
Hotel Hamburger Hof
#13 of 269 in Frankfurt
715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Excelsior? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Excelsior

Property: Hotel Excelsior
Address: Mannheimer Str. 7 - 9, 60329 Frankfurt, Hesse, Germany
Location: Germany > Hesse > Frankfurt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#17 Best Value Hotel in Frankfurt
#28 Family Hotel in Frankfurt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Excelsior 3*
Number of rooms: 195
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Excelsior reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Excelsior Hotel Frankfurt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing