We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location ~ great breakfast”
Review of Hotel Excelsior

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Excelsior
Ranked #62 of 271 Hotels in Frankfurt
Reviewed January 8, 2013 via mobile

Arrived as a stopover, and was surprised how conveniently situated the hotel was from the hauptbahnhof. When we arrived our room wasn‘t ready so we got upgraded to a suite. Mini bar was well stockd ~ and FREE!! Breakfast was good, which set us up for the day. Would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JoBrazaitis1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,537)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

421 - 427 of 1,538 reviews

Reviewed January 7, 2013

I was returning to India from Germany after a business trip and had a planned stay at excelsior hotel. I arrived at Frankfurt from Bremen late in the night and checked in at excelsior which was closely located to the hauptbahnhof. I wouldn't say, that it is an excellent one, but definitely suits the needs of people like me who don't spend much time in the hotel. The rooms was rather small for the cost being charged. But yes, the service was good and i also enjoyed the breakfast there which was complimentary. Its close proximity to the dusseldorf street where many Indian restaurants are located was a blessing for me. The service was good except for the lifts that were always engaged.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mohan_Prabhala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Clean, comfortable and serviceable. Great location across the street from the central train station. Comfortable beds, and triple room is truly 3 beds. Mini-bar with sodas and beer is free. Tea, coffee, soft drinks and pastries are available for free in the lobby throughout the day. Good breakfast included in rate. Some traffic noise in our street-facing room, but not distracting. Front desk staff are very helpful, professional and multilingual.

Room Tip: We arrived at 8 AM expecting to check our bags and wander around the city, but they offered the opti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Justine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

The Excelsior is just across the street from the right hand exit of the main railway station so an excellent location.We were only 148 euros for two nights which gave us a double bedroon with breakfast included .There have been reports of outdated decor and poor dirty bathrooms .Our room No 518 was claen and with a newly installed bathroom so no complaints there.
Included in the price was 1) Free wifi internet access 2) an excellent buffet continental breakfst with hot eggs /bacon /sausages if required 3) a free mini bar -yes free which was refilled each day ( beer/coke /juice/mineral water ( no wine but hey the beer was good) 3) free coffe and cake in the reception if you want it -best be quick as it goes fast 4) shirt/trousers iron free .
As you see excellent value.
So any down sides ?
Would be best if you get a room at rear of hotel if traffic noise disturbs you easily
Close to the red light district if you are sensitive to that sort of thing ( we never had any trouble in the area)
You might need an extra pillow as there is only one -ask at reception.

The small negatives are far outstripped by the positives.
With this hotel you get a great deal for your money- but dont expect 5 star

Room Tip: Get one at the rear of the hotel. See it before accepting .Some rooms have refurbished bathrooms an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Skunkydog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2012

We stayed for a trip to the Xmas markets. Easy to find from the main train station. We stayed in room 719 - twin room at rear of hotel, quiet and warm. Excellent choice for breakfast. Easy access to trams and trains for onward travel and around city. Tram five mins to romer for xmas markets and zeil. Really enjoyed our break and it was good value.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Catherineoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2012

Pros:
1. Good rates ( especially if you book in advance)
2. Very near train station. Good for those who are travelling with large pieces of luggage
3. Free mini bar
4. They have triple and quad rooms (proper beds, not rollaways). Perfect for families
5. Fantastic breakfast spread (included in rate)
6. Free hot beverages and cakes in the lobby during the day

Cons.
1. Old and tired rooms. Needs refurbishment
2. Could be a bit noisy due to its proximity to train station.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gail_mal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2012

I had only 1 night and chose it because of it's location to the central train station. It is directly opposite and has sign inside the station pointing to the direction to find it. This meant it took me only 5 minutes to find and walk to it. The room was clean, had free minibar, and was comfortable. It surpassed my expectations. Also an easy to walk to the city centre to do some quick sightseeing. I recommend this hotel if you want a quick stay in Frankfurt. Also the breakfast was good.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jac334
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Frankfurt hotels
Innenstadt
Hotel Monopol
Hotel Monopol
#55 of 271 in Frankfurt
589 reviews
Innenstadt
Hotel Europa Life
Hotel Europa Life
#32 of 271 in Frankfurt
264 reviews
Innenstadt
Ibis Frankfurt Centrum
Ibis Frankfurt Centrum
#45 of 271 in Frankfurt
1,896 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bahnhofsviertel
Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt City Hauptbahnhof
Hotel Hamburger Hof
#9 of 271 in Frankfurt
743 reviews
Innenstadt
Hotel Concorde
Hotel Concorde
#7 of 271 in Frankfurt
792 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Excelsior? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Excelsior

Address: Mannheimer Str. 7 - 9, 60329 Frankfurt, Hesse, Germany
Location: Germany > Hesse > Frankfurt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#28 Family Hotel in Frankfurt
Price Range: $63 - $358 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Excelsior 3*
Number of rooms: 195
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Excelsior reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Excelsior Hotel Frankfurt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing