We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trying hard but some fundamental errors”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Le Meridien Frankfurt
Ranked #43 of 269 Hotels in Frankfurt
London
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Trying hard but some fundamental errors”
Reviewed August 23, 2012 via mobile

Booked the Park Hotel for a 3 night business trip. Check in staff were both friendly and helpful letting me know that I was booked into a room on the business floor (new part of the hotel).

Room was on the 1st floor near conference rooms. Within 5 minutes of walking into my room, reception phoned to ask if everything was ok with my room. At that point I did not really have an opinion of the room but did note that though it was classified as non-smoking, there was a distinct "hanging tobacco" smell in the room. Not enough to complain about but there.

I then proceeded to assess the rest of the room. First impression was that it was small but not ridiculously so. However, the ironing board had been built into a small cupboard that cramped the already narrow entrance even further. Later tht board became a running joke for me as whenever it was extended the passage now being cut off by the board becme my in-room obstacle course.

More concerning, given my room was a "business room" wa the omelette lack of coffee and the making facilities. Completely unacceptable for a business traveller. The desk/dressing table in the room was smll but once gin adequate for ung a small form laptop with an open paper file or 2. Intenet access was provided (both cable and wii) but the price is seriously ridiculous and service could only be booked or a maim of 24 hours. Given the price I was paying fo the room, this chess could be provided free of charge.

The bathroom was again on the small side but still very usable. Less impressive was the the pressure and temperature of the hot water making drawing a hot bath impossible - showers only.

The bed was a standard double, but comfortable and enough pillows were provided to start a pillow fight (provided no one pulled to f bk on the back swing given the size of the room!)

There was a complimentary bottle of mineral water nd a bar fridge with a limited selection of both soft drinks and alcoholic beverages.

The quaility of the Dinner inthe restaurant was pleasantly surprising while most impressive - I ordered beef sirloin that was done exactly to my liking and very tender. However, continuing the trend of trying hard but tripping up, the service in the restaurant was abysmal. I waited for 50 minutes before I finally had to hunt down a waiter (not one had passed my table once the plates for my min course had been cleared) to ask for my bill. During this time I was obviously nt offered any dessert or coffee etc.

Breakfast was buffet and was entirely appropriate with a decent spread of food and lots of staff on duty (surprising compared to dinner).

Location wise, the hotel is just over a block from the railway station and is in a very central location to reach a number of city locations.

Overall experience - forgettable -there was nothing in the hotel that would entice me back on my next trip to Frankfurt, but there were just enough glimpses of effort for me not to run away screaming.





Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank BizHolTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LE_MERIDIEN_FFM, Manager at Le Meridien Frankfurt, responded to this review, August 31, 2012
Dear guest „BizHolTravel“, I highly appreciate the time you took in writing this detailed summary of your stay at Le Méridien Parkhotel Frankfurt. Thank you very much for the effort! Your feedback is very important for us and will help us to improve our service and room equipment. We went through your comments, comunicated the positive ones and do work on your suggestions and defects mentioned. Please do not hesitate to contact me directly for your next booking or for any assistance. Best regards, Wolfgang Selinger – Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

914 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    298
    390
    150
    52
    24
See reviews for
66
142
133
495
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2012

Trying to stay at Starwood property hotels when I can. The Meridien in Frankfurt is well located 5 min walk from the main train station. They have a new wing (have not stayed in the old), and the rooms a fairly well set-up for the single business traveler. Rooms are definitely on the small side, but well equipped with small work desk. Shower in the bathroom has a glass folding door that covers less than half of the side, so prepare for a flooded floor when showering. I made a rookie mistake when going into the hotel restaurant for breakfast (a little jet-lagged), not asking how much breakfast was! So ended up paying 27 euros for coffee and a roll! Worse I did it twice! They ask you to sign in when you go into the restaurant, but neglect to tell you how much it is, or if there are any choices. Lesson learned.
They do have a nice little outside restaurant/beer garden. Very pleasant on a warm August evening.

Room Tip: Probably go with the new wing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pasamike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LE_MERIDIEN_FFM, Manager at Le Meridien Frankfurt, responded to this review, August 31, 2012
Dear guest „mike9852“, thank you very much for your comment on this travellers portal and for your loyality to Starwood Hotels. It is nice to read that the room equipment has met your expectations and was well set up for your business tasks. Thank you as well for your honest feedback regarding the breakfast. Certainly we also serve continental breakfast or A la carte breakfast at our restaurant Le Parc. I am sure that we can truely fulfill your needs when you are staying with us next time. Best regards, Wolfgang Selinger – Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
179 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2012

After a long overnight flight from New York it was an absolute pleasure to arrive and be welcomed by the reception staff at this hotel. They could not do enough for us. It was a contrast from the often disinterested and unhelpful reception we had encountered at our much more expensive hotel in New York. I agree with others that the rooms are small but the hotel is convenient to the old town by a pleasant walk along the river. Breakfast was excellent. I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Henryadams1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LE_MERIDIEN_FFM, Manager at Le Meridien Frankfurt, responded to this review, August 31, 2012
Dear guest „Henryadams1“, thank you very much for giving us an impression how you experienced your stay at Le Méridien Parkhotel Frankfurt. It is great to read that you fully enjoyed your stay with us and that you felt comfortable. We do have rooms in different categories and sizes. We would be more than happy if we may help you finding a room which suits you best. Please do not hesitate to contact our reservations department directly reservations.frankfurt(at)lemeridien.com. We are looking forward welcoming you back in the near future. Best regards, Wolfgang Selinger – Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012 via mobile

Location next to the station Is good and the people are nice. I Booked based on the name of thé chain and the Price. I discovered the rooms are small in the New wing (and even smaller in the old one) and they tried charging me € 35 for my Dog until I protested and they dropped to 20 (the top of the Dog Market) - they have different dog rates depending on how hairy the dog. A nice plus when good weather: a very nice garden with restaurant outside the hôtel

Thé manager went out of his way to explain and compensate, but they charged me at check out for thé room I had already paid at booking - and refunded me immediately when I complained. An acceptable deal overall, but insist on a room in the New wing.

Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Pierre B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LE_MERIDIEN_FFM, Manager at Le Meridien Frankfurt, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
Dear guest “Pierre B”, thank you for sharing your comments on Tripadvisor. Indeed, the location of our hotel is very convenient for travelers. The train station is only a short walk and the city center is reachable very well by feet or by train. It was a pleasure to read the praise for our staff and that you enjoyed our beer garden “Le Jardin”. As well, we are thankful that you contacted us regarding your bill and that we could solve the situation immediately. I am looking forward to welcome you back. Kind regards, Wolfgang Selinger – Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hong kong
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Arrived at Frankfurt by train from Hamburg ( three and half hours ).The hotel is located about 5 minutes walk from Frankfurt train station though it is necessary to cross a few busy roads in the open to get there.

We eventually got to the hotel on foot from Frankfurt train station after asking directions from a pair of giant police officers ( one was a sombre policewoman at least 6 ft. tall packing 9mm heat and dressed in menacing black wearing long leather boots ).

After check-in we were given a room on 1st floor. The room was tiny, two persons in the same room couldn't avoid crashing into each other even if they tried. The lobby is relatively small and there weren't many guests in the hotel at that time. The room rate was around US$170 inclusive of breakfast. We only stayed one night ( which was more than enough ).

We were offered free wifi service for 30 minutes for one phone, but unfortunately our phone couldn't get connected after numerous attempts to log on. The concierge staff tried to get us connected but they gave up after a few minutes. So basically we did not get any wifi service.

The hotel is located on a quiet street opposite a small public ground with plants and trees. We noticed there was some contact noise when the flag poles or the strings tying the flags were blown against the wall by wind. That probably affected the lower floors more that the higher floors as the flag poles only went up a few floors from ground level. When the wind stopped blowing the sound was gone, so one has to hope for the wind to cease to get some peace and quiet.

Breakfast was served in the main dining room on lobby floor. The quality and variety of breakfast was OK.
We tried dinner at the hotel restaurant too, but unfortunately the food served at dinner was unsatisfactory, in particular the meat quality of the beefsteak was poor, and the meat was probably frozen for a long time before being cooked. It was basically a piece of cardboard. The cost of dinner was Euros 80 for 2 persons ( food only, no wine ). The hotel restaurant at dinner time was deserted, with only 4 tables occupied out of maybe 20 tables, people aren't always dumb it seems.

It was bad news outside the hotel, as the neighbourhood shops are mainly of the porno variety which offered xxx films, peep shows etc. and worst still there were a large number of drunks sitting on the street arguing and shouting at any time of the day and night. To be on the safe side it was noticed that most pedestrian walked over to the other side of the road just to avoid being too close to those people ( it then dawned on me why there was a need for those giant cops ).

Another few streets away were tall bank buildings which are as interesting as hearing Christmas songs blurted out by long dead singers ( it is most amazing that songs sung by people who have been dead for 40+ years are still played each year at Christmas in shopping malls and hotels ! is it because no royalties have to be paid ? )

Room Tip: stay on a high floor to avoid / minimise noise of flag poles or strings coming into contact with the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ccaappccoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LE_MERIDIEN_FFM, Manager at Le Meridien Frankfurt, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
Dear guest “ccaappccoo”, I appreciate your time you took in writing your comments onto this platform. Thank you for your detailed feedback regarding the internet; our IT department was able to locate the problem and found a solution. We offer rooms in different categories plus suites in various sizes and I will certainly do my utmost to realize your wishes. Please simply contact me directly for you next booking wolfgang.selinger(at)lemeridien.com. We hope to see you again in Frankfurt. Kind regards, Wolfgang Selinger – Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2012

Our family used Frankfurt as our base for our travels in Germany and Central and Eastern Europe and found the location of this hotel quite convenient. It is not the most pretty location in Frankfurt, but I found the location handy for most of our needs.

On the couple of occasions we stayed at this hotel, as an SPG Plat, we were upgraded. I think we were upgraded to rooms in the older section of the hotel (which appears to have been fully renovated). The rooms were clean with high ceilings, comfortable and very quiet. I have no complaints about the rooms. One room was more a "suite", while the other was a much more open concept "suite". I preferred the latter.

As an SPG Plat, you can select breakfast as your benefit, which was quite good at this hotel. The voucher states "continental breakfast" but the staff simply advised us that we are entitled to the full buffet.

The staff were friendly and helpful. The gym was small with limited equipment, but I never saw another guest using the gym while I was there.

I also found a very nearby coin laundry - which was handy. Simply exit the hotel, turn right and turn right again when you hit the tram lines, walk the first block down past the kebob stores and then turn right again at the first traffic light. Probably a 5 minute walk away. Very handy for a month long family trip.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jjkathome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LE_MERIDIEN_FFM, Manager at Le Meridien Frankfurt, responded to this review, August 14, 2012
Dear guest “jjkathome”, I would like to thank you for taking the time writing your positive experience onto this platform. Indeed we are more than happy to offer an upgraded free continental breakfast to all of our most loyal guests as part of the SPG Platinum benefits. The coin laundry you are talking about is called Wash World and is located in Moselstrasse 17. We are looking forward to welcome you again and honor your loyalty to Starwood. Kind regards, Wolfgang Selinger – Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2012

This quite big hotel located in walking distance to the Central train station is under renovation right now. No outside terrasse and indeed no restaurant. Breakfirst and meals are served in an adapted conference room. Nothing serious about this but an information beforehand would be appreciated. Its an old charme hotel means it is aged and all rooms would need a refurnishment as well. Nothing but nothing special about it - I think it is a classical choice during one of the many fairs taking place in Frankfurt were you just nee 'a' room.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Halimbalo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LE_MERIDIEN_FFM, Manager at Le Meridien Frankfurt, responded to this review, August 8, 2012
Dear guest “Halimbalo”, thank you for sharing your feedback on Tripadvisor and taking the time writing your opinion. Our restaurant Le Parc is back open as well as the terrace. We had a renovation going on which unfortunately had to be done with short notice for a couple of days. All rooms within the hotel have been refurbished recently but with a different style and decor. Please do not hesitate to contact us to find the room decor suits you best for your next stay in Frankfurt. Best regards, Wolfgang Selinger - Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Frankfurt hotels
InterContinental Frankfurt
#36 of 269 in Frankfurt
1,632 reviews
Innenstadt
The Westin Grand Frankfurt
The Westin Grand Frankfurt
#34 of 269 in Frankfurt
1,353 reviews
Roomers
#14 of 269 in Frankfurt
912 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Innenstadt
Wyndham Grand Frankfurt
Wyndham Grand Frankfurt
#24 of 269 in Frankfurt
1,360 reviews
Altstadt
Steigenberger Frankfurter Hof
Innenstadt
Hotel Concorde
Hotel Concorde
#8 of 269 in Frankfurt
780 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Meridien Frankfurt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien Frankfurt

Property: Le Meridien Frankfurt
Address: Wiesenhuettenplatz 28-38, 60329 Frankfurt, Hesse, Germany (Formerly Le Meridien Parkhotel Frankfurt)
Location: Germany > Hesse > Frankfurt > Innenstadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#22 Romantic Hotel in Frankfurt
#23 Family Hotel in Frankfurt
#30 Luxury Hotel in Frankfurt
#41 Business Hotel in Frankfurt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Meridien Frankfurt 5*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfect symbiosis between classic grand and trendy lifestyle hotel in the heart of Frankfurt In 2007, all the rooms in the Business Wing, the public areas and hotel restaurant were completely refurbished. The five-star Le Meridien Frankfurt is idyllically located at the so called Wiesenhuttenplatz, right in the middle of the city and only a 15-minute drive away from Frankfurt Airport. Chic modern elegance awaits you in the 220 rooms in the Business Wing. The historical Palais consists of 80 rooms with beautiful vaulted ceilings. Le Parc Restaurant is known for its outstanding local and international cuisine. The Casablanca Bar prides itself on its creative cocktails, nostalgic ambience and live piano music. The hotel has its very own, and most unusual, beer garden on Wiesenhuttenplatz. The Fitness + Sauna area possesses two saunas and state-of-the-art fitness equipment with an integrated entertainment system including iPod-docking station, TV and an internet browser. Furthermore, massages can be booked via our Guest Relations Team. The rooms are non-smoking rooms and smoking is only available at Casablanca Bar as a classic smokers' lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Le Meridien Frankfurt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien Parkhotel Frankfurt Hotel Frankfurt
Meridien Parkhotel Frankfurt
Frankfurt Le Meridien

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing