We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good quality, too expensive”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Maritim Hotel Frankfurt / Main
Ranked #71 of 270 Hotels in Frankfurt
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed June 25, 2013

The conference I attended took place in this hotel, so I decided to pay the premium for easy accommodation.

At regular price the hotel would have been too expensive, since I booked at a good rate, it was ok. However, neither Internet access (over 20 Euro/24h) nor breakfast (28 Euro) was included and both is overpriced significantly.

The hotel is very well located if you have business at the exhibition area. Otherwise it may not make much sense.

The catering at the conference (provided by the hotel) was very good as well as their service. Staff was very friendly and helpful.

I was lucky and got a room towards the back which was very quiet. However, there is one elevator section (with four elevators) only in the middle of the hotel, i.e., I had quite a walk from my room to the elevators (granted, I am a bit picky about that).

The bathroom is rather small. OK, but I am used to more spacious bathrooms in four star hotels.

Room Tip: ask for room away from the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StefanHz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maritimfra, General Manager at Maritim Hotel Frankfurt / Main, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2013

Thank you for your constructive Feedback. We are happy to announce that the internet fee has changed to your convenience and free use for 30 Minutes is available via LAN cable in the guest room. During your next stay if you prefer a room closer to the elevators we should be able to find a suitalbe room for you. Please inform us before arrival. Would like to use an alternative to our rich MARITIM Breakfast buffet please try our Café Rendevouz which offers á la Carte breakfast in various combinations. We are happy to hear you enjoyed our service and food provided during the meeting and are looking forward to welcoming you again soon with our more favorable LAN network costs.
Peter Berhörster, General Manager MARITIM Hotel Frankfurt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (756)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

240 - 246 of 757 reviews

Reviewed June 24, 2013

Nice and clean hotel which is walking distance to underground station Festhalle/ Messe a stop away from Frankfurt main train station. Rooms were abit dated.

Pro:
1. Room size reasonable and clean
2. Nice indoor swimming pool.

Cons :
1. No free wifi ( wifi at Eur15, ridiculous!!)
2. Pillows were very flat and thin
3. Small CRT TV with limited English channels.
4. The towel hooks in toilet were useless, towels slipped off easily, very frustrating.
5. Avoid ordering tap water from Japanese restaurant downstairs. We were charged Eur 2.50 for a small glass of tap water.
6. Long walk to amenities and city centre.
7. Our king bed was made up of 2 single beds joint together with 2 separate single blankets.

Hope that helps.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cara P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maritimfra, Manager at Maritim Hotel Frankfurt / Main, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2013

Thank you for sharing your impressions you have gained during your stay at our hotel. Through your feedback we can secure our quality and improve our services. Please note that we have currently made adjustments concerning the internet costs which is now available at a more attractive rate and offer 30 minutes via LAN in the guest room free of charge. The underground station Festhalle/Messe brings you directly to the Konstabler Wache and the main shopping street Zeil within 5 minutes. Starting from August an new shopping mall in Frankfurt will be opening and is within walking distance of our hotel. We would be happy to welcome you again in the future.
Peter Berhörster, General Manager MARITIM Hotel Frankfurt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2013

I spent several nights at the Maritim to attend an exhibition at the exhibition hall (Messe). For the purposes of attending the trade show, it was a fantastic location. The area mainly contains office buildings so if you are going to Frankfurt as a tourist, it might be better to stay somewhere closer to the older part of town but the tramline runs right out the front of the hotel, so it's not difficult to get to the tourist spots.

The room was spacious, comfortable and clean, although somewhat dated. The staff were helpful at all times, so overall I would recommend this hotel if you need to attend a function at the exhibition centre next door.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anne239
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maritimfra, General Manager at Maritim Hotel Frankfurt / Main, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2013

Thank you for your feedback. We are pleased, that you were able to enjoy the benefits of our direct access to the fair grounds and it would be our pleasure to welcome you again as a guest at the MARITIM Hotel Frankfurt. Peter Berhörster, General Manager MARITIM Hotel Frankfurt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2013

Nice hotel right next to the exhibition centre and the tram line into town. Rooms were spacious with plenty of desk space to work. The room actually had 2 chairs and desk space to accommodate 2 people which was unusual and enabled me to spread out when working. No complimentary wifi but that's normal in Germany (which I think is outrageous!!!). The bed was comfy with decent pillows and there was a clean, well maintained bathroom where everything worked as it should.
Insulation from the road noise outside was very good and the curtains kept the sunlight out very well so all fine there.
The hotel had plenty of elevators which meant you were never kept waiting for long (unlike the Marriott Frankfurt across the road where you can spend ages waiting).
The hotel breakfast was excellent with lots of choice and lots of tables so you can always find space. Beware though, this hotel seemed to be frequented by tourists from the Far East who were always swarming around the breakfast area when it opened at 6.30am so if you're planning for a nice quiet business breakfast at 6.30-7.30am, forget it!!! There was a special area in the breakfast buffet which catered for Far Eastern tastes so that would suggest such tourist activity is a regular.
The hotel also seemed popular with Airline crew (as did the Marriott across the road) so that may hinder check-in and check-out so beware of this too.
We tried their restaurant on the ground floor and found the food to be average and the service to be extremely slow despite the restaurant not being very busy at all. We only ordered soup and salad between us (3 of us) to start and that took best part of an hour to arrive. I would not recommend going there. The sports bar in the Marriott across the road seemed much more efficient.

Room Tip: Outside facing rooms and high up would be recommended for extra light and distance away from the roa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maritimfra, General Manager at Maritim Hotel Frankfurt / Main, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2013

First of all thank you for taking time to frame your honest and constructive feedback. Please be assured that, we take your comments seriously and will use this opportunity to review our services in the relevant areas again. It would be our great pleasure to welcome you again during your next visit to Frankfurt. Peter Berhörster, General Manager MARITIM Hotel Frankfurt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2013

We stayed on the premium floor, which offers free food and drinks; very nice and convenient when attending a show at the Messe. The staff are very friendly and accommodating, for the most part. The rooms are large but pretty basic. You have to pay a service provider WiFi, which turned out to be very frustrating. First, I have stayed in two other cities on this trip, which offered excellent WiFi for free. And second, the WiFi was unreliable. I had to call for assistance on two occasions; and you have to continually enter your user name and password.
The fitness room is also inadequate for a large hotel. However, there are good options for running/jogging routes that one can access from the hotel, which are excellent.
On balance for an event at the Messe, it is an acceptable place to stay. With a little bit o effort, it could really up its game.

Room Tip: Stay in the premium floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maritimfra, General Manager at Maritim Hotel Frankfurt / Main, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2013

Thank you very much for your feedback. We feel sorry for your inconvenience and regret that we have not lived up to your expectations. Nevertheless, your review will help us to improve our service and also the service of our external Internet provider. It would be our pleasure to welcome you once again and convince you of our services. Peter Berhörster, General Manager MARITIM Hotel Frankfurt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2013

A bit of a remote location unless there for a convention or concert, but, public transport. Is very handy. Having said that, it is a lovely walk to the nearby village or into the city. Nearby village offers good alternatives to the hotel food. Frankfurt main rail is about 1 km away. Rooms okay but a bit smelly. Beds too hard. Breakfast is good but a bit expensive

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shrike2747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maritimfra, General Manager at Maritim Hotel Frankfurt / Main, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2013

Thank you so much for taking time to publish your experience at our hotel. We are looking forward to welcoming you again soon. Peter Berhörster, General Manager MARITIM Hotel Frankfurt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2013

Upon check in I managed to get an upgrade to a junior suite.
The room was the same decor as regular rooms but had a separate lounge area with sofa, chairs, coffee table, flat screen TV and large desk area. Having the extra room was nice.

The bedroom had an old box style TV (needs a flat screen!)
The bed was comfy with fab bed linen. (Where can I buy some??)

The breakfast in the restaurant was great - A huge choice of items. It was very clean and the staff, who looked very clean and tidy, were friendly and efficient. (The 'boss' seemed a little agitated at some of the waiting staff which I thought was uncalled for... they were doing a great job!) When they were resetting the tables I noticed they were wearing white gloves which is always a nice touch.

A few easy changes could make this hotel much nicer and I could maybe give it top marks if I stayed again...

1. The air con needs sorting out! What is going on with European hotels??? It never seems to work! Luckily having a junior suite we were able to leave both windows open all day/night to create a nice draft of fresh air. (We know the air con doesn't work when the window is open... but it doesn't work when it is shut either!)

2. Get rid of the carpets and put a wood/laminate floor in. Carpets are old and dirty. (The slippers provided were useful :-)

3. Update the TV's and get more than one english channel. (Or get TV's with DVD facility so you can play your own DVD's) (OR make the hire of the DVD player cheaper than €55 !!! That is such a CRAZY price!!!)

4. Make the 'breakfast in your room' menu easier to be able to choose your own items. We are vegetarians and all hot choices had meat with them so had to get up early to catch breakfast :-(

Overall it was a nice hotel but a few changes could make it better.
Would I stay again? Probably - Yes.

Room Tip: Junior suite gives more room :-) Odd numbered rooms look onto the exhibition centre/hall. Not much...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank catblackcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Frankfurt hotels
Innenstadt
Frankfurt Marriott Hotel
Frankfurt Marriott Hotel
#18 of 270 in Frankfurt
899 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sachsenhausen-Nord
Lindner Hotel & Residence Main Plaza
Innenstadt
Wyndham Grand Frankfurt
Wyndham Grand Frankfurt
#25 of 270 in Frankfurt
1,448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maritim Hotel Frankfurt / Main? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maritim Hotel Frankfurt / Main

Address: Theodor-Heuss-Allee 3, 60486 Frankfurt, Hesse, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Hesse > Frankfurt > Innenstadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in Frankfurt
#11 Spa Hotel in Frankfurt
#46 Luxury Hotel in Frankfurt
Price Range: $86 - $302 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Maritim Hotel Frankfurt / Main 4*
Number of rooms: 542
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This modern hotel awaits its guests, located centrally at the trade fair, just a few paces from the Festhalle and the Trade Fair Tower. Business travellers value the good connections to the railways, road and airport. Delegates to the trade fair and conferences can walk up directly from their room to the Congress Centre Frankfurt and to the adjoining trade fair halls. City travellers can take short paths leading to the Römer, the museum bank and several other sights worth seeing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Maritim Hotel Frankfurt / Main reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maritim Hotel Frankfurt Main

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing