We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rooms are a bit tired”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Maritim Hotel Frankfurt / Main
Ranked #70 of 270 Hotels in Frankfurt
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed October 27, 2012

I stayed at the Maritim Messe for 5 nights. The hotel has good points and some that need improving on. It is a busy hotel as airline crews use it for overnight stay.

The staff is friendly and accommodating but the hotel needs renovating. The lobby area is OK but the rooms are very dated. The last time anything was done to the rooms was probably in the early 90’s.

The rooms are spacious (even numbers are street facing, odd numbers are facing the exhibition hall) and have all the amenities one needs but the old and stained carpet does not leave a good impression. Rooms do not have double beds. A double bed is two single beds pushed together.

The gym is small, the equipment very average but the views over Frankfurt make up for everything.

Breakfast was excellent. Very good choice of food. The Japanese restaurant serves some of the best sashimi. Not cheap but outstanding.

The hotel charges €15/day for cable internet. If you want to use wireless and need more than 10 hours online you will pay €35 for 30 days with Deutsche Telekom.

I stayed in the hotel because I had to (exhibition) but would not return.

Room Tip: Select a high floor with even numbers to get the best view of Frankfurt
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Oliviauk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (759)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

266 - 272 of 759 reviews

Reviewed October 26, 2012

Starting with the check-in....20 minutes and there was no one before me.... That's something I really do not appreciate after a long working day. The hotel itself seems ok, even though the air condition did not cool well. Big minus: we went to the bar in the late evening... Against all odds this was for smokers too and the air was really bad. No separate area for non smokers! This is not acceptable!

Stayed: October 2012
Thank Kathrin80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2012

Check-in was efficient, rooms were clean and quiet, beds comfy, and you don't even have to walk outside to get to the trade show. Of course the price is in line with this convenience. Breakfast was OK, not great. The choice of fruit was narrow, and something in mine had started to ferment. Cold meats were not very exciting, salmon OK. Asian/arabic provided.
I had a room on the 'superior' floor. Not sure if the rooms were better, but for the extra rate you get access to the 'superior lounge' a room that seats about 20 with a view over the Frankfurt skyline, a very limited breakfast, and a free buffet dinner with unlimited drinks + unlimited minibar. Internet access is an additional and unreasonably expensive extra.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oldboltonian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maritimfra, Manager at Maritim Hotel Frankfurt / Main, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2012

Thank you very much for your feedback. We regret that we have not lived up to your expectations. Nevertheless, your review will help us to improve our service. It would be our pleasure to welcome you once again and convince you of our services. Horst Mayer, General Manager MARITIM Hotel Frankfurt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Stayed at this hotel when visiting Messe Frankfurt as it is right on the door-step of the venue. Rooms are quite spacious but a little bit tired. Decent choice of eating options including a fairly reasonable sushi place as well. Bar area quite lively in the evening, though not that spacious. Hotal is about a 20 minute walk to the centre of the City and is well situated for the railway station and access/egress for the airport. Okay for a night or two - but definitely an on business option rather than for tourism.

Room Tip: Go for the higher levels in the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maritimfra, Manager at Maritim Hotel Frankfurt / Main, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2012

Thank you for your positive Feedback. It was our pleasure to have you as our guest and we are looking forward to welcoming you again in the future. Horst Mayer, General Manager MARITIM Hotel Frankfurt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

I was in Frankfurt attending a trade show at Messe Frankfurt, I wanted a hotel that was very close to the exhibition centre as I am not familiar with the City. I was very surprised how close it was, the hotel is pretty much joined to the exhibition hall which made it very convenient after a night out enjoying German beer!
Also take a walk down to the hotel bar to see Mario who was the friendliest bar man in Frankfurt!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matt_Npton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maritimfra, Manager at Maritim Hotel Frankfurt / Main, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2012

Thank you very much for your positive feedback. We are happy to hear that you have had a pleasant time in our hotel. We were delighted to have you as our guest and we are looking forward to welcoming you again in the future. Horst Mayer, General Manager MARITIM Hotel Frankfurt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2012

This modern hotel has an amazing position in Frankfurt - just next to the festival/convention centre and only a couple of stops away from the city centre by underground train.
The rooms are much larger than one would expect and very comfortable - there are great views of the city skyline from the front facing rooms.
The pool/spa on the top floor is excellent.
Plenty of dining options too - you can even have champagne with your breakfast!

Room Tip: ask for a city-facing room to enjoy the views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maritimfra, Manager at Maritim Hotel Frankfurt / Main, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2012

Thank you very much for your positive feedback. We are happy to hear that you have had a pleasant time in our hotel. We were delighted to have you as our guest and we are looking forward to welcoming you again in the future. Horst Mayer, General Manager MARITIM Hotel Frankfurt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2012

I arrived at noon and my room wasn't ready till 3 which is fine so I walked into town a bit and toured the sites. Stored my bags and came back at 2:30 and the room was ready. The room was really quiet but the towels were paper thin! They must have been washed at least 6 zillion times. They need to get some new ones, these felt like sandpaper! All else was good, didn't try the food but I tried the bar, it was nice and the bartenders were attentive.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brewski00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maritimfra, General Manager at Maritim Hotel Frankfurt / Main, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2012

Thank you for reporting the impressions that you gained during your stay at our hotel. It is our ambition to improve constantly. That is why you are helping us to advance. We would be happy to welcoming you again in the future. Horst Mayer, General Manager MARITIM Hotel Frankfurt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Frankfurt hotels
Innenstadt
Frankfurt Marriott Hotel
Frankfurt Marriott Hotel
#19 of 270 in Frankfurt
901 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sachsenhausen-Nord
Lindner Hotel & Residence Main Plaza
Innenstadt
Wyndham Grand Frankfurt
Wyndham Grand Frankfurt
#24 of 270 in Frankfurt
1,462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maritim Hotel Frankfurt / Main? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maritim Hotel Frankfurt / Main

Address: Theodor-Heuss-Allee 3, 60486 Frankfurt, Hesse, Germany
Location: Germany > Hesse > Frankfurt > Innenstadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in Frankfurt
#11 Spa Hotel in Frankfurt
#45 Luxury Hotel in Frankfurt
Price Range: $49 - $270 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Maritim Hotel Frankfurt / Main 4*
Number of rooms: 542
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This modern hotel awaits its guests, located centrally at the trade fair, just a few paces from the Festhalle and the Trade Fair Tower. Business travellers value the good connections to the railways, road and airport. Delegates to the trade fair and conferences can walk up directly from their room to the Congress Centre Frankfurt and to the adjoining trade fair halls. City travellers can take short paths leading to the Römer, the museum bank and several other sights worth seeing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Expedia, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Maritim Hotel Frankfurt / Main reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maritim Hotel Frankfurt Main

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing