We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Very very good...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fujiwara

Fujiwara
Ranked #75 of 2,277 Restaurants in Frankfurt
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Sachsenhausen-Nord
CopenhagenDenmark
Level Contributor
79 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Very very good...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

After reading several reviews here we decided to for Fujiwara - and it was a great evening. The restaurant is indeed quite small - but cosy in that somewhat funny Japanese way. The staff and chef are all Japanese which only adds to the authenticity.

All of our food was great - not the best sushi ever - but really good - very very fresh. Everything is made fresh to order by the chef who resides in a corner of the restaurant. We did have a few Nigiris not compact enough (fell too easily apart) - but all in all a really good experience. They are not shy on the wasabi on nigiris and in the maki's which I really like - but be aware if you don't!

Only 4 star rating as NO Japanese beer was available - only German. I like German beer - but when having sushi I like Japanese beer (such as Kirin or Sapporo). Can't them 5 stars without Japanese beer :-)

Staff was - as most Japanese are - very humble and very very friendly and smiling.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MadsCopenhagenDK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    19
    8
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
40 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Authentic Japanese in Frankfurt, Sachsenhausen”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

If you are in Frankfurt for business or pleasure and feel like taking a break from the sausages, potatoes and beer, consider a bite of Japan. This little gem, tucked in a quite corner of the Sachsenhausen neighborhood (across the river from the city center), gets crowded easily but it is worth the wait. Better yet, do it like the Germans and call ahead to reserve. The couple that owns the place is there every night (she hosts, he slices the sushi) backed by a small friendly staff. You know a place is authentic when people from the country the food originates from go there to eat. And that's the case with Fujiwara. On any given night about fifty percent of the patrons are Japanese. The sushi is fresh and expertly prepared, but the menu is full of many more surprises to explore.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Waldo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Very good Japanese Restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Very friendly people, nice food at fair prices. We were 5 people and spent an average of€30 per person including drinks. The place is very small so book in advance.

    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Nofreetag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
53 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

We went to this restaurant several times. My wife is Japanese and she says this is the best place in Frankfurt to go to. I liked the frozen tempura ice the best as a desert. Prices are not low but quality is very good. During the working week they have lunch set menus at very reasonable prices.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ikke4000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level Contributor
49 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Quality Japanese”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

I have no idea how long this place has existed but I am so happy that I gave it a try. The food was sublime, lots of delicate flavours and well balanced and some unusual fusion dishes too like the Iberiko Teriyaki. Making a reservation was a bit of a challenge as I speak about as much German as I do Japanese (please, thank you, good afternoon, excuse me, etc.) but there were no problems. The service was attentive without being hovering and we were never rushed.

I hope that this place has a long and prosperous life in Frankfurt as I intend to make it back there as often as possible.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 0529_2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fujiwara also viewed

Frankfurt, Hesse
Frankfurt, Hesse
 
Frankfurt, Hesse
Frankfurt, Hesse
 
Frankfurt, Hesse
 

Been to Fujiwara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing