We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location for the Hauptbahnhof”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt City Hauptbahnhof
Ranked #51 of 269 Hotels in Frankfurt
New South Wales, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great location for the Hauptbahnhof”
Reviewed July 1, 2013

This Holiday inn express is conveniently located close to frankfurt's main train station and to city center. We stayed there for 2 nights with a room change in between. Both rooms were great, large, spacious, smartly decorated with large modern bathrooms. It was all very clean. We had to pay 5 euro for 24 hours of internet but that is okay. The lobby area was well designed and decorated. Breakfast had a small selection but it was enough to leave satisfied. My only complaint is the reception staff member who took my phone call regarding a question about whether or not the wifi was free. The woman on the phone was rude and agitated and in the end told me to come down to reception and get the wifi. That was fine with me, no problem at all it was just the attitude of the person on the phone that has made this hotel not get full marks from me. But despite that I would definitely recommend this hotel to all.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank samwil212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEXFRAAD, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt City Hauptbahnhof, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear Samwil212,

Thank you very much for your positive review about your stay here at the Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt City Hauptbahnhof. We are happy to read that you enjoyed your stay.

I will make sure to share your comment regarding the unfriendly phone call with our front desk staff. Guest satisfaction and friendliness is our key focus and I find it unacceptable to read that you felt like your call was not appreciated.

Kind regards
Arndt Writzel, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

860 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    213
    445
    151
    27
    24
See reviews for
145
253
70
245
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here on a special rate which made this even better value than normal so €155 for 3 nights B&B for 2 people in central Frankfurt is an outstanding price, but if you book early enough, you could almost certainly pay under €200 for the same which would still be very good value for money.
I have to say that in terms of the budget chain hotels, this is one of the best I've stayed in. Admittedly it is modern and that helps as it still feels new throughout, but cleanliness is very good, the room we stayed in was at the back of the hotel and very quiet & the bathroom in particular was very nicely furnished. The buffet breakfast was limited in choice but the quality was excellent, especially the superb croissants.
Location wise I guess it wasn't in the most elegant of quarters, but then Frankfurt is a very industrial city at the best of times! However, in terms of access to the main station (for visits to other cities like Mainz & getting to/from airport) as well as for being in walking dustsnce of the wonderful Xmas markets, for me, the location was excellent and very central.
Overall, a very pleasant and good value stay and highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AngloItalian78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEXFRAAD, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt City Hauptbahnhof, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear RichP_1978,

Thank you very much for taking to time to review your stay here at the Holiday Inn Express. We appreciate reading that you enjoyed your stay and our very central location in Frankfurt.

Best wishes and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Arndt Writzel, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Egypt
Level 6 Contributor
201 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2013

I stayed there last week for 2 nights, it was really great stay, very large room with a queen size bed and very clean bathroom, breakfast was great, and the location was ideal as it is very close to the main station and 10 minutes walking to the city center and old town ... highly recommended

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Islam F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEXFRAAD, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt City Hauptbahnhof, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear Islam_Fathy74,

Thank you very much for patronizing Holiday Inn Express and your positive review about your stay here in Frankfurt. We are looking forward to welcome you back.

Kind regards
Arndt Writzel, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2013

5 minutes walking distance from Frankfurt central station.
Nice,clean convenient rooms,friendly check in and a correct breakfast .
The area around is not upscale definitely but it is a logical business mid level hotel in a convenient location.

Room Tip: High floor is better,but the differences are minimal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PLSPG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEXFRAAD, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt City Hauptbahnhof, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear PLSPG,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review the Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt City HBF. We appreciate reading that you enjoyed your stay and our good location and we hope to welcome you back your next time around.

Kind regards
Arndt Writzel, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2013 via mobile

I would confirm the many positive comments of other reviewers. We arrived late (about 2330) by train from Amsterdam. It was less than a 10min walk to this modern hotel. Despite the late hour, we didn't feel any threat. Hotel reception was friendly and efficient and we were soon in a comfortable large clean quiet room. Next morning we were up at 0630, had breakfast (included in price) and were back at the station by 0800. Using the subway to cross the busy road and tram lines in front of Hbf saved a few minutes ... and as some stress.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEXFRAAD, Guest Service Manager at Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt City Hauptbahnhof, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear Andrew C,

First of all, on behalf of our team, I would like to thank you for staying with us and finding the time to write a review on our Hotel! The comfort and the convenience of our guests are the main priorities for us and it is a great joy to read such positive feedbacks!

You are absolutely right to say that our location can definitely save a traveller a lot of time and nerves and we are really happy that you were able to experience that. Thank you very much for choosing our Hotel and we are looking forward to seeing you again in the nearest future!

Kind regards,
Elena Hannappel
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2013

We almost didn't stay at this hotel as we discovered it was located in shonky end of town and quite intimidating. On way to check in we took a wrong turn from GPS two streets away from hotel and witnessed a woman injecting her foot at 3pm in afternoon in gutter, groups of men, druggies and homeless people standing around in the streets. But despite it's appearance, it was quite safe. And we were pleasantly surprised with Hotel. Parking impossible around the streets. There is no assigned parking space associated to the hotel for quick check-in and unloading suitcases etc., so be prepared to drive around and look for parking and dragging your bags for some distance. The hotel does offer paid parking (15 euros per day) where you can access from the left side of the building, stop at gate, then press intercom. They will direct you to a numbered space and then you can check-in from there. All very secure. Breakfast standard European wise, but good. Buffet style. Excellent Italian & Asian restaurants directly across the road, at very reasonable prices.
The hotel itself is quite good. Very modern, spacious with amazing roomy bathroom and excellent security. rooms do not have a fridge, which in my opinion should be mandatory, express or not. Hotel does let you put cold items in a fridge located at reception. There is also a free ice machine near reception. Staff were helpful and spoke excellent English. Train station 5-10 minute easy walk to hotel, just hand-cuff your suitcase to your wrist! Frankfurt is not Germanys most beautiful city!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sheilariser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEXFRAAD, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt City Hauptbahnhof, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Dear Sheilariser,

Thank you very much for your positive review of the Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt HBF. We are happy to hear that you liked our facilities and the hotel altogether.

I am sorry that you had such a horrible arrival experience. The area does attract some seedy individuals at times but the situation with these fellows is usually relaxed and our street and the main street from the station are safe even at night.

Kind regards
Arndt Writzel, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2013 via mobile

Have in the hotel for fair for 4 nights the hotel is new , small but nice .
Staff was good , friendly , and gave us good service.
The room were new , clean , and nice.
The hotel breakfast little small but ok .
The location is good near central station 5 minutes walk.
Nice Italian restaurant across the street and many other Turkish restaurant near by.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sirisyos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEXFRAAD, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt City Hauptbahnhof, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Dear Sirisyos,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review the Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt HBF. We are happy to read that you liked our facilities. Yes, breakfast is Continental only but also free of charge.

We hope to welcome you back soon!

Kind regards
Arndt Writzel, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Frankfurt hotels
Townhouse Hotel
#28 of 269 in Frankfurt
272 reviews
Bahnhofsviertel
Holiday Inn Frankfurt - Alte Oper
Victoria Hotel
#39 of 269 in Frankfurt
469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bahnhofsviertel
Ambassador Frankfurt Hotel
Ambassador Frankfurt Hotel
#113 of 269 in Frankfurt
730 reviews
Innenstadt
Hotel Concorde
Hotel Concorde
#8 of 269 in Frankfurt
774 reviews
Innenstadt
Wyndham Grand Frankfurt
Wyndham Grand Frankfurt
#23 of 269 in Frankfurt
1,328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt City Hauptbahnhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt City Hauptbahnhof

Property: Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt City Hauptbahnhof
Address: Elbestr. 7, 60329 Frankfurt, Hesse, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Hesse > Frankfurt > Bahnhofsviertel , Innenstadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Luxury Hotel in Frankfurt
#35 Romantic Hotel in Frankfurt
#55 Business Hotel in Frankfurt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt City Hauptbahnhof 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt City Hauptbahnhof. In the heart of Frankfurt, next to the “main station Frankfurt“, the new Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt City Hauptbahnhof Hotel recently opened in March 2011. Just a few minutes walk to the city centre and famous sights of Frankfurt like the Opera Frankfurt, the Staedel Museum, the German Museum of Architecture, the Goethe House or St. Leonhards’ Church. The Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt City Hauptbahnhofis the perfect place to stay to discover the famous business city Frankfurt am Main. Our 116 comfortable air-conditioned, non smoking bedrooms, with flat screen colour TV, offer a telephone, a safe, high speed Wi-Fi internet connectivity, hairdryer and tea and coffee making facilities. Our continental breakfast buffet is included. We have integrated the dynamic philosophy of the Holiday Inn Express brand into the meetings sector and look forward to your request for a professionally run conference. 1 modern meeting room, 25m² with air conditioning is available for your meeting.We are looking forward to your visit at the Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt City Hauptbahnhof! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt City Hauptbahnhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt City Hauptbahnhof Hotel Frankfurt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing