We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice Hotel.. good value.. a few negatives.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt City Hauptbahnhof
Ranked #54 of 271 Hotels in Frankfurt
Reviewed March 5, 2013

I stayed twice in this hotel, 2 nights in February and 2 nights in March.
Overall everything was great.. with few negatives.

Room : Room is excellent.. spacious, clean, seems to be recently renovated.. LCD, Safe, but no Mini Bar.

Location :
This is the contravarsy.. well its a 5 min walk from the main train station, 10 min walk to the market area.. but 2 streets away from the red light area.. so at night if you wander into the nighberhood you will find your self surrounded by drug addicts and prostitutes.
The trick is to know which direction to walk,, once you've done that then you are fine.

Food:
Breakfast was ok.. not a lot of varieties, bread, cereal, juice, cheese, boiled eggs....
No room service.
A vending machine in the lobby and an ice machine.

Service: Excellent

Internet : super fast for 5 Euros per day.

The Negative:
I am surprised no one mentioned this: It seems somehow the floors and walls conduct a lot of noise, you can always here the room above you and next to you. there is constant knocking from above you and from the room next door.. its not loud.. but its just there,, it can get annoying if you are a light sleeper.
I went twice and stayed 2 nights each time,, once in the 2nd floor and another in the 4th. and I had the same problem each time. so it was not a coincidence.. its a fact.
I am not a light sleeper, so I wasn't bothered by this.. but its a problem with the building and I'm surprised no one mentioned it in the reviews.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank elnahal_w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (880)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt City Hauptbahnhof
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

363 - 369 of 880 reviews

Reviewed February 25, 2013

Not only is this HIE near the train station, almost half the journey can be completed sheltered from the elements in the underground plaza by bearing to the right and taking the next to last exit up to the street. The neighborhood has a variety of ethnic food service, small shops, and other urban stuff. It did not seem dangerous to me. The hotel is also just a few blocks from the river with a pedestrian bridge leading to the nearby museums. Even on a cold day, we weren't out long enough to be uncomfortable.

The hotel itself is clean, efficient, and fully appointed. The room was somewhat less compact than the Mecure in Essen or the Barcelo in Hamburg. A little more space a little less efficiently used providing equal comfort. The staff are friendly and patient with a guest's feeble efforts in German. Our only disappointment was that our early flight denied us a second morning of their excellent breakfast. Might be the nicest HIE I've enjoyed.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Recumbent_Tourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2013

The hotel is ideally placed for the city and railway station. Not the Holiday Inn Express plastic breakfast here but a superb spread with lots of choice. The rooms are fantastic and the staff very friendly and helpful

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Darwen_Explorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEXFRAAD, Assistant Hotel Manager at Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt City Hauptbahnhof, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2013

Dear Dawren,,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us.

I'm glad that you were totally satisfied with our location and that you enjoyed our free breakfast and our rooms.

We hope to see you again soon

Best regards

Diana Brüggenhorst
Assistant Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

The hotel is excellent loceted, close to the train station 2 minutes walk from Willy Brandt Platz.
The hotel is quite new, clean and tidy, good breakfast.
The rooms are large clean and spacious.
Large and clean shower and WC .
Nice and courteous staff.
The only problem was Frankfurt..
The city is boring, gray and lifeless.
Only if you HAVE TO come to Frankfurt come.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tomersi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEXFRAAD, Assistant Hotel Manager at Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt City Hauptbahnhof, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2013

Dear Tomersi,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us.

We like to hear that you enjoyed our rooms and the big shower.
Frankfurt could also be a nice place. You can have a nice walk to Main. Or can go on the "Maintower" the highest building in Frankfurt from there you have got a great view all over the area.

It would be grate to welcome you the next time and our staff members woul be very pleased to show you the nice places of Frankfurt

Best regards

Diana Brüggenhorst
Assistant Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2013

First of all the hotel is not in a bad area. The nightlife area is much further north and does not protrude that far away. It's safe to walk at all times, certainly not unsafer than anywhere else. Many, many hotels are in this area. That said, this is probably the newest of them all and it looks that way. Nice, clean facade, first floor is all glass. Check in was quick, room was huge. Huge and empty. There was easily room for a ping pong table to be put in. No idea about the design. Bed was a European double which we felt was smaller than a queen size. The mattress was hopelessly soft, sleep quality was very low, we would constantly roll towards the middle, and just gently sitting down on the mattress caused my wife to be flipped into the air. Smallish but working flat screen TV on the wall. Bathroom small but functional, no tub. For older folks like us the European method of having those squeeze soap containers on the wall is not a good think. Arthritis makes it difficult to squeeze hard and these bottles must be squeezed hard. It's not a hotel specific thing, just a note to become aware and maybe bring your own soap. Towels were below our standards, too thin, too small. They could do better. Breakfast was standard, it's a small area and with lots of Chinese tourists we had to wait for a table a couple of times. Window could be opened. As Platinums we got free Internet, but only for one device. Internet was fast. Location is very central, a quick walk to the Hauptbahnhof and one can catch all local and long distance subway, trains and buses. For two day stays as a tourist I recommend stopping at the Frankfurt tourist office inside the station and purchase a Frankfurt card for unlimited travel within most of Frankfurt proper, museum discounts and much more for less than $ 15.00. Includes the train to the airport, a great deal.
Frankfurt is a nice, compact city, don't hesitate to stay here.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank WEISSBIER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2013

Although not in the best area we still felt safe walking there at night. The hotel itself was clean and the staff exceptionally helpful and friendly. The rooms were clean and in excellent condition.Breakfast was plentiful with a great variety, we have never seen such a varied choice in a continental breakfast. We paid for one days wifi only but found it to be very slow and hit and miss as to whether it kicked in or not. The Chinese restaurant opposite is worth a visit, large portions at a good price.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HobbitLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEXFRAAD, Assistant Hotel Manager at Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt City Hauptbahnhof, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2013

Dear Tripadvisor Guest,

Thank you for your review regarding your recent stay with us

Our goal is to ensure that all our clients leave satisfied and we try our best to fulfill all our guest requests. We apologize that you are not satisfied with th offered Internet service.

We noticed this and also forwared this to our Internet provider.

We like to hear rhat you enjoyed our rooms.

It would be grate to welcome you in our hotel by your next trip in Frankfurt.

Best regards

Diana Brüggenhorst
Assistant Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2013

I spend there just one night during business meeting.
Room is with moder design. I liked tea and coffee in the room, no need to walk in the eventing after hard day. Room according to all you need in the hotel.
Big shower, all clean.
Receptionist helpful and very nice.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michal C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEXFRAAD, Assistant Hotel Manager at Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt City Hauptbahnhof, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2013

Dear Michal C,

Thank you for your review regarding your recent stay with us.

We liked to hear that you enjoyed our free coffee and tee sation..

It would be grate to welcome you in our hotel by your next trip in Frankfurt.

Best regards

Diana Brüggenhorst
Assistant Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Frankfurt hotels
Victoria Hotel
#29 of 271 in Frankfurt
487 reviews
Bahnhofsviertel
Holiday Inn Frankfurt - Alte Oper
Innenstadt
Hotel Europa Life
Hotel Europa Life
#33 of 271 in Frankfurt
262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Townhouse Hotel
#24 of 271 in Frankfurt
286 reviews
Innenstadt
Hotel Concorde
Hotel Concorde
#7 of 271 in Frankfurt
789 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt City Hauptbahnhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt City Hauptbahnhof

Address: Elbestr. 7, 60329 Frankfurt, Hesse, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Hesse > Frankfurt > Bahnhofsviertel , Innenstadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Romantic Hotel in Frankfurt
#37 Luxury Hotel in Frankfurt
#55 Business Hotel in Frankfurt
Price Range: $93 - $422 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt City Hauptbahnhof 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt City Hauptbahnhof. In the heart of Frankfurt, next to the “main station Frankfurt“, the new Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt City Hauptbahnhof Hotel recently opened in March 2011. Just a few minutes walk to the city centre and famous sights of Frankfurt like the Opera Frankfurt, the Staedel Museum, the German Museum of Architecture, the Goethe House or St. Leonhards’ Church. The Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt City Hauptbahnhofis the perfect place to stay to discover the famous business city Frankfurt am Main. Our 116 comfortable air-conditioned, non smoking bedrooms, with flat screen colour TV, offer a telephone, a safe, high speed Wi-Fi internet connectivity, hairdryer and tea and coffee making facilities. Our continental breakfast buffet is included. We have integrated the dynamic philosophy of the Holiday Inn Express brand into the meetings sector and look forward to your request for a professionally run conference. 1 modern meeting room, 25m² with air conditioning is available for your meeting.We are looking forward to your visit at the Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt City Hauptbahnhof! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt City Hauptbahnhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt City Hauptbahnhof Hotel Frankfurt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing