We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt City Hauptbahnhof
Ranked #47 of 268 Hotels in Frankfurt
Tel aviv
Level Contributor
137 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Good choice”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

Room: Large and very clean. There are coffee facilities, Safe Box, flat TV, seating sofa, Clean and decorated bathroom.
Location: Very close access to the Old City, Just 3 minutes walk from the Tube And also close to the main train station.
Breakfast: Basic but very good
internet: Works very well, reasonable fee of 5 euros per day
Service: Very good level. Clean rooms and front desk service was good except for a few comments below.

Comments and suggestions:
Very tiring to go every day and ask for a new internet code access, the Code suitable for one device only and those that have also Smartphones and laptop have to ask/pay for 2 codes.
They did not re-fill the soap in the shower.
Accordance with the other comments that appeared here - the street next to the hotel (the street that connects to the central station) is not so pleasant for walking. Therefore it is an advantage the hotel is on a side street and allows walking toward the subway station and the old town from the other (parallel street).

General summary and considering the cost - the hotel is a very good choice

A personal note that not tied to the hotel: the city itself is very boring, almost no people on the streets (And that was a time of New Year's Eve) there is not much entertainment and it was very disappointing along to other cities in Germany known for celebrations and plenty of culture and leisure. We looked for flights or trains to nearby cities but prices were very high.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank buiumb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEXFRAAD, Leiter Front Office at Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt City Hauptbahnhof, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear Tripadvisor Guest,

Thank you for taking time to review your stay with us.

Thank you for you positive comment reagrding the evaluate service.

Best regards

Your Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt City Hauptbahnhof Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

834 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    208
    434
    144
    26
    22
See reviews for
136
247
70
237
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2012

I stayed here as a group earlier this year for a long weekend.
The hotel is well located - very near to the train station and close to the trams.
Our room was of a good size, with a nice clean bathroom that had a great shower.
Receptionists were welcoming - check in and check out was very smooth.
Overall a good city hotel, I would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scooby_d00_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEXFRAAD, Leiter Front Office at Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt City Hauptbahnhof, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear Scooby_d00_uk,

Dear Tripadvisor User,

We truly appreciate you taking the time to review your stay with us.
We are delighted to see that we were able to meet your expectations and that you enjoyed staying with us.
It is great that you liked our location and your room and that you felt comfortable staying with us.
We hope to be your hotel of choice for your future trips to Frankfurt.
Thanks again for your comments and we look forward to your return.

Best regards,

Your Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt City Hauptbahnhof Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2012

A business hotel which leverages all the standard practices of an international hotel chain. Nothing really out of the ordinary in this regard, re: service or amenities. That said, our room did appear substantially large compared to others I've stayed in across Europe and the included breakfast is a nice touch, though I myself never tried it.

Interestingly for a chain hotel in such a competitive market is that they are still charging for wifi. This did not bother me too much as rates are fairly competitive (5 euro for 24 hours), but there is an increasing expectation that these sort of services should be included in the cost of the room.

As stated, the room itself was large and there were both soft and firm pillow on the bed but... oh the bed. A standard double, the mattress could well have used a good flip-over, if not replacing. My husband and I, who are just average-sized folk, were constantly being woken as one or the other rolled into the dip in the middle of the mattress, often squashing the other who had already been taken hostage by the crevasse. The sleep quality for the pair of us was accordingly quite poor, though perhaps a solo traveller would be comforted by the groove that so many previous travellers had etched into the mattress before them?

Location-wise, I found it fine though I can see how some folk not used to the 'less well off' parts of society might look down their nose at the area. There are some red-light activities and clubs around, but there are also fruit shops and newsagencies and the central train station. Everything is quite well-lit and if you stick to the main streets you should have no problem. In this regard, follow one main street directly east and you end up in the centre of the shopping area / Christmas market in ten minutes or so. A very easy walk. It's also easy to head south and cross the river into the museum area in a matter of minutes.

We were also able to leave our bags with the hotel on our final day after checking out, given our flight was not until 9pm that night. Being so close to the Hauptbahnhof subsequently also made it very convenient to get to the airport on the S8 (or S9) metro.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AmeliaMx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
Level Contributor
132 reviews
128 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2012

what a nice hotel - spacious, nice flatscreen, good breakfast, free internet for platinum members, huge shower area with a great showerhead.
but: what a terrible area: junkies were shooting stuff into their vains at 6.40 AM, next to the hotel....

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gobitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2012

A great Holiday inn express hotel at only 10 minutes walking from the Central Station.
Great and huge rooms, good flatscreen, nice breakfast, free internet for Platinum members...
but oh my gd what a bad area. i left the hotel at 6.40 AM and next to the hotel junkies were shooting heroine into their vains...

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarlonGobitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2012

Visited the beautiful city of Frankfurt in early Dec and stayed for three nights in the Holiday Inn Express on Elbestrasse.
The hotel is ideally located being close to the main train station and just a 15 min.walk to the old town and Christmas markets.
I am aware that some of your reviewers have issues both with this location and also the proximity of "Adult " interest activities .Please remember that by locating in what are regarded as secondary locations, these hotels are able to offer great rates which make it possible to visit so many cities.Which of us ,from where ever we come from do not have areas in our major cities which might be less than salubrious ,but are populated ,in the main by decent people much like the rest of us .The "Adult "area is visible from a few hundred yards off ,so if you dont like it ,its easy to avoid .
The hotel itself looks brand new ,a nice reception with friendly staff .
The rooms are a good size ,with the bathrooms nicely tiled ,and super clean.
Tea and coffee making facilities and a room safe and comfortable beds made for a very enjoyable stay .
The breakfast was the usual Continental fare ,cold meats cheeses ,cereals ,tea coffee, juice and plenty of bread, fruit ,crossies ,pastries .Great.
The hotel staff were pleasant and helpful ,assisting us with the printing of our boarding cards ,the printer on the public computer in the lobby was having an off day ,providing us with extra tea bags and such when asked .They also dispense drinks from a bar located in the reception area.
All in all a very pleasant stay in this hotel ,which I would highly recommend and hope to return to in the future

Room Tip: We stayed on the second floor with a street facing room ,no probs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank elvis38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2012

The Hotel is very clean and modern in design for the price. Location is spot on as is close to main station and some very good restaurants which is why I chose to stay here and invite my team to stay here also.

What lets it down bigtime however is the bad attitude of the staff. I travel alot and stay in many hotels but the staff here are the least accomodating that I have come across to the extent that I had to make my point here on this forum. Its quite dissappointing that the services and hospitality are not up to basic standards!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eghe E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEXFRAAD, Leiter Front Office at Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt City Hauptbahnhof, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback.

I would be interested to investigate your comments further in terms of the offered Service.
I can be contacted on diana.brueggenhorst@fmhso.com if you wish to be in touch so I can investigate further.
I hope that you will give me and the team the opportunity to change your perceptions of the hotel once again in a more positive light.

Kind regards

Diana Brüggenhorst
Assistant Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Frankfurt hotels
Victoria Hotel
#38 of 268 in Frankfurt
4.0 of 5 bubbles 442 reviews
Townhouse Hotel
#37 of 268 in Frankfurt
4.0 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bahnhofsviertel
Holiday Inn Frankfurt - Alte Oper
Bahnhofsviertel
Ambassador Frankfurt Hotel
Ambassador Frankfurt Hotel
#97 of 268 in Frankfurt
3.5 of 5 bubbles 704 reviews
Innenstadt
Wyndham Grand Frankfurt
Wyndham Grand Frankfurt
#23 of 268 in Frankfurt
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt City Hauptbahnhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt City Hauptbahnhof

Property: Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt City Hauptbahnhof
Address: Elbestr. 7, 60329 Frankfurt, Hesse, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Hesse > Frankfurt > Bahnhofsviertel , Innenstadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Luxury Hotel in Frankfurt
#35 Romantic Hotel in Frankfurt
#55 Business Hotel in Frankfurt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt City Hauptbahnhof 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt City Hauptbahnhof. In the heart of Frankfurt, next to the “main station Frankfurt“, the new Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt City Hauptbahnhof Hotel recently opened in March 2011. Just a few minutes walk to the city centre and famous sights of Frankfurt like the Opera Frankfurt, the Staedel Museum, the German Museum of Architecture, the Goethe House or St. Leonhards’ Church. The Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt City Hauptbahnhofis the perfect place to stay to discover the famous business city Frankfurt am Main. Our 116 comfortable air-conditioned, non smoking bedrooms, with flat screen colour TV, offer a telephone, a safe, high speed Wi-Fi internet connectivity, hairdryer and tea and coffee making facilities. Our continental breakfast buffet is included. We have integrated the dynamic philosophy of the Holiday Inn Express brand into the meetings sector and look forward to your request for a professionally run conference. 1 modern meeting room, 25m² with air conditioning is available for your meeting.We are looking forward to your visit at the Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt City Hauptbahnhof! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt City Hauptbahnhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt City Hauptbahnhof Hotel Frankfurt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing