We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“German food!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Conrad's Restaurant

Conrad's Restaurant
Ranked #413 of 2,444 Restaurants in Frankfurt
Price range: $8 - $32
Cuisines: Gastropub, German, European, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Neighborhood: Innenstadt
Description: Welcome to Conrad's Restaurant Frankfurt! Meal Plan:We are a German restaurant and serve delicious home-style cooking. We value good cooking. Thus, for example our baked potatoes and mashed potatoes always made from hand-peeled-Potatoes.You will be amazed at the delicious large and small dishes prepared in our small but fast kitchen for you.History:A restaurant with history, named after no one less than Conrad Binding, the founder of the same named tradition brewery in Frankfurt.The "Conrad's" already opened in 1956 as a beer parlor and restaurant.We are a German restaurant and offer you: Good, cheap, abundant, centrally located and with fast served Eating.On the spacious terrace show all soccer games as live broadcasts in HD on 2 large flat screens.Not hungry? You are welcome to come just for a beer.Have a look at our Facebook fanpage: Conrad's Restaurant Frankfurt
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
42 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“German food!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

When one thinks of the greta cuisines around the world German isn't usually the first that comes to mind. However, my wife and I were in Frankfurt for a coupe of days and while we were there we ate at Conrad's. The food was delicious. We had knockwurst and sauerkraut that were so tasty and rich. And my wife had a tall glass of beer, of course. We also appreciated the service as the waitress was patient with us and helped us with our poor use of the German language.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank ColinGunderson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    77
    35
    16
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Waitress cheated us out of money”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013

I went to Conrads with two friends on a Friday night. The bill was 52 euro and we gave our waitress 70. I told her to give us 15 back, since tipping is not really done in Germany. The waitress put the money on the table and split. My friend asked how much we left as a tip and I said a couple of euros. She suggested I give another 5, which I did. Then we realized that our change was only 2 euro.
The waitress had initially given back 7 euro instead of 15 and now had 5 more so we had given her 15! There is no way a German waitress could believe anyone would want to give so much money. When I confronted her and tried to explain what happened she acted like she did not know what I was talking about. Apparently such big tips are common. She did not give us any of the 15 back and as soon as one of my friends said lets just leave it, she quickly walked away from us.
I realize we were responsible for watching our money but I think she took advantage of us and she probably does it all the time as there are many tourists in this tourist trap with average food.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank BKKcourier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Yum”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

Nice little place. Good food, good beer and good service. We had the schitzels which were excellent. We also had the baked cheese with cranberries which was excellent.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank kiwix36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sliema, Malta
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Excellent meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2012

It's a good restaurant and serves the best spitzners. very friendly and helpful staff. It location in the city centre so convenient for to stop for lunch.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jo A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Traditional german cuisine 5 min from Hilton”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

Good schnitzels for less than €10, also tried porkhock with sour crout - delicious, if this your thing

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank mila777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Conrad's Restaurant also viewed

Frankfurt, Hesse
 
Frankfurt, Hesse
 

Been to Conrad's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing