We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good on a cold day”

Ebert's Suppenstube
Ranked #614 of 2,473 Restaurants in Frankfurt
Cuisines: German, Soups
Neighborhood: Innenstadt
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Innenstadt
Vicenza, Italy
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good on a cold day”
Reviewed March 15, 2014

We stopped in here while doing a little shopping & site-seeing in Frankfurt. Small place, but there were a few tables outside with heat lamps to sit at. We had the goulash, potato soup (with sausage of course), comes with half a slice of brown bread. Disagree with the previous reviewer who said they weren't friendly, for Germans they were quite accommodating and not rude at all when we had a mis-translation and wanted to switch types of bratwurst. Nice little place.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kelly G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    23
    2
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Wildwood, New Jersey
Level Contributor
451 reviews
193 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 234 helpful votes
“Don’t forget to order sausage with your soup – or they won’t be happy”
Reviewed April 13, 2013

Sausage is their specialty; the server was surprised when I didn’t order sausage with my Kartoffelsoupe (potato soup) for lunch. It was excellent, especially on a cold day. I suggest ordering extra bread since the pieces are small. Service was very business-like, not so friendly to me, an Amerikaner. Not much seating inside, but the outdoor seating had cushions and was better for people-watching. It’s located near the huge Apple store.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank movieglue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire
Level Contributor
72 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great fast food soup and bratwurst”
Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

Great place for a fast traditional lunch. Soups, bratwurst are main choices with bread. It's avreasonably priced, lively lunch spot,
I visited in the snow and everyone was outside sharing tables and chatting.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MichiBerkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurel, Maryland
Level Contributor
232 reviews
128 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“great street food with tables”
Reviewed January 20, 2012

One of the joys of eating in Germany is the food you can get from butcher's windows. Ebert's has a small monopoly along Fressgasse in Frankfurt and it's all good. From a variety of soups and stews to sausages and salads, you can enjoy it all "on the fly" and out of doors while the bustle of Frankfurt occurs around you. Perfect for a quick bite during a day of shopping, it's healthy food that makes you happy. if you have a chance, sample their Leberkase on bread, with sweet mustard. I have a bias for it in Bavaria but the one at Ebert was delicious! Guten apetit.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank MarkWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
209 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“For better or wurst...”
Reviewed July 15, 2010

Popular lunch spot for soups and all kinds of wursts: bratwurst, rindwurst, curryvurst. Based on the size of the lines at lunchtime, it must be good, because you can get these at many other places along the boulevard. Very limited seating inside, but decent amount outside.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mitch-n-Greg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ebert's Suppenstube also viewed

 
Frankfurt, Hesse
 

Been to Ebert's Suppenstube? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing