We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Happy we found this place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Atschel

Atschel
Ranked #7 of 2,279 Restaurants in Frankfurt
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: German, European, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Sachsenhausen-Nord
Pensacola Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
58 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Happy we found this place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

We were there for an overnight layover. I searched for a good restuarant on trip advisor. So happy I can across this restuarant. We have been coming to Germany 2 times a year for 14 years on vacation. In laws live in heidelberg. We know good German food! This place was just fantastic. The staff and atmosphere were wonderful. The food was just great! Very impressed!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank honeycutt33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

873 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    438
    328
    56
    18
    33
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
196 reviews
130 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“No credit card, cash only! Good German try out!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013 via mobile

If you would like to try typical German food, this is the place to go. The place is very typical German atmosphere and so did food. They have an English menu, that was very helpful. Many local go there to have German beer, so you can try good German food with large portion. Only thing you need to know is that they don't accept credit card. Otherwise try it.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank makichan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
48 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great German food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

Very good German food at excellent prices in a typical German bar/taverna setting. We sort of stumbled into this restaurant and had a great lunch here.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mkotarak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orovada, NV
Level Contributor
134 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“One of our best meals in Europe!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

We went after 10:00 pm on a Saturday night, and the place was PACKED! The tables are wooden picnic tables, with benches for seats. It took a little while to get a waiter, but the food didn't take that long to come. My guy had the salmon soup and Frankfurt Butcher platter that had a generous portion of ham, bacon, liver sausage, and blood sausage, on large pile of sauerkraut. All were tasty. I had the soup that was beef broth with noodle pockets and marrow meat balls. It came hot and delicious. My main meal was the pork tenderloin with apples, potatoes and calvados sauce. Fantastic! There was no room for desert, but we did order the calvados that came with a little peach in the glass. The place is very lively and noisy with many people having a great time.The price was reasonable, and they accept cash only. We will definitely return when we are in Frankfurt.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank lhorow1160
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei
Level Contributor
44 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Excellent German Fare and Ambiance”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

Enjoyed a authentic German feast of pork knuckles, sausages, ribs, and BBQ shoulder in a nice atmosphere and neighborhood. Pork knuckles and shoulder were truly excellent complimented by the Dukel (dark beer).The service was cheerful and friendly and bill reasonable to top it all off! We didn't have space for desert after all that meat though!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lohbah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Atschel also viewed

Frankfurt, Hesse
 
Frankfurt, Hesse
 

Been to Atschel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing