We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of the better hostels I've stayed in” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Five Elements Hostel Frankfurt

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Five Elements Hostel Frankfurt
Certificate of Excellence
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“One of the better hostels I've stayed in”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

Friendly staff, very clean. The neighborhood isn't the best but it's close to the train station and other attractions. The security is excellent too. Ideal place to stay if you're just passing a night or if you're traveler who just needs a bed and a shower. There's a TV and a pool table downstairs and the hostel has a different event each night.

Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank landam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

495 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    203
    210
    52
    12
    18
See reviews for
21
72
211
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

friendly staff, nice place, very clean, its amazing, the place is very good and also secured , i recommend it for anyone searching for ideal hostel, next time i will visit germany i will stay there. it was my frist expermint with hostels but thanks god it was amazing and wonderful the staff really helpful they are avbl 24/7 the bathrooms and rooms very very clean

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hamdi2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hitchin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2012

Really good Hostel, the staff were excellent, always something going on but at the same time if you want to chill its good for that too. Has a cheap bar and pool table plus huge TV, they provide so many services that you would usually pay though the teeth for for free which is great. The area with not the nicest part of town but they tell you that we didn't have any problems over our 3 nights there and the hostel is really safe, but if your not comfortable around staff like that maybe give a miss(you will be missing out). Rooms showers and kitchen all clean an comfortable. The hostel is really central.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ralph W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maniago, Friuli, Italy
Level Contributor
196 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2012

I stayed at Five Elements Hostel for five night, during a conference. The place is really fine: looks quite new, and is very well kept. The room I was in (104) was a 4-bed dorm and it was really very spacious: there are lockers under the beds, bring a padlock (or buy one at reception). Every bed has a reading light and 2 power outlets, which makes it very easy to charge phones and use laptop computers.

Shared bathrooms were somewhat a "design thing", and were also spotlessly clean (they get cleaned 3 times a day). Showers were good as well (even though I suggest the hostel to add a shelf where to actually put soap and shampoo when inside), and they were never crowded: I never had to wait to take a shower or use the bathroom.

The bar downstairs is friendly (as the staff is) and beer is cheap enough. It looks like pasta is the only eating option, though. It's open round the clock (except for food).

WiFi is available for free both in rooms and at the bar.

Hostel is very near (2 minutes walk) to the train station, so handy for airport and such. The city centre is also a stone throw away. Being so near to the main train station, it makes for a good base to visit the beautiful cities in the surroundings (Main, Wiesbaden, ...).

There's a latin dance club just opposite which (at week-ends) closes after 9 AM (!) and has very loud music: it could be very difficult to sleep in rooms overlooking Moselstraße (like the 104 I was in), especially if you need to keep windows open (which was the case when I was there as the climate was really hot).

The area is the Red Light District, which is reported to be safe but frankly it looked to me a bit shady. I don't mind strip clubs and similar things, but people hanging around in the streets were not that great. After the conference social I always returned to the hostel very late at night and the place was full of people openly using drugs (crack, heroin, ...), shouting both at each others and at passers-by. One of the evenings (at 4 AM, I just entered my room) there was a street fight with bottles throwing which involved lots of people before the police came to calm things down: you wouldn't like to find yourself in the middle of such a thing. Worst of all, one morning I woke up, went at the window, and I saw scientific police in white suits marking down evidence with chalk on the sidewalk and on the street: apparently a woman was killed just outside of the hostel that night.
Honestly, I think fights and killings happen between people who actually know each others, so the place is probably actually safe, but I would pay a lot of attention, especially after midnight or so. I would also avoid (parts of) Elbestraße at all, it does really feel unsafe.
The hostel is very safe, though: you have to ring the bell to enter and staff at reception want to at least have a look at you (even though I would have asked to show the hostel keycard as well) before letting you go through.

Even with the problems of this area, I would still recommend this hostel as it is very good. The usual city street smarts should be enough to keep everybody out of trouble.

Room Tip: Try to not stay in the rooms overlooking Moselstraße, as they're very noisy especially during we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lordarthas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon, United States
Level Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2012

I agree with nearly all the foregoing reviews. So, to add: as a nearly 60 year old dude backpacking thru Europe, I was extremely pleased with 5 Elements. Best accommodations I had anywhere, bar none, at a relatively extremely affordable price. Staff was friendly and helpful. If you're young, this is the place to stay. If young at heart, the same. A hostel atmosphere without being imposed upon you; in other words, a sense of community if you want it. Rent a bike; 5 Elements has them to make it super easy. Lastly, if you're not committed to visiting Frankfurt: don't. Not much here, frankly speaking.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Zach S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2012

We stayed here as a stop over between Berlin and the UK, there was a conference on and the whole of Frankfurt was booked up! The hostel was newly refurbished and the toilets and bathrooms were clean and the showers were good. We stayed in a six person dorm, it was quite small, we only encountered a few people who were staying in the same room at any one time but is was a bit awkward squeezing past people as there wasn't much room for people and luggage. Not much natural light in the room as we were at the back. I had a top bunk, each had it's own reading light but the ceiling was quite close to your face so I wouldn't recommend for the claustrophobic! The local transport links were good and you can walk to the main shopping area easily. Nice breakfast area with internet. Security on the main door was good, there were two doors from the street,you needed a pin number to enter and the girls on reception wouldn't buzz you in if they didn't recognise you. This was good as the local area was decidedly ropey, the hostel is located in the red light district with all that that encompasses- sex shops, strip shows,men hanging around etc etc. Felt a little unsafe at night but it is actually safer then than during the day as the doormen chase away any trouble, never the less, I was glad not to be a lone female or with other females. I would say that the drug users and homeless people who hung about the area, particularly during the day through to dusk were more intimidating than anything else. There is a methadone dispenser and drug centre down the road and the users hang around, drink and shout at passers by, we also passed a group of them arguing over a crack pipe they were passing round. They didn't bother us but, having been round the world, I haven't seen such open use of hard drugs in public and the people were in a really bad way, an eye opener to the seedy under-belly of Western culture if ever there was. I would definitely not recommend for families or lone/ small groups of females to stay here.
Frankfurt is centred around the financial sector so is a very functional place, not a lot there for tourists apart from Goethe's house, shopping and a few quite specialist interest museums/galleries.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
55 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2012

I have been lucky enough to stay at many many many hostels all over the world and I have to say that this hostel is so well organized and they have thought of everything. As well as offering a comfy bar / community area the rooms are clean the bathrooms are clean as well as being modern and very comfortable. The prices are perfect a room for 18€ a beer for 2.50€ refundable key and towel deposits. They have special things they do every night like a crepe night they had last night . . . FREE . . . the staff is super friendly and very helpful. Well done 5 Elements hostel. I will most certainly be back to stay here again. It was a DELIGHT.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mattierock19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Frankfurt hotels
Innenstadt
Hotel Concorde
Hotel Concorde
#10 of 267 in Frankfurt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 746 reviews
Innenstadt
Manhattan Hotel
Manhattan Hotel
#15 of 267 in Frankfurt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Innenstadt
NH Collection Frankfurt City
NH Collection Frankfurt City
#6 of 267 in Frankfurt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 595 reviews
Bahnhofsviertel
Holiday Inn Express Frankfurt City Hauptbahnhof
Altstadt
Steigenberger Frankfurter Hof
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Five Elements Hostel Frankfurt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Five Elements Hostel Frankfurt

Property: Five Elements Hostel Frankfurt
Address: Moselstr. 40, 60329 Frankfurt, Hesse, Germany
Location: Germany > Hesse > Frankfurt > Bahnhofsviertel , Innenstadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 41 Specialty Lodging in Frankfurt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Five Elements Hostel Frankfurt 2*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Isn't it strange? Germany's biggest international airport, lots of interesting destinations on the doorstep, but hard to find a bed for a backpacker? From summer 2008 on these times are over! Then, the Five Elements Hostel will open its doors to the public. In a beautiful turn of the century building right in the center of Frankfurt, we created a quality hostel, from scratch, stylish and brand new. The Five Elements Hostel is wholly dedicated to you, the traveler. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Five Elements Hostel Frankfurt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
5 Elements Hostel Frankfurt
Five Elements Hostel Frankfurt Hotel Frankfurt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing