We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This hotel is why you make your own reservations and don't leave it to others.”
Review of Contel Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Contel Hotel
Ranked #31 of 34 Hotels in Darmstadt
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
116 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“This hotel is why you make your own reservations and don't leave it to others.”
Reviewed June 26, 2012

I was stuck at this cheezy nightmare for one week last fall. The place is really run down. I got ,oved into 3 or 4 different rooms just to find one i could easily get into the shower in (if you're physically challenged forget this hotel). No air conditioning (and yes it gets hot in there) and they tried to fake an Italian look in Germany?? I'm so glad that wasn't my first impression of a hotel in EMEA. Food at the little restrauant was really bad - i gave up and hit pizza hut down the street and KFC after the first 2 nights. Oh and door KEY - who uses keys anymore? Took forever to get the door unlocked and trust me, don't drop that thing on your foot. I had the worst waterbed ever and since the whole hotel was booked most the week i slept on the sofa. No toiletries in the room - barely any towels, and forget internet access - i think it's shared dial up. If you are there on business it might work middle of the night but no other times. Trust me anything else is better - i'll never stay there again.

Room Tip: If you are physically challenged and have no choice but to stay here call ahead and validate that yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ladykierra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    14
    19
    22
    9
See reviews for
Families
0
1
8
58
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 24, 2012

I have been working in a project in Darmstadt for a while, so I have gotten a chance to try quite a few hotels. My stay at the Contel Hotel, I have to say left me with a pretty poor experience. First the place is quite run down. The cleaning people I believe do a good job, but the room and lobby still looked quite dirty just because of the aging of the facilities. This included the mattresses and pillows rundown as well. Internet access was absolutely horrible. Not one day was I able to get a proper connection, and forget about using Skype. Also a problem was that 3G coverage in the hotel was quite poor, so not even via the phone was I able to get decent access. The last thing, which I thought was quite disappointing is that whoever provides them taxi service where always cheating you out of money. Caught them several times either taking much longer routes to my work, or even putting the wrong rate tariff for the time of day.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fabrizio B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Darmstadt hotels

Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2012

For a city the size of Darmstadt, I would expect more selection. The best hotel was booked and this was the second choice. I can't believe there is nothing in between. Very basic with the most strange landscaping and interior decorations. My room had rose wallpaper on the ceiling and the hallways were heavily textured like they were hiding flaws. Not worth the price and I would not want to stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rasdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thoiry, France
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2012

This hotel saw better days. It is located in an industrial zone, really ugly area. However, inside the room it was quiet, in my room no noise during the night.

The decoration of the rooms is remarkable, not my taste. From the outside, the hotel reminds me of a medieval castle, with water around part of it. Interesting...

Breakfast was ok, the staff was friendly and the hotel was reasonably clean (this is why I give it "average" and not poor).

Wireless was free, but so slow that it is difficult to use.

I survived 5 nights on a business trip, and will avoid it for the future. For leisure trips I would avoid this hotel!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rudifrance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haifa
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2011

The hotel has a nice interier and friendly staff.
The facilities in are very basic, TV in the room didn't have English chanels and internet connection was very poor.
Would not recommend this hotel for leisure, for business you can take it if there is no better options.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gadol_travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
65 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2010

What was supposed to be a usual business trip turned out to be one of the worst hotel experiences in my life. The hotel (not sure it can actually be called that) is located far out of city centre, it has minimal facilities and the rooms, well... I was one of the unlucky ones to stay in a room on the ground floor. It was smelly and humid not to mention the immediate need of refurbishment.
I did not manage to get much sleep either as one could hear all possible noises through the walls: people alarm clocks, people showering, people walking in the corridors...
Even though there was supposed to be internet access neither me nor any of my colleagues managed to get a connection.
The breakfast was simple but decent.
I would not recommend staying in this hotel to anyone...

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank curi0ustraveller_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2010

The hotel is located at the suburbs of Darmstadt. When arrived, I was accommodated in the seperate building to the main hotel, which was about 500m away. I had to cross the main street to go for breakfast! The hotel promised that there is a wifi in each room, however only in the main building so in my room there was no connection. The room interior was very poor, and the room itself smelly. The only positive thing about the hotel was the breakfast, which was really good. I wouldn't recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank calvin_ch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Darmstadt hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Jungstil
Hotel Jungstil
#17 of 34 in Darmstadt
4.0 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
0.6 mi away
Pallas-Hotel
Pallas-Hotel
#27 of 34 in Darmstadt
3.5 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
1.4 mi away
Best Western Hotel Darmstadt
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
InterCityHotel Darmstadt
InterCityHotel Darmstadt
#7 of 34 in Darmstadt
3.5 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
1.8 mi away
Commundo Tagungshotel
Commundo Tagungshotel
#21 of 34 in Darmstadt
3.0 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
1.8 mi away
H+ Hotel Darmstadt
H+ Hotel Darmstadt
#6 of 34 in Darmstadt
4.0 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Contel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Contel Hotel

Property: Contel Hotel
Address: Otto-Roehm-Str. 90, 64293 Darmstadt, Hesse, Germany
Location: Germany > Hesse > Darmstadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 34 Hotels in Darmstadt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Contel Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 308
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HRS, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Contel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Contel Hotel Darmstadt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing