We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Family Stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Maritim Rhein-Main Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Maritim Rhein-Main Hotel
Ranked #14 of 34 Hotels in Darmstadt
Florence, Kentucky, United States
Level Contributor
135 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Family Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

We recently joined my husband on a business trip to Germany. He picked this hotel because of it has a pool for the kids and it's close to the train station for us. The hotel room it's self is fine. It's about average with the decor and bathroom. It was clean and quite for being right next to the tracks. We loved that we could even walk to downtown Darmstadt for this location too. For a family or a business traveler looking for something with a great location this is it.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shannon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maritim91, Direktion at Maritim Rhein-Main Hotel, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Dear guest,

Thanks a lot for your comment. I am very pleased to hear you and your family enjoyed your stay with us. A positive comment as yours is a motivation for the entire team and helps us to further increase our efforts to satisfy our guests.
It would be my pleasure to welcome you again during a future visit to Darmstadt. Please be assured that we will do our utmost to continue providing you with excellent services.

Yours sincerely

Tanja Knop
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    62
    60
    38
    10
See reviews for
5
9
15
142
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Antwerp
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

If you need to stay in one of the Maritim Hotels, this one is better than the Maritim Konferenzhotel across the street. Better ask for a room on the front side, because a lot of trains pass this place. It needs to be renovated: the rooms are old and not always clean.
The restaurant is not that bad at all: trey are trying hard to serve you good food with a friendly smile. The breakfast can be extremely crowded.
They reduced their prices, but still too expensive for what you get. don't stay there if you don't have a car to get around: it is a long walk to the center via no the most pleasant street.
The sauna is good and the fact that there is a swimming pool is a plus.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank F M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maritim91, Direktion at Maritim Rhein-Main Hotel, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write this comment. I very much regret that you were not fully satisfied with your stay. Naturally a 20 year old hotel such as ours starts to show some wear and tear and cannot easily stand the comparison to a new hotel building. Nevertheless our guests value the quality and service of our employees very highly. Especially the employees of our technical department are constantly repairing and remedying deficiencies.
We are aware that the noise coming from the railway can be a disturbance. For this reason we have installed double-glazed windows in all rooms. That measure may not be sufficient for everyone so we recommend our Comfort rooms facing away from the railway side as you did.
I sincerely apologise for any inconvenience during your stay and do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again on a future visit to Darmstadt. Please be assured that we will do our utmost to provide you with our best services.

Yours sincerely
Tanja Knop
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florence
Level Contributor
113 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012

The hotel is 15 minute walk from the center of Darmstadt and it is very near to the other Maritim Konferenz Hotel.
The rooms are spacious and well equipped but it is clear that the hotel was built long time ago with good standards but never refurbished (e.g. old moquette, old stile TV). The toilet is equipped with phon but the details suggest that also this room is a little bit old.
The continental breakfast is very good and the buffet is quite large but unfortunately is very expensive (around 14-18 euros).
There is the possibility to buy the wifi in the rooms but it was very expensive.
The hotel have a private underground parking (12€/day) and free swimmingpool and sauna.
Last note: I reserved a standard room (paid around 100€/night). When I arrived, the receptionist asked me if I wanted to buy an upgrade because "the standard rooms are over the railways and during the night are noisy". I refused the upgrade (the room price was already high with respect to other hotels in darmstadt) and actually the room was noisy during the night... I was annoyed by this behaviour because I didn't expected it in a 4 star hotel...the next time I was in Darmstadt I reserved in the Konferenzhotel (at least it was not noisy during the night)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AlexBix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maritim91, Direktion at Maritim Rhein-Main Hotel, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay. I very much regret that you were not fully satisfied with your hotel room. Naturally a 20 year old hotel such as ours cannot easily stand the comparison to a new hotel building. Nevertheless our guests value the quality and service of our employees very highly. Especially the employees of our technical department are constantly repairing and remedying deficiencies.
We are aware that the noise coming from the railway can be a disturbance. This is the reason our receptionist asked you if you preferred a quieter room in our Comfort category which does not face the railway tracks. However as it is a different room category which also includes a daily newspaper it has a different price. I am very sorry that you were annoyed and can assure you that our employee by no means wanted to be rude.
I do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again on a future visit to Darmstadt. Please be assured that we will do our utmost to provide you with our best services.

Yours sincerely
Tanja Knop
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
preston
Level Contributor
47 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2012

I was sent to this hotel by Lufthansa after they cancelled a late evening flight from Frankfurt airport which has an 11 pm curfew . I was stressed and tired so I suppose this might add to the negative thoughts behind this review. But the hotel is a dump. After a surly fellow chcked me in- I suppose he wasn't too happy about dealing with a long queue of mostly British stranded Lufthansa passengers- and was unwilling to answer my questions (like how do I get a taxi back to the airport in the morning). The room was dark and dingy, carpet smelled and wallpaper was peeling off. OK so Lufthansa is not going to give me a list of Tripadvisor approved hotels to choose from in a chaotic departures hall after several flight cancellations. But they can surely do better than this place. I got 4 hours sleep through sheer exhaustion and a hot shower- best part of the stay. Departing at 6 am, there was not a soul in the lobby area so I just left my key and got my taxi. The story had a happy ending as I did make my early morning flight back to Manchester despite only being on standby. But my advice to travellers is don't risk a late evening flight from Frankfurt or you will end up at the Hotel Maritim, Darmstadt.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank robatleyland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maritim91, Direktion at Maritim Rhein-Main Hotel, responded to this review, July 17, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to comment on your unexpected stay in June. I understand your anger and dissatisfaction with the situation as I have made a similar experience in the past myself. Being moved to a hotel instead of flying out to your desired destination is very stressful - for all parties involved.
That is why I am sure our front desk employee did not mean to be impolite or inconsiderate. He rather wanted to serve everybody as quickly as possible. To further complicate things we did not receive sufficient information from the airline when you were sent to our hotel and were somewhat caught by surprise when your group of stranded passengers arrived.
I am sorry and deeply regret that we failed to make this experience any easier or more comfortable for you. Surely this was not what you had planned for that particular evening and night. I admit that as a 20 year old hotel we cannot easily stand the comparison to a new hotel building. Nevertheless I do hope you will accept my sincere apologies for all inconvenience you encountered during your stay. It would be my pleasure to welcome you during a future trip to the Frankfurt area so we can provide you with our best services.

Yours sincerely

Tanja Knop
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Darmstadt hotels

Loughborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2012

Absolutely fine as a mid-range hotel being clean, comfortable and having large airy rooms. Agree that the decor is showing it's age but as a business hotel it is convenient for a walk to the city centre and to my office approximately a one minute walk away. Staff are very helpful and friendly. The lack of free WiFi in the rooms is a bad omission. When any refurbishment is undertaken I recommend that this is considered.

Room Tip: If you are a very light sleeper ask for a room on the front of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jarv644
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Direktion at Maritim Rhein-Main Hotel, responded to this review, July 2, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay. I am pleased to hear you were satisfied with our hotel.
As you have stated a 20 year old hotel such as ours cannot hold out easily against a new hotel building. Nevertheless our guests very much appreciate our service and the friendliness of our employees, as you did.
Thank you also for your recommendation regarding free WiFi in the rooms which we will take into consideration.
A positive comment as yours is always a source of motivation and helps us to further increase our efforts to satisfy our guests. It would be my pleasure to welcome you again during a future visit to Darmstadt. Please be assured that we will do our utmost to continue providing you with excellent services.

Yours sincerely

Tanja Knop
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen
Level Contributor
60 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2012

I don't know if every freighttrain passing through Germany must pass Darmstadt.. but when a mile long freighttrqin passes every 15 min. throughout the night... lets just say that you don't get heaps of sleep..

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mcivan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maritim91, Direktion at Maritim Rhein-Main Hotel, responded to this review, April 2, 2012
Dear guest,

Thanks a lot for taking the time to comment on your stay. I very much regret that you were not satisfied with your room due to the noise coming from the trains.
We are aware that this noise clearly can be a disturbance. For this reason we have installed double-glazed windows in all rooms. That measure may not be sufficient for everyone so we recommend our Comfort rooms facing away from the railway side.
I sincerely apologise for all inconvenience you encountered during your stay. Still I do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again on a future visit to Darmstadt. Please be assured that we will do our utmost to provide you with our best services.

Yours sincerely

Tanja Knop
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potenza, Italy
Level Contributor
93 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 197 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2012

This hotel is situated near to the Darmastad train station. The room are large an comfortable but the rate is expensive. Comfortable is the bath room as comfortable is the bed. Due to the vicinity to the train station, if you have light sleep ask for a room in the higher floors, where the train noise decreases.
Despite the high rate there is no free hot spot for the net.
Unfortunately I don't enjoyed the SPA.

Room Tip: Room in higher floors have less train noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Guido M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maritim91, Direktion at Maritim Rhein-Main Hotel, responded to this review, April 2, 2012
Dear guest,

Thanks a lot for taking the time to comment on your stay. I am sorry that you were not completely satisfied with that stay.
We are aware that the noise coming from the trains clearly can be a disturbance. For this reason we have installed double-glazed windows in all rooms. That measure may not be sufficient for everyone so we recommend our Comfort rooms facing away from the railway side or rooms on a higher floor as you did.
For short-term internet access we provide a small business centre in our hotel lobby that may be used free of charge as an alternative to our WiFi offer with cost.
I sincerely apologise for all inconvenience you encountered during your stay. Still I do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again on a future visit to Darmstadt. Please be assured that we will do our utmost to provide you with our best services.

Yours sincerely

Tanja Knop
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Darmstadt hotels
0.1 mi away
Maritim Konferenzhotel Darmstadt
0.3 mi away
InterCityHotel Darmstadt
InterCityHotel Darmstadt
#7 of 34 in Darmstadt
3.5 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
1.3 mi away
Welcome Hotel Darmstadt
Welcome Hotel Darmstadt
#1 of 34 in Darmstadt
4.0 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Ibis Budget Darmstadt City
Ibis Budget Darmstadt City
#8 of 34 in Darmstadt
3.5 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
0.7 mi away
H+ Hotel Darmstadt
H+ Hotel Darmstadt
#6 of 34 in Darmstadt
4.0 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hotel Jagdschloss Kranichstein
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maritim Rhein-Main Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maritim Rhein-Main Hotel

Property: Maritim Rhein-Main Hotel
Address: Am Kavalleriesand 6, 64295 Darmstadt, Hesse, Germany
Location: Germany > Hesse > Darmstadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Darmstadt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Maritim Rhein-Main Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 248
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Maritim Rhein-Main Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maritim Rhein Main Darmstadt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing