We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best restaurant in Darmstadt there is!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mezzo Restaurant

Mezzo Restaurant
Ranked #27 of 368 Restaurants in Darmstadt
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $37
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean, European, Central European, German, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Romantic, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Darmstadt, Germany
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best restaurant in Darmstadt there is!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

I live in Darmstadt and therefore know a lot of restaurants in the area. Mezzo was and stays the best restaurant there is. It recently moved to a new bigger location only a few hundred meters to the north but preserved its cosy and beautiful atmosphere. The service is very good, you will always feel welcome. The food served is excellent. Be sure to go there hungry and with enough time to really enjoy your amazing dinner.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Simone S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    44
    19
    1
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, TX
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best restaurant period!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2012

I'm here on business for 10 nights and I've probably eaten at Mezzo for 6 of them. The owners and some of the wait staffs know me by name.

The restaurant is very cozy and beautifully decorated. The chairs are leather. It's just a great relaxing atmosphere. The service is excellent. The Europeans know how to enjoy dinner, so expect to spend a few hours. You never feel rush.

The food is AMAZING!!! I told the owners they need to take more pictures of their incredible dishes. I guarantee you will not be disappointed. The price is pretty reasonable for the quality of food and service. I don't drink alcohol (usually order mineral water), but most of my dinners cost around 25 - 35 euros.

My favorite dishes are:
* Potato soup with salmon
* Any fish dish (or the filet)
* Apple strudel (pie)

The restaurant is pack almost every night (even on weekdays). I would HIGHLY recommend calling and making a reservation. If you go alone or with a boyfriend/girlfriend, then they maybe able to sit you. If you have a large party and show up hoping to get seated, then you may be out of luck.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank tranpeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best Restaurant in Darmstadt”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2012

No doubt its my favorite restaurant in this city, It has a nice atmosphere with great service, we were greeted very warmly, the place its really confortable to enjoy a good meal!
I also went for lunch and they have a special menu every day for a good price.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lita80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee
Level Contributor
157 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Recommended if you are in the area”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

I ate here one evening while on business in the area with a very large group. The food, wine, surroundings and service were all great. We had a set menu due to the number of us. The food served was of a very high standard and the Tiramisu was to die for!! Easy to get to as directly on the tram route. Recommended if you are in the area.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SleeplessInDundee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Charming bistro, great food, fantastic service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2011

After a week of German brew pubs we were ready for something less "porky." Mezzo was perfect. Situated in a lovely neighborhood, the homemade pasta dishes were divine. Great service from personable staff as well.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sarareimers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mezzo Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Mezzo Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing