We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best restaurant in Darmstadt there is!”
Review of Mezzo Restaurant

Mezzo Restaurant
Ranked #26 of 377 Restaurants in Darmstadt
Price range: $10 - $37
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Mezzo is fresh international cuisine with mediterranean flair, served in a stylish yet cosy atmosphere with a heartfelt smile. Order a fine glass of wine or an ice cold draft beer. Enjoy delicious pasta, a fresh salad or a creative dish from our daily specials. In the summer months you can enjoy our inviting garden seating area with waterfall.
Darmstadt, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best restaurant in Darmstadt there is!”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

I live in Darmstadt and therefore know a lot of restaurants in the area. Mezzo was and stays the best restaurant there is. It recently moved to a new bigger location only a few hundred meters to the north but preserved its cosy and beautiful atmosphere. The service is very good, you will always feel welcome. The food served is excellent. Be sure to go there hungry and with enough time to really enjoy your amazing dinner.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Simone S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    48
    22
    1
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, TX
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best restaurant period!”
Reviewed December 4, 2012

I'm here on business for 10 nights and I've probably eaten at Mezzo for 6 of them. The owners and some of the wait staffs know me by name.

The restaurant is very cozy and beautifully decorated. The chairs are leather. It's just a great relaxing atmosphere. The service is excellent. The Europeans know how to enjoy dinner, so expect to spend a few hours. You never feel rush.

The food is AMAZING!!! I told the owners they need to take more pictures of their incredible dishes. I guarantee you will not be disappointed. The price is pretty reasonable for the quality of food and service. I don't drink alcohol (usually order mineral water), but most of my dinners cost around 25 - 35 euros.

My favorite dishes are:
* Potato soup with salmon
* Any fish dish (or the filet)
* Apple strudel (pie)

The restaurant is pack almost every night (even on weekdays). I would HIGHLY recommend calling and making a reservation. If you go alone or with a boyfriend/girlfriend, then they maybe able to sit you. If you have a large party and show up hoping to get seated, then you may be out of luck.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tranpeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best Restaurant in Darmstadt”
Reviewed November 30, 2012

No doubt its my favorite restaurant in this city, It has a nice atmosphere with great service, we were greeted very warmly, the place its really confortable to enjoy a good meal!
I also went for lunch and they have a special menu every day for a good price.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lita80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee
Level 6 Contributor
168 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Recommended if you are in the area”
Reviewed September 27, 2012

I ate here one evening while on business in the area with a very large group. The food, wine, surroundings and service were all great. We had a set menu due to the number of us. The food served was of a very high standard and the Tiramisu was to die for!! Easy to get to as directly on the tram route. Recommended if you are in the area.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SleeplessInDundee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Charming bistro, great food, fantastic service!”
Reviewed September 16, 2011

After a week of German brew pubs we were ready for something less "porky." Mezzo was perfect. Situated in a lovely neighborhood, the homemade pasta dishes were divine. Great service from personable staff as well.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sarareimers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mezzo Restaurant also viewed

 
Darmstadt, Hesse
Darmstadt, Hesse
 
Darmstadt, Hesse
 

Been to Mezzo Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing