We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The only thing here that wasn't old were the antiques.”
Review of Hotel Mystique

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Mystique
Ranked #2 of 7 Bad Homburg B&B and Inns
Reviewed June 21, 2014

The guy who runs this place was a bit of an oddball. I'm sure he meant well but he communicated like an idiot. My German is not super, but my German friend couldn't make much of it either. The guy got upset when I wanted to park my car backwards in the parking spot 'cause then I couldn't get OU-OUT!' So I parked nose first, whatever, and then I couldn't get back I-IN because of the Merc parked 5 cm from mine when I wanted to leave. We hàd to leave our luggage in the hall and pay for our rooms first. Then the guy had to check on a piece of paper where I could find my room; somewhere upstairs. And he was gone, leaving me to struggle with my suitcase and 4 stairs. The room was run-down, the furniture too old and shabby to want to sit on. The bed was ok though, as was the bathroom. A bit '80's but clean. The streetnoise went on until midnight but it was too hot in the room to close the window. The breakfast was 'alright', nothing special. Upon leaving for the day and worming myself back into my car, an other car was parked behind mine. This turned out to be the car of the breakfast-lady who seamed rather annoyed that I didn't ask her to move her car ... As if we all know which is hers ... My god! This attitude :$
Lesson learned; always book your own hotel cause for €80,- a night (which is a lot for German standards) we could have stayed in the Steigenberger too!

Room Tip: In an other hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (58)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

7 - 13 of 58 reviews

Reviewed June 1, 2014

As a regular business traveler to the region the most precious lesson learnt is avoiding "fully booked" fair periods. Because otherwise you are stuck in small, dirty, stinky hotel rooms for the price of grand luxury 5 star hotels in normal times. This Hotel is the same for me everything is bad. Room, bathroom, breakfast all much below average and extremely priced. I would avoid this hotel for the future.

Room Tip: The only tip to choose a good room is not booking i this hotel..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NesetK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2014

This is my 2nd stay at this hotel, and I can't wait for my 3rd. Great price for a nice clean bed, bathroom, and breakfast. Staff is very courteous and helpful. Can use all public transportation systems the Frankfurt metro area offers i.e. it cost me a whopping 5E to travel all the way to Frankfurt International airport via bus and train. Wonderful city full of nice shops, cafes, etc., also a great central park for exercise. Give this place a try, you will come back just like me.

Room Tip: Ask Rapheal, he will fix you right up
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ray S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2014

Charming hotel with big rooms.
The shower in the room (in a sort of non transparent glass cubicle is a bit weird) but it works !
Difficult to park your car... so you'll have to park it in a parking facility (one is close by, and one overnight parking was 8.20 euro's)
Breakfast is lovely... more than enough choice and i especially appreciated the coffeemaker that grinds the beans and makes a fresh cop !

We will be back !

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stockychaser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2014

My stay was wonderful, the hotel staff were outstanding especially Raphael "Reservations". My room was exceptionally clean, warm, and comfortable. Breakfast was more than I could begin to eat. I intend to make this hotel a regular stay on future trips to Germany. The best value in the Frankfurt area. Take my advice and book a room, and enjoy Bad Homburg.

Room Tip: Ask Raphael for his advice, just let him know what you need, and he will fix you right up. Go and E...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ray S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2014

It's a 19th century mansion.
Very well located, very cozy, spacious clean rooms, several restaurants nearby (Italian, Spanish tapas bar, German).
Good enough breakfast, friendly staff.
Tea-coffee bags and a kettle in room.
In short, everything is just fine about the place.
The only drawback may be the absence of elevator and rather steep staircase.
Highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Osakasenba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2013

I'm surprised that the high ratings of other travellers was not reflected in what I found to be a very average (or lower) hotel.

Sure the guy is friendly, but the place needs money spending on it. Almost everything (except the antiques) needs updating. Carpets and facilities dont look clean in my opinion, and breakfast was simple and nothing special.

Large quantity of fragrance sticks in the main public areas, and difficult to clear from the bedroom even with both windows open. I didnt enjoy that strong smell, and it gave me the impression they were there to cover over a background staleness because the place is old and not that clean.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RegTraveller143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bad Homburg hotels
0.3 mi away
Steigenberger Hotel Bad Homburg
0.3 mi away
Hotel Haus am Park
Hotel Haus am Park
#9 of 16 in Bad Homburg
56 reviews
0.1 mi away
Maritim Hotel Bad Homburg
Maritim Hotel Bad Homburg
#2 of 16 in Bad Homburg
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Hotel Erlenbacherhof
Hotel Erlenbacherhof
#5 of 16 in Bad Homburg
37 reviews
0.4 mi away
Comfort Hotel Am Kurpark
Comfort Hotel Am Kurpark
#11 of 16 in Bad Homburg
60 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Zum Loewen
Hotel Zum Loewen
#7 of 16 in Bad Homburg
24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mystique? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mystique

Address: Elisabethenstr. 42, 61348 Bad Homburg, Hesse, Germany (Formerly Hotel Haus Daheim)
Location: Germany > Hesse > Bad Homburg
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Bad Homburg
Price Range: $88 - $275 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Mystique 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Mystique a Boutique Hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Mystique reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing