We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic, friendly, professional in a historic setting”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Romantik Hotel Zum Stern
Ranked #1 of 6 Bad Hersfeld B&B and Inns
Rhodes Town, Greece
Level 5 Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Romantic, friendly, professional in a historic setting”
Reviewed October 4, 2009

Just by chance we found this gem of a romantic hotel in the historic center of this popular holiday resort town.
Initially we stopped just for lunch in the very attractive surroundings of the hotel's restaurant.We enjoyed first class treatment as well as delicious food.
We decided to spend the night at the hotel. We stayed in a spacious renovated room overlooking the town square.
Very nicely decorated with respect to the history of the building that dates some 1000 years.
Dinner equally enjoyable surrounded by smiling faces serving excellent dishes.
The most complete breakfast buffet is set up early in the morning that includes an amazing selection of offerings. Exemplary spotless environment throughout.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pervanet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    28
    10
    7
    2
See reviews for
5
28
5
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Riyadh
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 29, 2008

The hotel was overbooked. I had problems to get a room. The one i got was very small and not good cleaned. The bathroom was tiny and behind the bed i have found some really interesting things... One thing was really nice: The hotel is in the middle of the centre. If you like to go out, you can reach every place in only a few minutes. But i did not like the service in the hotel. The staff was unkind and always too busy to help me. I had dinner in the hotel and i was not satisfied with the kitchen, too. My meat was very very well done, and not really hot. Last but not least - breakfast! There is nothing more to say than the breakfast was the worst i ever had in a hotel!

  • Liked — Place of the hotel
  • Disliked — Staff, rooms, kitchen
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Blackman091167
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oslo
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2007

We stayed 1 night and had a room on the top floor overlooking the backyard with the parking. The room was spacious, had 2 windows and was well furnished. The bathroom had 1 window which is very nice. The bathroom itself was big but very modest and with very little space to put your own toilet requisites. So to the problem. The bathroom did not have a W.C. The W.C. room was separte and it was so small that it was almost difficult to sit down, very unpleasant. We do not understand how a tall person could use it. However, the hotel is nice, clean and well kept. The location is great. The staff was friendly and helpful. We had dinner in the restaurant with regional seasonal cuisine. The food was good, but nothing special. The breakfast was good. It is a nice hotel for one or two nights.

  • Liked — Everything was clean and well kept
  • Disliked — Very small W.C. room
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank axelOslo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2006

A very nice hotel. The employees were very helpful and spoke very good English. My impression is that it is a hotel to stay a few days and get the spa treatments done. We had a room on the top floor. It was very large and with a large bathroom (it has a bath and a shower). Very clean and comfortable. Breakfast was included in the price and it was the traditional Germany buffet style which we love. It is located in the center of the village so it is easy to have a look around. The hotel has a restaurant but there are several to choose from around the hotel. We have stayed in several Romantik hotels and have never been disappointed.

  • Stayed April 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank mhgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2006

After long hours on the autobahn, this was a perfect stop. Nice and welcoming staff, excellent food (we had a chateaubriand in the cheapest restaurant that was heavenly), beautiful little town and a cosy room with beams and all. We'll be back!

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sillstryparn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed February 7, 2006

I am writting years later but I remember like it was yesterday. How many hotels are like that? I loved the time I spent there. That's why I remember.

The breakfast was enough till dinner. The dinners were also great. The whole staff was helpful and really tried to please. The entire hotel is spotless.

"Old World" charm fills the hotel the way the platz outside is filled on market day. Try the "Tilly Zimmer" or any room on the platz.

I'd go back in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed September 2000
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed August 12, 2003

My wife and I stayed at the Romantik Zum Stern for three nights at the end of May 2003. I had been stationed in Bad Hersfeld from 1960 to 1963, and was returning for the first time. My wife had never been to Germany. We were very happy with the room (we had requested a room in the old section, and that is what we got). The room overlooked the platz below. The room was everything we expected, clean, roomy, and very pleasant. The service was friendly and helpful from the beginning to end. The included breakfast was more than ample and delicious. My wife became a real fan of German breads and cold meats. The hotel restaurant was much better than we hoped for - in fact we ended up eating there every nite. I heartily recommend this facility to anyone looking for comfort, excellent value, and great food (and a real German experience).

Helpful?
9 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bad Hersfeld
0.5 mi away
Hotel Thermalis
Hotel Thermalis
#4 of 8 in Bad Hersfeld
60 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel am Kurpark
Hotel am Kurpark
#3 of 8 in Bad Hersfeld
53 reviews
0.1 mi away
B&F Hotel am Neumarkt
B&F Hotel am Neumarkt
#5 of 8 in Bad Hersfeld
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Haus am Park
Hotel Haus am Park
#2 of 8 in Bad Hersfeld
34 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Sleep & Go
Hotel Sleep & Go
#1 of 8 in Bad Hersfeld
46 reviews
6.6 mi away
Gobels Schlosshotel "Prinz von Hessen"
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Romantik Hotel Zum Stern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Romantik Hotel Zum Stern

Property: Romantik Hotel Zum Stern
Address: Linggplatz 11, 36251 Bad Hersfeld, Hesse, Germany
Location: Germany > Hesse > Bad Hersfeld
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Bad Hersfeld
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Romantik Hotel Zum Stern 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Romantic-Hotel Zum Stern,the historical setting is just as authentic as our hospitality. Enjoy comfortable rooms and an awarded cuisine at the gourmetrestaurant L'étable and Stern's Restaurant. You find us directly at the Linggplatz in old town Bad Hersfeld. By car via Webergasse. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your Romantik Hotel Zum Stern reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing