We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, but best for a party of 2”
Review of Bistro Vienna

Bistro Vienna
Ranked #158 of 3,710 Restaurants in Hamburg
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night
Neighborhood: Eimsbüttel
Woodland Hills, CA
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great food, but best for a party of 2”
Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

The food here was great, but be prepared to wait. This place is not meant for a large party. We had 4 in our party and waited almost 2 hours to be seated. Other parties of 2 were able to be seated earlier. We went on a weekday, and arrived around 7:45pm. Other advise us to be there before 7pm, advise we should have taken. I was pleased with the food, but not quite worth the long wait.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank shabafrooz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    21
    5
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“lovely food but had to wait”
Reviewed March 31, 2013

We arrived at 9.30 but on a saturday night so were told we had to wait but it was only 15/20 mins for the two os us. the restaurant is tiny so not suitable for bigger parties as you cannot book. The small room meant there was a lovely atmosphere and the waiter was also wonderful helping with the german menu. Food was excellent and just what we wanted from an austrian/german restaurant. not too expensive about 80euro for 2 people with wine..beware water is 6.50 though! also dont take credit cards but highly recommended!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lydia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California, United States
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great food, but you will have to wait”
Reviewed February 1, 2013

My husband and I visited on Wednesday night around 8pm and were not seated until just after 9, but had a drink at the bar. We met a nice couple there so they asked if we could all sit together. The food was delicious and fairly reasonably priced. I would certainly go again, even with the wait because it was a very comfortable restaurant.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CaliforniaUSA123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good atmosphere, honest food”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Very warm and welcoming place. Small and cosy. No reservations taken so it's best to arrive early. Fresh food and great service.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dortmund, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Fantastic food and staff”
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Half the charm at this place is generated by how small and tucked away it is. The other half comes from the friendly, efficient staff and scrumptious food. The ever-changing menu offers something for every taste, and the prices are within reason. Highly recommended.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ana_era
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bistro Vienna also viewed

 
Hamburg, Germany
 

Been to Bistro Vienna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing