We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just fantastic” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Picasso

Picasso
Ranked #8 of 3,583 Restaurants in Hamburg
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mediterranean, European, Spanish, Seafood, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Families with children, Business meetings, Bar scene, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Hamburg-Altstadt
Hamburg
Level Contributor
136 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Just fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013 via mobile

Always whem we are in Hamburg, we take a short rest, or sometime more in this lovelly restaurant.
Everybody is so nice and friendly and the food is really delicious.

I'm recommending for those who likes tapas, good wine.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank barthap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

402 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    257
    114
    20
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Clermont-Ferrand, France
Level Contributor
80 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great Spanish restaurant!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

Our husband and me spent a week in Germany and we believe that out best meal was in Picasso. The Staff is absolutely fabulous and food was tasty and homely. I had selection of tapas, vegetarian and my husband pork and we thoroughly enjoyed it. It was simple and delicious. Restaurant is simple, without fuss (toilets could benefit of little updating and better ventilation) but what matters is a GREAT FOOD AND FABULOUS STAFF!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Barbara d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arnhem, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
70 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Genuine Spanish restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013

Once we stepped into the restaurant we started feeling a little bit like we were in Spain. The stuff would only speak Spanish to each other, and the daily menu for lunch was very tasty and with a reasonable price. The house wine was delicious (we had the rosé) and the service was excellent. We'll surely go back when visiting Hamburg!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank NLvale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fresh food, kind staff, nice atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2012

It is a really good Spanish place to eat. Prices are affordable, staff is really kind and helpful. Everyone talks English, German and Spanish. The food is delicious and everything is fresh. Brilliant!! Defiantly coming back if I'm in Hamburg. :)

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kamilla G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Dinner at Picasso's - Cena en Picasso (bilingue)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2012

WOW! what a good time we had here. everything was perfect!
The night started with some tapas for us to share: Albondigas (meatballs) y Chipirones (small fried squid), which the waiter helped us choose. My friend have never had spanish food before, he is from the states, and he was very reluctant, however as soon as he tried the homemade "Alioli" (garlic mayonnaise) and the spanish olives, he was already in love with the place. After those we had Empanada Gallega (tuna fish pastry), Iberico Ham Croquetes and OMG these were orgasmic. For mains then we shared a seafood Picasso Paella and my friend got some Spaguetti with Praws. I've had paella before outside Spain (I was living there for 6 years) and my experiences in Europe have mostly been pretty poor, so my expectations were not very high, however i was pleasantly surprised to find that this paella is easily the best one i've ever had! All the ingredients tasted like the ones I used to have in Spain!. I would like to publicly thank the waiters and owner, Victor, who provided us with such a memorable evening. I'm sure that many of you guys are thinking about the price and that's was good too! because the price was on the average side, which I found marvelous due to the quality of the food, place and service!. I will happily go back there to have dinner once a week! (until I have tried every tapa in the menu!).

Wow, que bien lo pasamos en este restaurant! todo fue perfecto!!
La cena comenzó con algunas tapas para compartir: Albondigas y Chipirones (calamares pequeños fritos), que el camarero nos ayudó a elegir. Mi amigo no había probado nunca comida Española, él es americano, y estaba un poco nervioso e inseguro al respecto, pero apenas probó el alioli casero y las aceitunas se enamoró del lugar. Luego de esas tapas probamos la Empanada Gallega y las Croquetas de Jamón Iberico y tengo que decirlo, estaban para chuparse los dedos!. Luego llegaron los platos principales compartimos una paella de mariscos Picasso y unos espaguetis con gambas. Cada vez que he comido paella fuera de España siempre las he encontrado bastante repelentes, ya que nunca sabían a Paella, pero aquí he tenido una grata sorpresa ya que esta fue, fácilmente, una de las mejores paellas que he probado en mi vida!. Los ingredientes sabían igual a aquellos que comía en España.
También me gustaría agradecer públicamente al camarero que nos atendió y a Victor (su dueño) por una atención magnífica! y por hacer de esa cena una velada memorable.
Estoy seguro que muchos de ustedes se estarán preguntando por el precio y tengo buenas noticias, el precio fue normal! y eso es bueno porque si tomamos en cuenta la calidad de la comida, el sitio y la atención, hasta me ha parecido económico. Volvería a cenar a Picasso por lo menos una vez por semana hasta probar todas las tapas del menú!.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank FedeP2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Picasso also viewed

 

Been to Picasso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing