We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fresh food, kind staff, nice atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Picasso

Picasso
Ranked #9 of 3,605 Restaurants in Hamburg
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mediterranean, European, Spanish, Seafood, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Hamburg-Altstadt
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fresh food, kind staff, nice atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2012

It is a really good Spanish place to eat. Prices are affordable, staff is really kind and helpful. Everyone talks English, German and Spanish. The food is delicious and everything is fresh. Brilliant!! Defiantly coming back if I'm in Hamburg. :)

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kamilla G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

420 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    268
    118
    22
    5
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Dinner at Picasso's - Cena en Picasso (bilingue)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2012

WOW! what a good time we had here. everything was perfect!
The night started with some tapas for us to share: Albondigas (meatballs) y Chipirones (small fried squid), which the waiter helped us choose. My friend have never had spanish food before, he is from the states, and he was very reluctant, however as soon as he tried the homemade "Alioli" (garlic mayonnaise) and the spanish olives, he was already in love with the place. After those we had Empanada Gallega (tuna fish pastry), Iberico Ham Croquetes and OMG these were orgasmic. For mains then we shared a seafood Picasso Paella and my friend got some Spaguetti with Praws. I've had paella before outside Spain (I was living there for 6 years) and my experiences in Europe have mostly been pretty poor, so my expectations were not very high, however i was pleasantly surprised to find that this paella is easily the best one i've ever had! All the ingredients tasted like the ones I used to have in Spain!. I would like to publicly thank the waiters and owner, Victor, who provided us with such a memorable evening. I'm sure that many of you guys are thinking about the price and that's was good too! because the price was on the average side, which I found marvelous due to the quality of the food, place and service!. I will happily go back there to have dinner once a week! (until I have tried every tapa in the menu!).

Wow, que bien lo pasamos en este restaurant! todo fue perfecto!!
La cena comenzó con algunas tapas para compartir: Albondigas y Chipirones (calamares pequeños fritos), que el camarero nos ayudó a elegir. Mi amigo no había probado nunca comida Española, él es americano, y estaba un poco nervioso e inseguro al respecto, pero apenas probó el alioli casero y las aceitunas se enamoró del lugar. Luego de esas tapas probamos la Empanada Gallega y las Croquetas de Jamón Iberico y tengo que decirlo, estaban para chuparse los dedos!. Luego llegaron los platos principales compartimos una paella de mariscos Picasso y unos espaguetis con gambas. Cada vez que he comido paella fuera de España siempre las he encontrado bastante repelentes, ya que nunca sabían a Paella, pero aquí he tenido una grata sorpresa ya que esta fue, fácilmente, una de las mejores paellas que he probado en mi vida!. Los ingredientes sabían igual a aquellos que comía en España.
También me gustaría agradecer públicamente al camarero que nos atendió y a Victor (su dueño) por una atención magnífica! y por hacer de esa cena una velada memorable.
Estoy seguro que muchos de ustedes se estarán preguntando por el precio y tengo buenas noticias, el precio fue normal! y eso es bueno porque si tomamos en cuenta la calidad de la comida, el sitio y la atención, hasta me ha parecido económico. Volvería a cenar a Picasso por lo menos una vez por semana hasta probar todas las tapas del menú!.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FedeP2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eger, Hungary
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Very tasty and authentic spanish food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012

They offer great dishes with carefully selected ingredients on a bit high price, but it wort it. They also have an excellent drink selection (good wines and also nice beers) and both dishes and drinks are served with a distinguished attention to details. The staff are very attentive and both the chef and the waiters are one of the best in town. Definitely worth a visit!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank komuvesphoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Awesome food, very cordial staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2012

I´ve known this restaurant for over two decades: Never has its quality gone down. Owner Victor and his great staff (esp. Julian & Lukas!) do a wonderful job. The place is always packed, reservations are a must after 6pm! Try "Chipirones a la Plancha", unsurpassed and plenty on the plate. Prices still moderate, esp. for fish. Location very convenient 50 meters/yards away from City Hall. a must for fish lovers1

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank eeggers46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
80 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Slow service and overpriced food”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2011


We wanted to order tapas but the menu did not include the all the tapas dishes so it seemed like rather small menu so we had not decided what we wanted to eat when waiter arrived. He was nice and suggests that he pick something for us. The they start serving one tapa at the time and you had to wait for agees for next to arrive. So when meattapas arrived the potatos were cold. The food was also to greasy, overcooked and tasted old. I would not recommend to eat tapas here

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank meten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Picasso also viewed

 

Been to Picasso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing