We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic! Highly recommend.”
Review of ANNO 1905

ANNO 1905
Ranked #210 of 3,624 Restaurants in Hamburg
Cuisines: German, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Altona-Altstadt
Level Contributor
57 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Fantastic! Highly recommend.”
Reviewed March 17, 2014 via mobile

Charming atmosphere, friendly staff, incredibly delicious food, generous servings and very reasonably priced. Anno 1905 was so good we went back the next night too.

Helpful?
1 Thank Cattytraveler11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    51
    8
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Belper, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Excellent food and excellent staff”
Reviewed December 19, 2013

We were recommended this restaurant and I must say that we were very impressed.

The bar itself does not seem to have changed since it was set up in the early 20th century, but this adds to the charm.

The food served was freshly prepared, hot and appetizing and the portions were HUGE.

What I found particularly nice was that the owner, Bernd, was very helpful by speaking English to us as our German is so bad.

Without doubt we would eat there again and have no hesitation in recommending it to others.

Thank you to Bernd and all his staff - especially the chef!!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Man-on-the-bus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trollhattan, Sweden
Level Contributor
47 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A charmful old style German restaurant”
Reviewed October 10, 2012

May be is the old style original furniture, with its 9th century huge lamp hanging from the ceiling and the massive wood bar but, more probably, is the tasty, rich and traditional german food that makes the difference here, in this charmful corner near Holstenstrasse bahn station. If you are searching for a restoring, hot and huge dish full of German taste well...you found it! I got the Karotten-Orangen-Ingwer soup and was delicious despite not being one of the best traditional main courses on the menu. The Goulash is also very tasty. I'll sure go back as I live quite near. Chiara

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ChiaraR78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hannover, Germany
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great German food and rustic atmosphere next to the "Neue Flora" musical theater”
Reviewed February 5, 2012

Anno 1905 is a nice little bar and restaurant with rustic german food. We went there prior to a musical visit in the "Neue Flora" theater which is just some meters away. Free parking was possible just around the corner of the restaurant.

The staff was very friendly and the food was great at a reasonable price. The atmosphere is also quite nice, though sitting at the door was a little cold that winter day.

All in all a great choice for all musical fans in search of some nice food right next to the theater. Be there early (or make a reservation), at 18:30 all seats were taken and new guests had to wait.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Maschine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
152 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Nice typical old german restaurant”
Reviewed December 11, 2011

Nice atmosphere, just what we expected. Old fashioned, like a museum in fact.

Typical german food, we did all go for the schnitzel, a good choice. Huge schnitzel, and good value for money.

Iif you are looking for something really german outside the main road, go here. If you are looking for a fancy restarant, go anywhere else.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank reisefan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed ANNO 1905 also viewed

 
Hamburg, Germany
Hamburg, Germany
 
Hamburg, Germany
 

Been to ANNO 1905? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing