We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only for grill geeks”
Review of Koz Urfa

Koz Urfa
Ranked #172 of 3,627 Restaurants in Hamburg
Price range: $7 - $22
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Trollhattan, Sweden
Level Contributor
47 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Only for grill geeks”
Reviewed February 22, 2013

This place is perfect for grilled meat lovers with medium expectations or a big family to feed. The restaurant has a typical turkish style and the service is quick and friendly. However if you are really a grill expert you might notice the slight taste of coke on the meat and the burned spot on the vegetables, which give not a pleasant smoked taste to everything. And what's worse...they do not serve alcoholic drinks!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ChiaraR78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    72
    14
    3
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Turkish barbecue at its best”
Reviewed January 12, 2013

Köz Urfa is not a fancy place, it is a crowdedrestaurant where families sit and dine, children walk around and the TV runs all of the time. However, its food is amazing - especially the grilled meat dishes. They all come from the charcoal barbecue and they taste like that, too. Everything seems to be fresh. Portions are huge - if you order the Köz Urfa plate (mixed grill with rice, bulgur, salad and sauces) for 2 persons, 3 adults might be satisfied. Try the Pide, too. Hamburg has some other great Turkish Barbecue houses, but this one has so far been the best we have visited. Enjoy your meal.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WonderfulWorld2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
37 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Halal food but not written at the front”
Reviewed June 29, 2012 via mobile

It serves Anatolian's food. The food is halal even though it is not indicated so. My husband's cousins brought us here and we are all muslims. Just ask them to ensure that the food is halal. I didn't ask as I trusted my own relatives. The toilet is amazing though. On the way there, they have it themed like the jungle. The ladies toilet will have the sound of the birds while the gentlemen's toilet will have the sound of the monkeys! That was the highlight I guess! Hahaha

Helpful?
1 Thank SafiahArshad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redlands, California, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent food with a hint of German service”
Reviewed June 28, 2012

This restaurant was a great surprise. It is located right next to the Altona train station and has the best Turkish food I had in a long time. The owner/manager went out of his way to seat us outside and most of the staff was very friendly. Our server got somewhat impatient with our questions, he was ready to take the order when we were not. The food was delicious. I can recommend the platter, it comes with everything for 13€.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wolfhall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
96 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“good but not great”
Reviewed May 31, 2012

I ran into this place to try some turkish food after a long time and Hamburg having a large of Turkish community seemed liked the right place.

The place itself is rather simple in line with the price. The service is OK and the waiters are generally friendly and helpful. The portions are generous and certainly good value for the price. had a mixed plate (Koz Urfa) for 13 euro which had several types of meat, 2 kinds of rice and salad. Tasty but perhaps too greasy. The food itself was good but again a little bit too heavy.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank shr74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Koz Urfa also viewed

 
Hamburg, Germany
 
Hamburg, Germany
Hamburg, Germany
 

Been to Koz Urfa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing