We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel”
Review of NewLivingHome

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
NewLivingHome
Ranked #144 of 322 Hotels in Hamburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 15, 2012

Good hotel, nicely situated, fifteen to twenty minutes to downtown Hamburg on the subway. Right beside the zoo and aquarium. Good amenities including pool and sauna. Staff was extremely friendly, especially taken into account we do not speak a word of German. Breakfast in the morning was very complete. We had dinner at the hotel's restaurant on two occasions and both times it was very good. Once again, the service was very good. The room was large and we had ample space for our family of four.

The hotel also doubles as a senior's residence. The residents we met in the hallway were very friendly.

The hotel is a bit hard to find, with the entrance at the back; the taxi we took at the airport clearly had never been to this hotel The internet is extra; the connection is very reliable. We had a suite with kitchenette, but no plates, cutlery or anything with which to cook. We asked and were told there was a fee to obtain them. The hotel is not over-priced - the price is fair - but, charging for the internet and some dishes seems unnecessary. Frankly, the price should be all inclusive.

Overall, we enjoyed visiting Hamburg and the hotel served our purposes nicely.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IanRoberge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (76)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

18 - 24 of 76 reviews

Reviewed April 20, 2012

The New Living Home is in a good location 2mins walk from Hagenbecks Teirpark Metro station. 10/15 mins into central Hamburg on the Metro, 20 mins or so from the airport. Although hotel is on a main road, we did not experience any traffic noise. There is a nice pool in the basement, which is especially suitable for children/learner swimmers as there is no deep end. There is also a sun bed and sauna. British visitors be warned though, swimwear must not be worn in the sauna! As the hotel is a dual purpose building, combining residential home for the elderly/people with disabilities and a hotel, the rooms are spacious enough to accommodate wheelchair users. Rooms were clean, with a separate lounge area and kitchen (although no kettle provided in the kitchen), and beds were comfortable. The breakfast was plentiful, cearals, toast, croissants, yoghurst, rolls and cold meats etc, although no fried foods, ie eggs/bacon. All in all a pleasant stay,nice hotel in a convenient location. If returning to Hamburg I would stay here again as the price is reasonable compared with other hotels in the centre of town.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amber0708
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2012

we visited hamburg for a few days frim 12.02.2012, booked via internet which was efficient & simple check in was speedy. The apartment was spotlessly clean, bedroom sitting room, bathroom & kitchen, very well furnished with fabulous bed- really comfortable, good heating.
used restaurant for first evening meal which was from a small menu but very well cooked & the pork medallions were excellent. Breakfast was buffet style but of good quality & enough variety to satisfy anyone.
Every member of staff was courteous & helpful -even with my dreadful attempts at German language!
although it felt a little 'remote' -not so in reality! only 200 m from S Bahn, great transport system simple to navigate & very clean indeed. we would recommend for anyone - only minor criticism was no english TV channels but not really a major issue.

Room Tip: ask for room with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tony77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2012

Renting furnished apartments is still n ot as usual in Germany than in e.g. Asia, giving it a try in Hamburg is probably worthwhile doing. The concept is somewhat diffremnt though. Whole building is designed for handicapped people and wheenchair accessible. Bar/Restaurant area, as well as the attached room with open fire place and library are as cosy as the apartments are. Classically furnished the single person apartment I had offered great workspace for business as well.

Room rate is attractive, place is quite new, underground parking easy to miss, as it is a little hidden ...

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Torsten_Kr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2011

Just stayed one night on business in Hamburg, friendly welcome in English. Room more like an apartment, was large and well equipped like a home. would reccomend.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StirlingSilver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, traveled with family
Thank Stephan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, traveled with family
Thank Ilko_RiGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Hamburg hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eimsbüttel
Park Hotel Hamburg Arena
Park Hotel Hamburg Arena
#169 of 322 in Hamburg
468 reviews
Courtyard Hamburg Airport
#75 of 322 in Hamburg
438 reviews
Winterhude
Holiday Inn Hamburg - City Nord
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NewLivingHome? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NewLivingHome

Address: Julius-Vosseler-Str. 40, 22527 Hamburg, Germany
Location: Germany > Hamburg > Eimsbüttel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #144 of 322 Hotels in Hamburg
Price Range: $115 - $191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — NewLivingHome 3*
Number of rooms: 180
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your NewLivingHome reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing