We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Too many wines on our list"”
Review of Jacobs Restaurant

Jacobs Restaurant
Ranked #107 of 3,676 Restaurants in Hamburg
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Thomas Martin and his team will continue to interpret original French haute cuisine in their own inimitable way. The menu will be based on superior, regionally sourced products, prepared with precision and contemporary techniques. The main product is the star, with appetising sauces to accompany it. The result is a dish bursting with taste.
Europe
Level 6 Contributor
199 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 287 helpful votes
“"Too many wines on our list"”
Reviewed July 8, 2012

The good news first : Food quality, cooking and presentation is superb and the setting under the lime trees along the river pleasant in spite of the view which is of an Airbus factory over the water. The bad : When we repeatedly asked the sommelier for a wine suggestion he answered "I don't know, we have too many different wines on our list". We could not believe it. Is this not unheard off ? Worse, we hated the 30 minutes waiting between servings and the arrogant attitude which in the end totally spoiled it for us. The much over 100 Euro a head charged for a two course lunch could only be justified by a perfectly pleasant experience which this obviously was not. Just for complete info, this is a 30 minutes, 30 Euro one way, taxi ride from Hamburg's center. There are better options nearer.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TripperEurope1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    196
    33
    20
    4
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Friendly, classy, superb”
Reviewed May 6, 2012

This restaurant is inside a hotel, so it was the reception manager which greeted us first. We were a table of three (later four), all quite experienced with being guests at high-end restaurants, but were genuinely surprised by the warmth, humor and general friendliness exercised by the staff throughout the entire evening. Chef Thomas Miller even took time to meet us personally midway during the meal, which was a very kind gesture.

The menu is centered around three different tasting experiences, one classic, one contemporary and one vegetarian, all with seasonal ingredients. The high level of service starts here already. Want four dishes? "Not a problem." Want six, two from each of the menus? "We sure can do." So all of us basically agreed on the same classic menu but some twists and differences in our preferences were handled expertly.

To describe the food in a few words it must be French cuisine ripe with elegant understatements and subtle nods to Asia and the Middle East. Visually, the dishes were all miniature masterpieces, some presented within strong geometrical confines (like the salmon and the ox), others more artistically presented (like the pigeon and the beetroots). Some dishes carried fun surprises, like the sudden rush of wasabi in an otherwise balanced turbot dish or the crunch of mint, ginger and cinnamon on a perfectly cooked pigeon breast.

A separate mention must go to the sommelier of the evening, a Russian who must have worked extremely hard to find matching wines. And this was yet again another entertaining detail, where some of the wines were interlocking with the flavors of the dish, others were giving a kick or even a twist. A 2008 Chardonnay from Jura even changed the character of a dish completely. Ad notam, the wine servings are generous, very generous indeed, which made our evening a bit more tipsy than we originally were opting for. Not a drawback though.

Jacobs is elegance, old history and quiet gourmet dining at once. In our mid-30s, we were by far the youngest pack at the table, most dominated by people in their 50s/60s. As the ubiquitous dessert wagon were passing us by, the only thing we missed was a grand piano in the corner with a seasoned musician to go along.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Review collected in partnership with Apollo

Helpful?
1 Thank VertigOslo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“LJ”
Reviewed March 12, 2012

A lovely high end hotel above the river Elbe with stunning views and one of the best wine lists in the world

Helpful?
Thank Lars J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere”
Reviewed January 24, 2012

Had diner at the tavern. I loved the atmosphere and the food.
Everything very tasty and with a small note of German cuisine.
Service was a little to slow, but we also were a quite big table.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank felizinRoma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“A must in Hamburg”
Reviewed December 23, 2011

My partner and i visited Jacob's due to a reccomendattion form a friend, a local hamburger.we managed to get a booking on the day so that nigh took a taxii from the city center as it is quite far out to the hotel. the taxi cost 25euro. We arrived early so we mad our way into the hotels bar which was a lovely relaxed traditional setting with large leather lounge seats. we had to sit at the barr as all the loungEes were reserved which was not uncomfortable at all. we also had the option of sitting in the outer lounge are by the open fire but chose not to. 1 pimms cup later we made our way into the quaint dinning room. there were 3 option if set menus or the duck for 2 people. i went with the Natural menu and my partner choose the heavy traditional menu of 6 courses. we had a fantastic bottle of wine, recommended by the extremely knowledgable somilier and enjoyed every interingly experimental course dished out, except for the venison which my partner called interesting but not enjoyable. the only thing i would change about some of the food is to simplify a bit. some of the flavours were so intense it was some times a bit of an over kill. saying that overall it was fantastic. the apple cinnamon dessert AMAZING! the bill was 500euro so if your happy to spend that kind of money go for it!!! just dont eat lunch before hand ;)

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Georgia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jacobs Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Jacobs Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing