We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Got to try for the atmosphere alone”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Friesenkeller - CLOSED

Friesenkeller
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: German, European, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Hamburg-Altstadt
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
234 reviews
163 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Got to try for the atmosphere alone”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2013

All four of us had a lovely meal and all commented on how good the food was, how good the atmosphere was and how efficient, cheerful and friendly the staff were. You can't ask for anything better to have a pleasant time. Go for it.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GHMShrewsbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

156 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    76
    26
    7
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, null, Singapore
Level Contributor
114 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great service, great food and great atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2013

Had dinner over at the restaurant. The service was excellent and the quality and taste of food is beyond description. it is located beside the river with great scenic view. The waitress serving was really helpful and friendly. the Must try is definitely the fish platter.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Johnathan Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lubeck, Germany
Level Contributor
103 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere and value for money”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2013

I had lunch with friends their last week and it was just great. There are very good views on Jungfernstieg, the fish was very good and the prices are reasonable; for the location

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rolfmel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
210 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“HOME-STYLE GERMAN CUISINE - A MUST TRY”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

I only visit Hamburg every other year but I always make sure that there is an evening free to visit this delightful restaurant. Dare I describe it as 'homespun German' in atmosphere and food. It is relaxed, not at all stuffy and it is close to the City Hall and overlooks the river. Easy to find and good views. The menu now comes in the form of a newspaper with the English visible below each dish. There is a lot to chose from but whatever your choice it will always come up to expectation. Of course no good German meal is complete without it being washed down with German beer. If you do have just the tiniest bit of room after your main course - I'd always recommend the apple strudel 'mit' ice cream. Last week I managed to make two visits during my stay.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellows Falls, Vermont
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good food, good location, good service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

Our first night in Hamburg, we found this spot thanks to TripAdvisor. It's no longer under the Apple store, however; we stopped in at Apple and asked for directions -- it was down the block and down a lovely staircase on the water (the Apple store must have moved). Our server was lovely, though not fluent in English; we did the best we could (parts of the menu have English translations, but the daily specials were only in German). We had lamb, wiener schnitzel, chicken nuggets for our 8-year-old, chocolate ice cream, and apple strudel. The beers were excellent; a sauvignon blanc by the glass was also good. Lovely view of the Rathaus, right on the water; clientele seemed to be mostly locals.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bethinvermont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Friesenkeller also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing