We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not just for tourists!”
Review of Friesenkeller - CLOSED

Friesenkeller
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: German, European, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Large groups, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Hamburg-Altstadt
Telford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Not just for tourists!”
Reviewed May 11, 2012

This restaurant has become a regular venue for my family's lunches in town. Reliably good service with a variety of seasonal North German cuisine on the menue. the outside seats are quite sheltered and provide a fantastic view over the fleet (canal) and the town hall. Only once we had a bad experience with food and service and I was hesitant about going back, but it's been good each time since then. Prices moderate.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nepomukia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

156 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    76
    26
    7
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wageningen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
70 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Nothing special, nice service though”
Reviewed March 28, 2012

Only and only! for tourists. Nothing else.
Good, nice and proper service.
Food is oo-kee.

Supposedly in the spring/summer you can enjoy the harbour

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ourtimeisnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
42 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Delicious german cuisine in a terrific location!”
Reviewed March 27, 2012

You might stumble by the Friesenkeller sign and miss it if you aren't paying close attention! It's right at the corner of the canal bridge, down the steps. It's a quaint nautical themed german restaurant with a relatively large menu (something for everyone!). The portions are very large and the prices are moderate. Food was very good and service was excellent.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Scrapbook-Crazy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
130 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Top Notch German Food”
Reviewed January 25, 2012

This is a delightful restaurant beneath a shopping arcade. Try to get a window table with a great view of the river. We both had soup to start. It was delicious and obvious that someone in the kitchen understands how to use salt. The main course was the seasonal special fo kale with braised pork, pork cheek and sausage; also delicious. With two desserts and a bottle of good German wine €84. The service was very friendly and efficient and I can't wait to go again. It is great value for money

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Selgris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East London, South Africa
Level Contributor
62 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“It is still a terrible place !!!!!! with the worst staff in the world!!!”
Reviewed October 19, 2011

We decided to try this restaurant again this year but this will certainly be the LAST time.
The enormous maitre d was rude and simply floated around doing absolutely nothing! Refused to give us a waterfront table saying there werent any but gave the couple behind us one! The waitress was RUDE and cheeky. I ordered the famous Sauerbraten which arrived with Knodel which were still FROZEN.The meat was not cooked and very salty., Our guest was served with canned mushrooms!
The owner of this well placed restaurant should look into how his customers are treated as the only reason they have customers is because of its position. We visit Hamburg ever year and will NEVER subject ourselves or spend our euros on this very bad restaurant.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kenzie_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Friesenkeller also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing