We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good rock bar café”
Review of Zwick

Zwick
Ranked #155 of 3,676 Restaurants in Hamburg
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Neighborhood: Eimsbüttel
Arnhem, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Good rock bar café”
Reviewed March 10, 2013

Very cool venue, the decoration is impressive. We would not go back for the food, but surely for nice music and beer ;)

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank NLvale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    60
    12
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
essex
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Zwick”
Reviewed February 4, 2013

Loved this place, been here three times now, and will go again, Excellent burgers. although please pay attention to where you wallet is and your surroundings, our last trip was ruined buy a pick pocket.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank tanstair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
326 reviews
173 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“Absolutely terrible”
Reviewed December 12, 2012

What can I say ?? We visited after enjoying a lovely night at the Domfair just across the road and called in for a supposedly 'friendly' pint to soak up the culture of Germany as tourists before our underground trip back to Hamburg. What a mistake !!! When entering, I was keen to visit the gents but as we didn't want to give the wrong impression we approached the bar first (we were travelling as a couple) and made sure we caught the staff's attention - I then went to the bathroom leaving my partner to order. On my return, my partner had been approached and ordered but the 'gentleman' that had taken the order had proceeded to take it upon himself to sit down chatting to other members of staff. When I attempted to check if the order had been placed with another member of staff he suddenly came to life and what can only be described as 'snapped' that the order had already been placed (but mysteriously our drinks seemed to be a mirage at that point !). Finally the drinks appeared - frosty atmosphere is not the word.... Needless to say, we drank them quickly and asked for the bill. The bill appeared (8.50 Euros I believe) to which we proffered 10 Euros taken by the ultra-arrogant and unfriendly male (observations throughought our time there would lead me to think he was in a position of authority as opposed to bar staff) and waited for our change which we would have usually declined if the service had been acceptable as it was throughout the vast majority of our visit to Germany. But..... no change proffered at all, simply taken as if we were doing him a favour by putting up with his downright rude and arrogant behaviour !! I do not generally have cause to complain as my other reviews will testify but the way we were treated was simply despicable and certainly not called for in this day and age, especially as visitors to an establishment in a country we were visiting. Travel Tip ??? Avoid at all costs - you would certainly get better service in one of the 'interesting' bars around the corner on the Reeperbaum !!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Tarndy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Relaxing and Fun.”
Reviewed November 6, 2012

As a frequent visitor to Hamburg, this bar/restaurant is the place I leave until the end of the evening when I want to relax and chill out, especially after a business meeting. It is very conveninet to all of the local attrtactions and some good hotels.
The staff are excptionally friendly and the food is more than acceptable with a wide range to cover all tastes.
On occassions they have a local live band, but most of the time they play blues and R 'n' R from a few years past.
It has the great advantage that it stays open until very late and with only a very short walk to the hotels, is idea.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Awesome live music venue”
Reviewed August 20, 2012

This is a great place to go for a beer and live music. The band they had playing the night we went was sensational!

Food not too bad either. Definitely check this place out.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank MagpieJB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zwick also viewed

 

Been to Zwick? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing