We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Solid” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Nil

Nil
Ranked #124 of 3,583 Restaurants in Hamburg
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: International, European, Central European, German
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Business meetings, Bar scene, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Neighborhood: St. Pauli
Level Contributor
133 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Solid”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2014 via mobile

Nil is a nice restaurant in the Sternschanze part of town. While not fancy per se, it's a tad more upscale than other places in the area. The atmosphere was friendly and cozy, and service was good. My friend and I both had fish dishes, which were well-prepared but not amazing. Good wines by the glass. Enjoyable experience overall, but wasn't blown away based on the stellar recommendation I'd gotten.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Velvetgemini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    95
    66
    22
    9
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
67 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Nice ambience, good and simple food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

A warm september night, and the "garden" were full. We had the last table (booked in advanve) and a good meal, with wery nice wine (sylaner). In particular, I liked the waitresses timing - not to fast, not to lax.

Fish, vegetarian, a few meats on the menu.

Sample the neighborhood. Vibrant!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Mijo1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dusseldorf, Germany
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Hip!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

Located at Neuer Pferdemarkt 5. At the time we entered this restaurant, I could feel the cool atmosphere. Nice setting interior. Port-Tonic was my choice of aperitif. It was very refreshing. They also have a good wine-list. The menu is recommended. Fish is really good. Rascasse, Kapern, Oliven, Paprika, Kartoffel-Minzbällchen were amazing. With great company in a hip restaurant, you will have no complaint at all! When the night still long, you can enjoy more drinks here or at the bar next door. I will definitely come back on my next visit to Hamburg.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Rency Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
159 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 231 helpful votes
“Top class since years”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013

Since 20 years I come here about every couple of years and the quality is still the same. Very good value for money, combination of dishes is nearly perfect, the staff can give really good recommendations about wine to accompany the chosen food and the drinks selection is top notch! The Merlot Rosè I had yesterday has to be the best dessert wine I had in my life. Thanks!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank NiccOnTheRoad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Missed out on being one of the best.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

I ate here on a solo exploring trip to Hamburg. The staff were very friendly and the service was excellent. I went with the set seasonal menu and the recommended wines. The place was buzzing with a nice atmosphere and hit just the right tone, nice but not too stuffy. The starter was one of the best I ever had and I really thought the meal was going to be special, however the fish was overcooked to the state of mush and while the main, venison and asparagus, was good it didn't live up to the starter. However the price was OK, €80 for four courses, a beer, three glasses of wine and a digestif, including tip. So I would eat here again no problem.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank rogergray1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nil also viewed

 

Been to Nil? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing