We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Asian Food in Hamburg”
Review of Doc Cheng's - CLOSED

Doc Cheng's
Price range: $24 - $87
Cuisines: Asian, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Large groups, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Neustadt
Description: Wir verabschieden uns ab dem 29. Mai 2016 in die Sommerpause.
Lima Region, Peru
Level 6 Contributor
702 reviews
344 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 256 helpful votes
“Asian Food in Hamburg”
Reviewed December 2, 2013

the food was good, the list of wines was also very good, the service was not so good, the waiters they do a show, but they dont do a good service. The Chef was ready to cut the duck and the waiters where not ready with the dishes on the table...and the duck was cuted already on the side of the table.
The food was ok, it was a nice experience but not the best in Hamburg.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alex d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

145 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    75
    44
    17
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Northeast US
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Very good Asian restaurant at the Vier Jahreszeiten”
Reviewed November 25, 2013

A very good Asian restaurant in a 19th century landmark hotel, the Vier Jahreszeiten, sounds very improbable, but very good it is. Unuusual combination of Asian cuisines. Excellent wine list, but I recommend the Vier Jahreszeiten house wine, particularly the red.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BVRB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 297 helpful votes
“Average”
Reviewed November 3, 2013 via mobile

Atmosphere is gothic/ dark, not 'très chic' as it could be- as décor is worn and outdated. Needs defo polishing up. And some TLC. Food is better in the upstairs grill- not to mention in the 2 star restaurant. Here it is asian fusion- uninspired and faced by stiff competition in Hamburg. I cannot help to think service at the bar for pre- dinner drinks was surely much better than in the restaurant itself. Parking is a huge problem in central Hamburg. Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten is good- albeit NOT to be confused with the canadian chain Four Seasons. Room was good- breakfast for a 5 star hotel poor with butter floating in water in huge bowls- yuk. Staff were helpless as breakfast service useless.

Helpful?
1 Thank Jionkan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great restaurant....food, service, ambiance”
Reviewed November 2, 2013

Great atmosphere, excellent food, and very good service. Menu is more pan Asian with a contemporary twist. Very good selection of wine. Desserts are worth the indulgence

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tofino L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Like being on holiday”
Reviewed October 16, 2013

We decided rather spontanuously to have dinner there one friday night because we were looking for something spicy. There was a warm welcome by staff and we were given a nice table. From previous experience we steered clear of tables underneath the air conditioning, though. As we already had drinks in the beautiful Condi Lounge we enjoyed perusing the menu: Not too many dishes - always a sure proof of fresh cooking and seasonal ingredients. The wine list offers good german riesling by the bottle at reasonable prices. My starter of tempura shrimp was more of a main course and I was very pleased with it. The main course of thai beef curry with wonderful vegetables was also very good - maybe the jasmine rice lacked a bit of its typical aroma. Service was very attentive - all in all, it was a nice dinner that we will remember for its frienly, exotic atmosphere.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pirata4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Doc Cheng's also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing