We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not bad”
Review of Die Bank

Die Bank
Ranked #153 of 3,710 Restaurants in Hamburg
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Bar scene, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Neustadt
Pamplona, Spain
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“not bad”
Reviewed March 11, 2014

I had lunch at Die Bank which is German and means The Bank. I actually worked in this bank back in the 1990s and I must say the decor is improved. It is a very stylish place in the centre of Hamburg and one of the hot spots for the chi-chi crowd. No reservation, no table. If you want to see and be seen Die Bank is a good place. I don't care one bit about the environment, I am only interested in the food. And that was rather good. I find Hamburg a desert for good food and Die Bank is one of the few oases in this desert. I had a steak with fries and a salad and everything was very nice. Not mind-blowing nice but solid. Service is also very good.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Matt_Dina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

454 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    146
    200
    65
    26
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great place, ambience and food!”
Reviewed February 3, 2014

Perfect seating i the far left corner. Service was fantastic. We chose a wine that was sold out. In stead the waitor proposed an alternative wine. The wine was great and a whole lot cheaper that the one we first ordred. We decided to go with the menu and all dishes served were delicious. Great place

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hans2840
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Cool!!!!!”
Reviewed January 4, 2014 via mobile

We went there only for drinks. The service was excellent and the prices reasonable. We loved the place for its great atmosphere and the very friendly staff. The building is also great ( used to be a bank ). Definitely go back if ever in Hamburg again.

Helpful?
Thank Zwoula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“A disaster . Do not go !”
Reviewed November 18, 2013 via mobile

We ordered the "speciality"sirloin steak; you can't screw that up in a bistro right? Wrong ! The meat was half fat and burnt. It went from bad to worse as the deserts took 35 mins to arrive. Completely over stretched staff, young , poorly trained and stroppy. Only good thing about this restraint was the decor, an old bank. Much better to be had in this fabulous city.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nick F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 6 Contributor
174 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Bank on Die Bank”
Reviewed November 13, 2013

Excellent food and wine options, smart service, stylish dining room. A destination place for a good evening. Works well for business or pleasure. Do not recommend for families, at least those with small Kinder. Noise level is a bit high, my only real complaint.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RANDALL D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Die Bank also viewed

 

Been to Die Bank? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing